Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Los Gatos, CA
Students enrolled: 315
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hillbrook School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
There is a high turnover of teachers at Hillbrook. Many long time teachers have left. I find that very concerning & there seems to be some real animosity between the teachers & the administration.

Hillbrook School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Homework varies by teacher with no real consistency. Some teachers are tough where others are too easy


Hillbrook School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Everybody passes at Hillbrook. There is the mentality that all students are successful when many are unable to keep up at grade level.

Hillbrook School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Students are very disrespectful to teachers with no repercussions. There simply are no real consequences for problem children

Hillbrook School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is ignored by the adults at this school. The administration is aware of the problem but does nothing to address it


Hillbrook School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
The bullying at this school is prevalent throughout the grades & is ignored by the teachers & administration

Hillbrook School 1

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is prevalent through the school & is ignored by most teachers & the administration. This seems to go hand-in-hand with the troubled students who attend this school. Students that require aides because their behavior is so out of control.

Hillbrook School 5

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
My children are receiving a first-rate education at a school that feels like home. Hillbrook is that magical combination of challenging and nurturing. My kids are known and valued by every teacher and student. They're also stretched academically and taught to take risks, fail, and learn! Hillbrook is about hands-on learning. Kids are taught to tinker and create at a very young age. Students at Hillbrook get all the traditional skills from algebra to Mandarin and English Lit., but also a unique introduction to design thinking. My 3rd grader recently worked on a project where he turned a chair and a bicycle tire into a musical instrument. He also simultaneously was learning about sound waves in science and sound and color associations in art. The unit culminated with a concert where students "played" their musical chairs with sound compositions they created themselves. Creative, yes! Scientific, definitely! Joyful, you bet! More interesting than studying music, sound and colors in a text book? Definitely! In true Hillbrook fashion, teachers worked together to create learning opportunities that stretched from science, to music, to art class.


Hillbrook School 4

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
The way the 8th grade teachers recently decided to end the reading of To Kill a Mockingbird with their students is a great example of why I value a Hillbrook education. All the elements planned for this wrap up : a conference (where students attend sessions of their choice on a variety of topics including, courage and the 1960 Student Sit-In s, writing the childhood narrative, and black codes), the connections between the past and the current, how the novel's impact on readers changes over time, the student reflective writing, and the writing tutorial videos students will develop to teach 7th graders, are such a rich and interconnected way of studying and understanding that it can only challenge and help students grow. Whenever I have doubts if my son will be ready for high school, I just have to think about the type of education he has received in 7th and 8th grade to alleviate my doubts. My son's teachers have been thoughtful, engaging, provocative, and demanding. I am sure my son is ready for a top high school.
1 person found this helpful

Hillbrook School 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy with Hillbrook school for our Kindergarten and Second Grade children. The school is warm and inviting, has a fabulous campus and facilities, and amazing teachers and staff. They focus on the whole child and do a great job of giving children a well rounded education. The Kindergarten has a 1:8 teacher student ratio. Teachers implement a co-teaching model to teach and meet the needs of their students in a learning space spanning 3 physical classrooms. The students are not only learning academics but there is a strong emphasis on social emotional learning, which provides a solid foundation for children to succeed in the classroom and beyond. We find the community of parents to be quite diverse and welcoming. There are parents with all different backgrounds, experiences, and careers. This is one of the things that as I parent I love about our school. No school is perfect in every way, but Hillbrook is the right fit for our children and our family and we are so lucky to be a part of its wonderful community.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillbrook School
300 Marchmont Dr, Los Gatos, CA  95032
(408) 356-6116
Last modified Hillbrook School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Hillbrook School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top