Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

869 students|Campbell Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rolling Hills Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Two: Mrs. Radcliffe who was wonderful to both of my kids and Mr. Rawlinson for being a wonderful music teacher.

Rolling Hills Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
All of my son's teachers were very effective. However, I have heard rumors of teachers who weren't very effective, but no direct experience to validate that.


Rolling Hills Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
This varies by grade level. For example, in 7th grade, my son had a lot (maybe too much) homework. 8th grade was on the lighter side on most weeks. My son does complete most of his homework at school

Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers that my son had were all terrific. They care about the whole student, not just the academics. Especially would like to recognize the fantastic music/band teacher (I was in bands for over 12 years while a student). Even down to the custodial staff who are very friendly. Mrs. Dodd is a good leader for the school and is very innovative in pushing the school further.

Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
We have never met a more supportive staff than at RHMS. It is obvious that they care about their students. We have had especially good support from Heather Wood (the school counselor), Cynthia Dodd (the Principal) and Jamal Splane (the Vice Principal). Patrick Meyers (one of the Special Ed teachers) has also been a fantastic mentor for our child. The teachers have also given extra time and effort to help our child succeed. They have all gone above and beyond the call of duty.


Rolling Hills Middle School 1

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Not a good school for a kid that doesn't fit inside a box or has disadvantes of any kind. If you ask for anything, or make waves of any sort, you will be viewed as uncooperative and controlling. Don't expect the staff to own up to mistakes or take responsibilty for their actions. Instead, expect to be blamed for advocating for you kid. If your kids attend this school, talk to them, listen to them, and believe them. Don't blame them if they are struggling. They are struggling for a reason, help them figure out why. It's the best thing parents can do for their kids. Don't think the school will, they will let your kid slip through the cracks and let future schools deal with the mess. The kids are the only ones that suffer.

Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Rolling Hills has had a much deserved reputation for excellence for a number of years. Last year the principal who had shepherded the school through growth I in population and diversity retired. Her replacement suffered some negative press, as anyone would trying to fill huge shoes. But she has shown herself to be an excellent fit. She knows the needs of her students, has added several activities, and has lead the school to even more growth. The population, waiting lists, and scores all continue to rise. It is a great school.

Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Rolling Hills earns 5 stars! My two children attend RHMS and it is a wonderful student environment on all levels. The academics are well balanced to meet the needs of my son who needs constant challenge, and my daughter who learns at a slower pace. The Administration is wonderful this year -- students are treated with respect regardless of whether they are being acknowledged or guided to make better choices. The after-school sports program offers a variety of sports for the competitive athlete, or my son who wants to participate but is not a high-performer (track team does not have tryouts -- everyone gets to participate, and other sports too). I have read some of the negative reviews on here and suspect the few who have posted those comments are the few bad apples in the bunch who want unrealistic or unfair accommodations for their child. Middle school is just that -- it is the middle -- between elementary education and the high school environment. It bridges the gap between the two and prepares the child for adolescence and beyond.


Rolling Hills Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
If you have any choice- don't let your children go to Rolling Hills Middle School. It is a horrible school. The teachers are indifferent and assign huge quantities of homework so that your child will be working for hours every evening and weekend. There is no oversight or consistency between teachers, so some give almost no homework while others assign so much homework they make enthusiastic kids learn to hate school (as mine do now). And don't bother to approach the principal- she doesn't return parents emails or phone calls. Do whatever you can, but don't send your kids to Rolling Hills.

Rolling Hills Middle School 5

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
We have had a very positive experience with Rolling Hills. We moved to San Jose from Cupertino and my son started at Rolling Hills as a 6th grader Fall of 2012. He had a 4.0, then a 3.85 (one B+), has friends, loves the teachers and is even doing track and field. We had a bully incident - the vice principal and the teachers dealt with it very well. My son also had an asthma attack and needed assistance. The teachers and the principal talked to him, reassured him, etc. and he is doing fine now with his inhaler. They acted above and beyond as far as I am concerned. Even with these 2 small issues, my son is still getting A's and thriving in this school. I think Rolling Hills is a great environment for him and less pressure/more balance than I felt in the Cupertino School District. I also liked the honor roll assemblies and was very happy to see how many 6th graders received certificates and recognition. Friends whose kids attend our Cupertino counterpart, Lawson Middle school, said they did not do any assemblies for honor roll. I hope that these kids continue on to Westmont High - that school ranking has me concerned.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rolling Hills Middle School
1585 More Avenue, Los Gatos, CA  95030-1094
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (408) 364-4235
Last modified Rolling Hills Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top