Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Malibu

Private | K-8 | 114 students

Our school is best known for its safe, nurturing, & family-oriented environment.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Malibu

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,188,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2011

We love OLM!The small class sizes provide the children with the attention they need.The staff and faculty are wonderful.So happy we chose this school:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Wonderful community school with caring teachers and administration. My children went on to great HS(s) and colleges. They offer computers, Spanish, Art, and Music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

My child has gone to the school from Kindergarten, The education has been on a par or better than the local public schools and the environment is great. Aside from the small class sizes which makes socialization with classmates wanting I think the school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

My son has attended Our Lady of Malibu since kindergarten. The academics are excellent, he has wonderful support from the faculty and has made great friends. We are very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

this school is a great elementary school but once a student has reached their potential OLM has little to offer. yes, many high schools put this school high on their list but being a student here for 8 years, im on the verge of going insane. this school is not good for any growing teenager to mature in the real world. the teachers arent very qualified and they dont help each child grow into what they must become for high school. it keeps each student to be very naive and immature for high school . do not send your child here if youre looking for a normal childhood for them!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2009

OLM is a wonderful learning community for grades K through 8. The families are outstanding and relations will last for many decades long after the children have graduated. Also impressive is how well students do in their adult life having set 'life's foundation' at OLM School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

This school is great for elementary school. But, middle school is a different situation. To be to the point, the middle school is very disorganized and challenging.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2007

I went to OLM for 5 years, until I moved to spain...I loved this school. Still miss it, 5 stars. Yea coach is gr8
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2007

Its the best school ive ever been to. The teachers are great and it really feels like a community
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2006

I love Our Lady of Malibu! It's a tight-knit community of people who have come together in faith to provide the best education for their children. The Phys. Ed. teacher (Coach)is great! There's a strong core of teachers who are talented in dramatic arts. But the best thing about the school is the people! The way the church and school come together is beautiful! A great choice for anyone who wants a Catholic education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 26%
Two or more races 16% 3%
Black 3% 6%
Hispanic 2% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Step team

Language learning

Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French, Mandarin

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Step team
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 4:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael Smith
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (310) 456-7767

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Equestrian
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Surfing
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Equestrian
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Kickball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Surfing
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French, Mandarin
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3625 Winter Canyon Road
Malibu, CA 90265
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 456-8071

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Moreau Academy
Malibu, CA


MUSE School CA
Calabasas, CA


Calmont
Calabasas, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT