Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
386 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School 2

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
I have had 3 children attend this school. You will not find a more caring, nurturing environment. The quality of education they receive is directly related to the effort they expend. I know for a fact that those who have left this school complaining are the same parents who have been to several schools and are never satisfied or their children had disciplinary issues that they are not addressing at home. If you are an involved parent in your child's life than this school is guaranteed to instill the values and morals that will make you proud. Kids from this school are consistently accepted to top secular private schools and transition with no problems.

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
Our experience is that this school is not caring. The funny thing is they do everything to convince you they care about your children. We have not seen caring teachers who do everything to promote your child - as you would expect... after all, we pay a lot of money. But it's never enough for this school. The only thing they care about is that you give them more and more money. The principal is a distant man. There is too much "politics" and people are afraid to talk. Teachers are afraid to talk with parents. They treat parents as a professional hazard, not as partners. We expected warmth and loving community, and were very disappointed.


Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School 1

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
worst school ever. i sent my child here and he got an awful education untill we took him out in third grade and moved him to Vally Beth Shalom, where he graduated and went to Oakwood, both phenomenal places. at heschel they put him in the lowest math and reading groups, now hes in the highest in much harder schools. now at oakwood hes planning to go to brown college and is taking calculus and number theory and AP english

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School
no rating

Posted May 09, 2010
- a parent
Besides the great and creative education my son receives, he is also being raised to be part of a community -- in the school, in his town, and in the world.

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School
no rating

Posted May 09, 2010
- a parent
I am very impressed with the level of education the children are receiving. It's a very nurturing environment as well.


Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
Heschel has an amazing and supportive community. Kids LOVE to go to school every day

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School is an exceptional school community. It has enthusiastic students, dedicated parents, and passionate, caring teachers. It offers a strong academic program along with a comprehensive program in the arts, music, technology, science and sports. Every child is known for their individual strengths at Heschel and parents and teachers work in partnership for the well being of each child.

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a student
An excellent Jewish school, proud to represent Israel and America. Some of the best teachers I've ever met with upmost experiance along with the respectfulness of others.


Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School 5

Posted May 12, 2009
- a parent
I have two children at Heschel Day School and they both love going to school. The teachers are very engaged and supportive and the atmosphere is truly nurturing.

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School 5

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
This school has a great community feel. It is a developmental school, so each student is treated as an individual and teaching philosophy is geared toward this concept. The focus is NOT on standardized testing. I would disagree that the secular education is not strong. I have experience with some of the 'top' schools in the Valley (Harvard-Westlake and Buckley) and the secular academics are just as good, if not better. My son is doing such an advanced level of math, way beyond what I was doing at his age and I was in the advanced math group. The campus is very nice and the school has recently invested in a new science lab, advanced security doors and smart boards for the classrooms. There are also plenty of after school enrichment programs. One final comment, I have met some recent alumni and they seem like really great kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School
17701 Devonshire Street, Los Angeles, CA  91325
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (818) 368-5781
Last modified Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top