Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public charter
Los Gatos, CA
Students enrolled: 869
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
We have never met a more supportive staff than at RHMS. It is obvious that they care about their students. We have had especially good support from Heather Wood (the school counselor), Cynthia Dodd (the Principal) and Jamal Splane (the Vice Principal). Patrick Meyers (one of the Special Ed teachers) has also been a fantastic mentor for our child. The teachers have also given extra time and effort to help our child succeed. They have all gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Rolling Hills Middle School 1

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Not a good school for a kid that doesn't fit inside a box or has disadvantes of any kind. If you ask for anything, or make waves of any sort, you will be viewed as uncooperative and controlling. Don't expect the staff to own up to mistakes or take responsibilty for their actions. Instead, expect to be blamed for advocating for you kid. If your kids attend this school, talk to them, listen to them, and believe them. Don't blame them if they are struggling. They are struggling for a reason, help them figure out why. It's the best thing parents can do for their kids. Don't think the school will, they will let your kid slip through the cracks and let future schools deal with the mess. The kids are the only ones that suffer.
3 people found this helpful


Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Rolling Hills has had a much deserved reputation for excellence for a number of years. Last year the principal who had shepherded the school through growth I in population and diversity retired. Her replacement suffered some negative press, as anyone would trying to fill huge shoes. But she has shown herself to be an excellent fit. She knows the needs of her students, has added several activities, and has lead the school to even more growth. The population, waiting lists, and scores all continue to rise. It is a great school.

Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Rolling Hills earns 5 stars! My two children attend RHMS and it is a wonderful student environment on all levels. The academics are well balanced to meet the needs of my son who needs constant challenge, and my daughter who learns at a slower pace. The Administration is wonderful this year -- students are treated with respect regardless of whether they are being acknowledged or guided to make better choices. The after-school sports program offers a variety of sports for the competitive athlete, or my son who wants to participate but is not a high-performer (track team does not have tryouts -- everyone gets to participate, and other sports too). I have read some of the negative reviews on here and suspect the few who have posted those comments are the few bad apples in the bunch who want unrealistic or unfair accommodations for their child. Middle school is just that -- it is the middle -- between elementary education and the high school environment. It bridges the gap between the two and prepares the child for adolescence and beyond.

Rolling Hills Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
If you have any choice- don't let your children go to Rolling Hills Middle School. It is a horrible school. The teachers are indifferent and assign huge quantities of homework so that your child will be working for hours every evening and weekend. There is no oversight or consistency between teachers, so some give almost no homework while others assign so much homework they make enthusiastic kids learn to hate school (as mine do now). And don't bother to approach the principal- she doesn't return parents emails or phone calls. Do whatever you can, but don't send your kids to Rolling Hills.
3 people found this helpful


Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
We have had a very positive experience with Rolling Hills. We moved to San Jose from Cupertino and my son started at Rolling Hills as a 6th grader Fall of 2012. He had a 4.0, then a 3.85 (one B+), has friends, loves the teachers and is even doing track and field. We had a bully incident - the vice principal and the teachers dealt with it very well. My son also had an asthma attack and needed assistance. The teachers and the principal talked to him, reassured him, etc. and he is doing fine now with his inhaler. They acted above and beyond as far as I am concerned. Even with these 2 small issues, my son is still getting A's and thriving in this school. I think Rolling Hills is a great environment for him and less pressure/more balance than I felt in the Cupertino School District. I also liked the honor roll assemblies and was very happy to see how many 6th graders received certificates and recognition. Friends whose kids attend our Cupertino counterpart, Lawson Middle school, said they did not do any assemblies for honor roll. I hope that these kids continue on to Westmont High - that school ranking has me concerned.

Rolling Hills Middle School 2

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
Rolling Hills principal and PTA priorities appear to be dances and sports which is great but it would be nice to have a school and parent group more focused on better academics, for example, more in line with what Cupertino schools are doing. The 6th grade advanced math students are being taught math by a computer instead of a teacher. In at least one of the 6th grade science classes, the teacher mostly teaches through a computer program. He gives the kids a work sheet and says, "Go off and learn on your own." This is what I hear from my child. It's a great place for a child who is headed for a community college or who wants to be a professional dancer. Academics could use a bit of a boost. The principal's weakness, despite what she says, is guiding teachers in instructing children in math.
1 person found this helpful

Rolling Hills Middle School 1

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
Don't be deceived by the 9 rating. That is the rating EARNED by the past administration. The current Principal is ruining the school. Just read the MAJORITY of the ratings written this year. They are an absolute accurate depiction of the current state of RHMS. I would agree with the past review noting the "strong personality" of the current principal, but make no mistake. The words "hostility" and "bully" have been used in past reviews to describe the new principal, and these are completely accurate descriptions. The current principal does not want parent involvement. She wants full control. If do you get involved and, heaven forbid, have a different perspective, you are considered a "controlling" and "difficult" parent...I worry about parents that dump their children off at the school and give the school full control over their children's education. Anyone who knows anything about setting a child up for success in school, knows that the key is engaged teachers AND PARENTS. The parents MUST be included in the equation. Unfortunately, at RHMS, starting this year, and thanks to the new principal, parents aren't welcome...Period. Makes it difficult to set your child up for success.
3 people found this helpful


Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
I love Rolling Hills! My children participate in after school sports, advanced academics and leadership! The teachers are wonderful, caring individuals who give all they have to their students. I have wonderful respect for our new principal and vp. The last principal was great too! I especially love the new P and VP because of their strong personalities, strong discipline and love for the students. Middle school is no easy task and these two handle it with professionalism. Bravo for standing up to those "difficult" parents!! Parents shouldn't control education... let the educators do that!! The office staff is the friendliest in the district too!! Go Eagles!

Rolling Hills Middle School 1

Posted January 31, 2013
- a community member
The new administration of this school is deplorable. They bully both students and parents in an attempt to demoralize those who want to achieve. Attempts to communicate with the administration are ignored. If you can get their attention you are met with hostility and denial. Integrity, honesty and all the tenets of SOAR which they push on the children on a daily basis are not reflected in the slightest by the behavior of the current administration. Caveat emptor.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rolling Hills Middle School
1585 More Avenue, Los Gatos, CA  95030
(408) 364-4235
Last modified Rolling Hills Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rolling Hills Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top