Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Westmark School

Private | 2-12 | 222 students

 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $291,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

We are three years in and the excellence of teachers and curriculum continues to impress and relieve us. Unfortunately, I think we are stuck here because I have not found a school that compares in any other city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

Westmark has helped my son the past two years in ways the public school could not. He has more confidence, he can read without crying, in public school he was called lazy by a first grade teacher at LAUSD in North Hollywood. He was tested to be very dyslextic. We have more to work on, but I shudder to think of how dropped out and discouraged he would have been had I not enrolled him in this school. Not strong with athletics..but that is not what we came for. Thank you Westmark, Thank you Mrs. Graham.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

My son went to this school and he absolutely hated it. The teachers were very unsupportive of him and they would laugh at him. Please do not send your kids here and I can not stress this enough
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

My daughter just started at Westmark 3 weeks ago. She is a very bright girl who struggles with dyslexia. Traditional school was just not working for her. We have been absolutely amazed and impressed with every aspect at Westmark. The teachers are nurturing and warm. Most of all our daughter is stimulated and excited about learning again and what a relief she is happy again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

I went there as a child, and i couldnt agree with you more! my mom thought the same way


Posted March 26, 2012

I have worked at Westmark for many years and I continue to be impressed by the warm sense of community, the support of teachers, parents, and the administrative team, and the enthusiastic students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2011

Westmark has helped my child in many way. His self-esteem and confidence has improved. The theories and approach the school uses is based on well-tesearched methods such as Lindamood-Bell. Lindamood Bell is a very successdul program. My child loves it here and has many close knit friends. The administration has been very helpful even offering my child "free" tutoring to help him catch up in reading. By the way my chilis not taking any meds. I highly recommend this schoo for dyslexic studenys who are struggling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

The PTA was a real joke. It was superficial and the only thing the parents (mothers) cared about was who was going to bring the food the next time. This school is extremely expensive and I have never heard of these kind of theories of teaching. Many of the kids are put on drugs because the teachers don't want to really help them, so they put them on drugs so they are complacent. The specialized work is really only repetition, and becomes extremely boring. My daughter was taught at an early age to use computers for learning purposes, and now does not even want to go close to a computer. All the repetition really got on her nerves. These classes were called tutorial, and cost a lot of extra money. The socializing of the kids was ridiculous, as the kids were pretty embarrassed to be going there and pretty darn antisocial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

If your child is smart, but struggles in school due to a mild to moderate L.D., this school could be the perfect solution - it was for my son in 6th gr. The Director is open to parent's suggestions and ideas. The teachers care about the kids, and many just "get it"("it" being the kids different learning styles.) The student body is, for the most part, your average, normal tween-teen kids who just learn differently in order to succeed, and Westmark seems to have fiigured out how to do that. My son could have succeeded at public or a "regular" private school, but he would be stressed out, spending way too many hours on homework and tutors, and further chipping away at his self-confidence, At Westmakr he is happy, learning more because he is learning in the way he can best learn, and becoming more self-confident both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers! The whole staff is extremely positive and helpful. I love the high school team, especially the 2 great ladies with great positive attitudes. Happy kids make happy moms. We love Westmark!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

This school has been a life saver for my daughter. LAUSD has been unable to provide the accommodations required but we have found WEstmark to be helpful, accommodating, and actually interested in my daughter's progress. Nothing is perfect, including Westmark, but my daughter is happy there, is learning, has made a lot of friends, and is able to participate in a lot of activities. There are many very involved parents also, so we know we are not alone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I don't know what we would have done if we hadn't found Westmark. When my son finished second grade at a local private school, he was not able to keep up despite all efforts. He hated school and believed he was 'just stupid'. He joined Westmark part way through the third grade. The excellent teachers showed him different ways of approaching his work so he could succeed. Also, the other children were very welcoming. The Westmark program, while tough, is designed to teach children who learn differently than the main-stream. Low class size is a welcomed change from the community. Now, almost finished with fourth grade, my son is working two levels above his grade. He has many friends. He is calm and positive about himself and the future. In fact, he is now volunteering in a local school-helping other kids with learning difficulties! Thank you Westmark!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Muir Meredith
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Equestrian
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Arizona
Loyola Marymount University
UC Davis
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5461 Louise Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 91316
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 986-5045

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Los Encinos School
Los Angeles, CA


Our Lady Of Grace
Los Angeles, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT