Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hillbrook School

Private | PK-8 | 315 students

Our school is best known for preparing students for high school and for life.
 
 

 
 

Living in Los Gatos

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $875,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2014

Hillbrook is the DREAM school for a child of Silicon Valley. Headmaster Mark Silver came in and kept what was working (rock star teachers with warmth and depth) made key changes in curriculum (Singapore Math, a new, excellent literacy program) and most importantly, innovated like crazy. The iPad program is a model for the country, not just because it was first, but because the iPads are used where and how it makes sense to use them. Resident Teachers bring down the teacher:student ratio and infuse the school with fresh ideas and leading-edge teaching techniques. Flexible learning spaces mean more interesting projects and fewer rote learning assignments. My kid retains way more from the Hillbrook way of teaching than our previous school. One other thing that might not sound like a big deal, but it is to me. The school places a value on funny. Kids tell jokes at Flag every week, for instance, and the best teachers have a funny, playful way about them that makes smaller children feel happy and older children stay engaged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

My son is in his fifth year at Hillbrook. He says he learns the most in science and likes to learn the most in art. The art, music, and science programs are excellent. The campus is beautiful. The social experience has been positive, and my son's class is well bonded. The reading and writing programs are strong and differentiated, but don't stand out over a good public school program. Singapore Math provides more depth in the math curriculum than traditional US curriculums, but the differentiation is limited and doesn't challenge the highest performing students. The lower school Spanish program is a waste of time, providing very basic vocabulary in a class with limited classroom management and organization, which stressed my son out. PE is almost every day, so the kids are active and fit. While there are occasional projects, I wouldn't call it project based learning. Technology use is mostly consumption based. Creative use of technology has been a stop motion video in art and a few video or slide presentations in social studies. There isn't any programming. Teacher quality varies from good to excellent, similar to public school. Class size is small. My son loves going to Hillbrook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

At first view, the setting at Hillbrook is breathtaking and it's quite easy to be taken in by the sites. But what we have come to love most about our school goes way beyond the scene; as you peel back the layers of Hillbrook, its the sense and strength of community & core principles which truly advocate living life to it's fullest through the promotion of being your best and taking risks while also encouraging the utmost in kindness & compassion; promoting our youth to critically think, question and DO while also making 'smart' choices. When it comes to making decisions on behalf of our kids, we receive incredible guidance from administrators and have found the overall communication between ourselves and our children's teachers to be outstanding to say the least. We simply love that our kids are learning the principles of science inside of a garden and chicken coup; that mathematics is being taught with an incredibly progressive approach; that instruments are being used in music class and that our children have the opportunity to partake in subjects including Spanish, PE and Art. Hillbrook is an amazing place and we feel blessed to be sending our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

We have two children at Hillbrook and we are in our third year at the school. We chose Hillbrook primarily because we share the school's vision for being a "life preparatory school" that is focused on the whole child. We love the small class size and that our children's learning styles are known within the school community. Additionally, it was important to us to find a school that offered art, music, language and science as a core part of the curriculum starting in Junior Kindergarten along with reading, writing and math. Another important component for us was the school's focus on social emotional learning and it's understanding that there is a lot of learning that happens outside of the classroom. We have watched our children thrive as both students and friends at the school and look forward to the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2014

The campus is beautiful, the teachers are great. The administration is useless. When faced with relatively simple issues from long lunch lines, to traffic jams at drop off and pickup, to loud kids in class and bullying, this administration lacks foresight, pro-activeness and the ability to implement corrective actions in a timely manner. Had this been a non-tuition based school these issues might not be so glaring. But when one pays near college level tuition for pre-k, then one expects a better experience. Save your money, there's a reason why people pay a premium to live in Los Gatos, the public schools are actually quite good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

We have two very different children at Hillbrook. We truly appreciate that the school treats them as individuals. The administration and teachers have worked hard to get to know our children and placed them with teachers who can help nurture their individual learning styles and interests. As a result they have both grown tremendously as students and people each year. We are looking forward to continued growth as strong and confident learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

As a current Hillbrook parent, I m thrilled with our choice of school. We came to Hillbrook looking for an innovative school that offers small classes, individualized learning, strong academics, a well-balanced curriculum, joyful atmosphere, and a value for the process of learning. Hillbrook is delivering on this and much more. A warm and friendly parent community is an added bonus! Classes are kept small enabling individualized learning. Passionate and responsive teachers- that clearly love what they do- take an active interest in your child. In conferences, our teachers have been spot on in identifying our children s strengths & opportunities. We feel a true partnership with our teachers. The curriculum is well rounded and innovative, including Singapore math and second languages beginning in 1st grade. The lush, 14-acre campus is peaceful and serene, and offers unique hands-on learning opportunities, including an outdoor creek where students conduct science experiments. The supportive administration does not grow complacent and is constantly looking inward, seeking to make the school even stronger. If you're considering Hillbrook, I strongly recommend you do a school tour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

After 5 years at Hillbook we left in 2012. We were happy to leave and we don't look back at our time at Hillbrook fondly. Two of the four years we had inexperienced (new to teaching) teachers. My sons 3rd grade teacher made it clear all year she really didn't like teaching kids "so young". There is high turn over in teachers and ultimately I don't think it is worth the $$$$'s. The campus is beautiful - so I gave the groundskeeper two stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

Things have extremely changed. High turnover in teachers. Atmosphere has become very uncomfortable. It was once a great school.


Posted June 18, 2012

Our children have just completed another wonderful school year at Hillbrook. We are consistently impressed with the level of learning - and most importantly - the deep knowledge and understanding of each child's needs and personality. There is a true sense of partnership with the administration and teachers in educating your child and it goes well beyond the excellent academics, encompassing the Social/Emotional needs as well as Service Learning, creativity and out-of-the-box thinking. Hillbrook provides a great sense of community for the whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

I visited Hillbrook School last year and I am planning on a repeat visit this year. The campus is beautiful. The setting is serene and safe. The school setting is well thought out with class levels bundled together so that same age kids are grouped together. The school is set up so that the students walk themselves all over the beautiful grounds, fostering independence. The buildings are glorious; truly this is the most beautiful elementary school I have ever seen. However, I observed a real problem with some members of the teaching staff. One of the lower grade teachers was outwardly hostile to her students and this teacher was well aware that our group of potential parents was in her classroom. This was the most offensive behavior that I have ever seen by a teacher. I am offended for the parents that are paying $24,000 a year to have their children treated this way. Other teachers seemed lackluster. A few, especially the music teacher, were very good. I am planning a return visit to see if the teaching has improved. Hillbrook has a beautiful school that provides so many extras but until they improve their teaching they will never be worth the $24,000 that they charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

Our kids went there for several years. Wonderful, broad base program (sports, arts, etc); unfortunately, the academics implementation is inconsistent. It depends on the grade level and the teacher your child has, often, they are unable to differentiate and meet the needs for different type of abilities. The school is working on improving the academics / curriculum so it could be a better school in a few years. Socially it's a small school and finding friends with similar interests might also be an issue, especially if your child is not a jock. They do have good acceptance rate into local Catholic high schools.


Posted February 14, 2011

Hillbrook has been the perfect fit for our family. Our child has not only been well prepared academically, but more importantly has been taught important life skills such as the importance of giving back, being a leader, public speaking, critical thinking and being given many opportunities to discover several passions outside of the core curriculum. The strength of this school is the faculty who are passionate about their teaching and who always go the extra mile to support the kids and they are supported by a strong administration who are constantly seeking innovative ways to deliver the very broad curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

When we decided to move to California in 2007 and researched which school would be the best fit for our family, there seemed to be only one choice, Hillbrook. We were drawn to the Hillbrook s mission to foster childrens natural curiousity and teach them to be critical thinkers. During our tour of the school, the administration and faculty that we met along with the beautiful setting made us realize that a Hillbrook education was a gift we should try to give our children. Two and a half years later, I consider us extremely fortunate to have found such a warm, intellectually stimulating environment for our children. They receive individualized attention and are recognized for their unique talents and skills. They absolutely love going to school every day - seriously! It is amazing to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

I am a parent with kids at Hillbrook and we love it! Our children are thriving here! I can't say enough about how much the teachers care and how they work with the kids individually. The academics are top notch, and I also really like the service learning projects that they do in each grade. I feel like my kids are getting the best education possible and learning to be good citizens and caring people, too. My children love school and love learning and I thank Hillbrook for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

I've been a Hillbrook parent for several years and have found the school to be exceptional. I believe it is easily the finest school in the South Bay for several reasons: classes are small, students are challenged individually, and children become poised, confident and communicative in addition to being prepared for high school. If you place high value on love of learning in addition to knowledge, Hillbrook is for you. If you want traditional rote or an academic grind, the fit might not be quite right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

Hillbrook fosters a supportive community creating a unique environment where children are academically challenged while having fun! Students bulid meaningful, lasting friendships across all grade levels. The older children act as natural mentors for the younger students. On campus you'll see rockets being launched with thought provoking questions by students. Students are engaged and take responsibility for their learning at Hillbrook. Teachers and the administration understand your child and how to help your child learn in a way that's meaningful to them. We've been at the school for three years going on our fourth. We've been very happy with the school. Hillbrook not only prepares children academically but also socially and emotionally. Hillbrook students have a very high level of emotional intelligence where they are confident, learn how to resolve issues, and well spoken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

As you walk on the campus of Hillbrook School you are greeted with the sounds of children laughing, and learning, nature, music and conversation. It is a stimulating environment. Our family has been at the school for eight years. Hillbrook is a school where children matters. Administrators and teachers care and really know and understand each child . The curriculum is rich and integrated. It stretches each child's academic growth with imagination and creativity. Our three children are thriving and look forward to going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

I shockingly agree with the reviewer below. When I called HB and told them that I would like some info about enrolling my sons in 1st and 3rd, the first thing they asked was "what's wrong with their current school situation." Might as well have asked me "what's wrong with your kids?!" I told them that we were considering moving to Los Gatos, and then they said "Check out our website. If you are still interested, call back to take one of our monthly tours." Wow, nice marketing. Needless to say we were not impressed, so we didn't puruse HB further.


Posted May 14, 2010

Have been disappointed in HB. We are considering the school for our child and the administration acts as if they don't have time for prospective parents/students (won't return calls) and would rather you 'visit the website instead' (direct quote).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 26%
Two or more races 15% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 6%
Hispanic 1% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Apple Distinguished School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Mark Silver
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anti-bullying Club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Creative Writing Blog
  • Girls on the run
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Lead school tours
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 14, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$25000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellarmine
Castilleja
St. Francis
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Marchmont Dr
Los Gatos, CA 95032
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 356-6116

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lead Center
Los Gatos, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT