Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wilshire Private School

Private | K-6 | 49 students

We are best known for all korean program.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $509,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2014

I love teaching at this school! As an educator, you are able to be creative and meet the needs of every child due to the small class size. The parent support here is amazing too! Small class size, supportive parents, ability to teach creatively, Music, Art, PE, Spanish and Korean Language classes and very affordable tuition, what's there not to love?! Best kept secret in LA!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2013

If you are looking for private school education with affordable tuition, this is it. The school was found with main idea of "affordable tuition for the quality education". to do so, they didn't raise their tuition for long time. They have rules that limits the class size under 10 student per class, doing it so each class is like small private tutor class which teaching can be tailor for individual need. Also, they incorporate teaching method from the Korea, makes learning level far superior than others. I love the fact that my son can get different cultural experience with the school. Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

I don't think I've ever experienced a school with a staff and parent organization so involved and dedicated to the success of the students. The students receive the greatest educational opportunities all around which include the arts and culture. The school has an excellent after school enrichment program which all the students are excited about and love participating in. The small class sizes allow for a flexible curriculum and added attention to the students needs. As a former student, and now a teacher at the school, I feel as if I had come back to my childhood. The facility brought back many happy memories which prompted me to contact and connect with other former students. My old schoolmates (the ones I was able to keep in touch with) have even decided on having a reunion soon! How wonderful would that be! I think that pretty much sums up what this school has to offer and the wonderful experience the students will leave with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2013

I can't say enough about the quality of education my son receives at WPS. The teachers, staff, and PTO are dedicated to creating a safe, secure, fun place of learning and growing. The incredibly small student to teacher ratio ensures that all students receive individualized attention for all of their needs. In addition to the core curriculum (including the Singapore Math method), my son's education expands to two foreign languages (Korean & Spanish), music, art, and PE. In a large city such as LA, I'm grateful for a school such as this that provides an intimate community of learning. For the tuition, you can't find a better value anywhere else!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

My daughter has been at Wilshire Private School since kindergarten. She is in 4th grade now. WPS is a wonderful environment for her to flourish academically and socially. The class size is small, affording lots of one-on-one time with the teachers. The campus is very nice, with a large playground and well-maintained, secure facility. They offer Korean, Spanish, PE, art, and music. The faculty and staff are very caring and devoted to the education of the students. We love WPS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

WPS has very affordable tuition while providing a quality education of high academic standard. The small classroom size ensures each child receives individualized attention. The families at the school are very engaged and have created a caring school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

My son attends Wilshire Private and it's a great learning environment for him. We are so lucky to have found this unique school. In addition to learning, he has so much fun that he doesn't want to leave at the end of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

I LIKE THIS SCHOOL BECAUSE IT WAS SAID THAT IT WAS THE BEST PRIVATE SCHOOL IN LOS ANGELES IN 2008. NOT ONLY THAT BUT I CURRENTLY GO TO WILSHIRE PRIVATE SCHOOL BECAUSE IT HELPS ME WITH THE TOP CURRICULUM FOR ME TO GO IN TO A RIGHT SCHOOL IN THE BEYOND AND FUTURE. I AM A STUDENT COUNCIL MEMBER AND I AM IN 4TH GRADE. I HOPE THIS SCHOOL HAS FAITH,GRACE,LOVE,AND ALL THE CHARACTER.


Posted September 20, 2010

Devoted, tremendously qualified teachers combined with small class sizes make this a truly special school - and at a fraction of what other private schools cost. The music program is extraordinary. After-school classes are offered too. The principal really seeks to inspire the kids, and she is committed to making WPS even greater!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

Wilshire Private School is a wonderful place where students are encourage to reach their highest potential academically, socially, and physically. Academics are a prority as well as character education and the Arts. The Administrators and Staff are highly qualified with credentials and Masters Degrees in Education. Every staff member has graduated from highly accredited Universities such as UC Berkeley, UCLA, UC Santa Barbara, UC Riverside, USC, and Pamona College. The 6th grade graduates went to Marlbrough, Havard Westlake, Brentwood, Pilgrim, Immaculate Heart, and Pacific Hills. Only a great elementary school could get all of their 6th graders into schools like that! An acceptance rate of that sort speaks volumes about the school itself. Overall over the past year the standardized test scores have greatly improved. Over 80% of the students scored in the "Above Average" percentile and are highly ranked among Independent Schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

Devoted teachers, a wonderful group of multiethnic students, kids struggling and triumphing over adversity. This is everything a school should be and they have been devastated by budget cuts.


Posted November 3, 2008

Awarded 'Best Private School in Los Angeles' This school if fantastic and its national test scores rank the school in the top 5% of the nation! You won't find a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

this school is excellent!!! (I am student of this school)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

2008 Best Private School in Los Angeles Award! Wilshire Private School has been selected as the Best of Los Angeles in the Private & Parochial Schools category by the USLBA. WPS has also won state competition in the California Math Competition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I love wilshire school. it is t best school in the world. The best thing at wilshire school is friendship. THe teacher are really nice and teaches us a lot. Everyone is nice at our school. My friends and i are close. I will miss this school when i leave next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

i am the 6th grade president and this school is thebest. They have almost everything u want for your child.sorry i am speed typing. anyway the best thing there for me is friendship. i went here since kindergarden. i got emotionally attached to this school. i am going to miss my friends and everyone the teachers are excelllent and our principal Mr miller is working hard to make this school abetter place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2005

The new head of school Ms. Kislinger is great! She has years of experience from one of the top private schools in Pasadena and has a vision to raise this school to the same or above that level. So, the upper classes may not represent the direction the school is heading. However, the K through 2nd greades are excellent in my opinion and I hope that they will continue to excell through the 6th grade. The tuition is half as much compare to neighboring schools (around $6000) because they receive funding from Korean Education Institution. Overall, I think that this school is great if you are willing get involved and part-take the new vision into reality with Ms. Kislinger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

My son went to this school last year, the reason I put him there was because they had korean class. But my son's korean got worse, so I pulled him out this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

Quality of academic programs are high. The school focuses on a number of methodologies for introducing information. The music, arts, sports and extracurricular activities are costly but well organized and beneficial. Parent involvement is disorganized and ineffective. Diversity for children of other than asian ethnicity is a concern. Principal is outstanding with excellent grasp of the foundational education principals that develop positive educational benefits for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

excellent music program. nice to know that some schools still care about the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Pacific Islander 63% 11%
White 13% 26%
Black 8% 6%
Hispanic 6% 52%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Korean
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Korean
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Edward Shin
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (323) 937-0013

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Korean

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Parents run the school.
More from this school
  • Wilshire Private School is sponsored by KISC (Korean Institute of Southern California) but due to extremely low enrollment has been turned over to Korean Parent Board incorporate South Korean Education Program into all aspects of the classroom.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4900 Wilshire Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90010
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 939-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ohr Eliyahu Academy
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT