Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

890 students|Lynwood Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Elementary School 2

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
I am a little disapointted with this school. They need to enforce the entering of parents during school hours. Staff is not that great. I had a bad experience, trying to see the principal. Was told he was not available, They would not let me wait for him. When once the principal said in a meeting, that he was available any time. I was once told by neighbors that this school was the best, I'm not so sure. Principal needs to work on getting the cafeteria clean for sanitary reasons.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2011
- a community member
Just not what you expect. Don't be fooled by what you read. That all I really have to say.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2010
- a teacher
To the teacher who made the comment on November '07, principals and other administrators HAVE come and gone, but the majority of us teachers have not. Many of us have dedicated time and effort into the cause. We are ALL accountable for the progress of the school not just your class. Get more involved in student progress and achievement overall not only your class. If you see that another teacher needs your expertise, then lend a hand and give constructive criticism and/or resources. If you are not satisfied with us then go in search of greener pastures. We will survive. We are what we all make of it.

Washington Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
This school has shown some improvemnt with the leadership of it's new principal strongly working together with parents and teachers.

Washington Elementary School 3

Posted March 30, 2007
- a teacher
Washington school is not fully living up to its ability. The teachers are great but the support staff seems to lack direction thus making educating the children on campus difficult. Also parent participation is almost nonexistent. And you rarely see any fathers on campus ever and security on campus is not present.


Washington Elementary School 4

Posted December 13, 2006
- a parent
I am very pleased with Washington Elementary School. I have liked every teacher that my child has gotten through three years of attending this school. I only would like to say that it takes the parents of all the children to make this school as successful as its been. If we the parents would be more involved in what happens at our children's school they would be as successful as other schools in other cities especially where in the cities where the PTA is very involved and is full of parents willing to do many thing for all children.

Washington Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 31, 2006
- a parent

Washington Elementary School 3

Posted August 05, 2005
- a parent
Washington has a pretty solid academic program. The academic materials and lessons are state standards based thus providing for pretty good preparation for standardized testing. There are also year round intervention programs for those below grade level and in need of extra instruction. My one pet peeve about intervention is that the classes are too,large for effective instruction. If a child is performing poorly in a regular class of 20 what are they gaining in an intervention class of 30. Where Washington lacks is in the area of parental involvement and extracurricular activities. There is a PTA in place at Washington however, the membership & participation is very low compared to the number of students enrolled. There are no music classes, school sports (other than track), drill team, choir etc. Some enrichement activities (computer classes)are offered to a chosen few. On a good note most of the teachers are great!


Washington Elementary School 3

Posted January 07, 2005
- a teacher
So far it seems that this is an adequate elementary school. There is a focus on the CA standards and emphasis on reading.

Washington Elementary School 4

Posted January 25, 2004
- a student
This school I believe is the best in the district. It is one of California's Distinguished Scholar Schools. I give them much praise for their G.A.T.E. program. And I am very fortunate that my children are a part of It. It takes a village to raise one child and Washington is a part of my village.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Elementary School
4225 Sanborn Avenue, Lynwood, CA  90262-2998
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (310) 603-1513
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top