Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
315 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillbrook School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
The teaching staff at Hillbrook is second to none. They know each child inside and out, and are focused on supporting them in achieving their best. Classes are fun yet academically rigorous and I am very impressed.

Hillbrook School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Just right. Enough to reinforce what was learned in the classroom that day and but not onerous or stressful. In the lower grades, there is a huge emphasis on reading time as homework.


Hillbrook School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Hillbrook stretches students and encourages them to take risks, all within a very supportive environment of close friends and supportive teachers. Trying your hardest runs through the school day from academics to PE and after school sports.

Hillbrook School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely. This is expected at Hillbrook: expected everyday in the classroom and on the playground and is integral to the social-emotional learning program. The teachers are very connected to the students and know them so well.

Hillbrook School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Hillbrook encourages conversation and this allows the kids to find their voice. I am very impressed with the social-emotional learning program that forms the foundation to the educational experience.


Hillbrook School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
The teaching staff at Hillbrook is second to none. They know each child inside and out, and are focused on supporting them in achieving their best. Classes are fun yet academically rigorous and I am very impressed.

Hillbrook School 5

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
I can’t say enough good things about Hillbrook. This is our eighth year at the school and we have two children, one in the lower school and one in the middle school. Both are very different children - different learners and with different interests and motivations - and yet Hillbrook knows them, encourages them, and is getting the very best out of them. My kids are known and valued by every teacher and student, stretched academically and taught to take risks - they are getting a very solid foundation to their education. The teaching staff at Hillbrook is second to none, and I’m very impressed by how well rounded the education is: not just the core academics but music, arts and languages. I know they will be very well prepared for what follows Hillbrook, as they transition into high school. We as a family feel a very strong connection to this community and would highly recommend Hillbrook.

Hillbrook School 5

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Our family absolutely loves Hillbrook. We have two young children, grades JK and 1st, who are very different children and very different learners. Yet, our school ensures that both are known and valued for the strengths and quirks they bring to the table. Each child's learning style is observed early on and they are encouraged to thrive in this environment. There is also an incredibly sense of community at Hillbrook where the adults in our family are also known and valued. We couldn't feel more welcome or connected to this incredible school.


Hillbrook School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Hillbrook has an incredibly talented faculty who are committed to each child achieving his/her best. They are enthusiastic, innovative, and caring.

Hillbrook School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Hillbrook students are taught from an early age that if they seek to solve a problem and arrive at that goal without having failed at least once, they haven't tried hard enough. Working through failure to produce a better result is a huge component of Hillbrook's philosophy, especially as students move into the upper school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillbrook School
300 Marchmont Dr, Los Gatos, CA  95032
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. (408) 356-6116
Last modified Hillbrook School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top