Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manhattan Beach Middle School 3

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Don’t let the high tests scores fool you. There are a lot of frazzled kids and families who are putting in a lot of outside-school effort to help generate those high test scores. Many (if not most) of these families have the educational background and other means necessary to help their kids, and I think this has allowed the school to get more credit than it deserves and also to avoid taking a look at the real impact of things like the huge school size and iPad program. Some good teachers; a lot of very average ones. Little teacher accountability and poor leadership. Very average school attended by a motivated set of students who are bound to test well even with sub-par teaching.

Manhattan Beach Middle School 2

Posted January 21, 2016
- a community member
MBMS is dismal. The classes are monotonous. It's a shame that the principal of MBMS won an award for being a good principal but MBMS is still so bad.


Manhattan Beach Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 30, 2015
- a community member
This school gives detentions for not turning in homework, another example of the teachers abusing their power.

Manhattan Beach Middle School 2

Posted October 30, 2015
- a community member
I attended MBMS for my 6th and 7th grade years. Some of the classes there have a very slow pace and are boring. MBMS is not suited for gifted education, and the needs of gifted children are neglected. While there are some good aspects of the school, like the music program and extracurricular activities, the boring and monotonous classes outweigh the positives. There are some good teachers at MBMS, but some give too many detentions for no reason.

Manhattan Beach Middle School 1

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
This school has no respect for what America was founded on. I have two kids that went here. My children felt disrespected and frankly felt like they were in a school in Iran, not America. It is your typical agenda-ed liberal hype school that crams new age weird concepts down the kids throats and teachers are mediocre at best. I have no idea where the good reviews are even coming from. Kids are not allowed to share an opinion at this school, it is controlling and bitter and abusive on a regular basis. Only liberal agenda is 'preached' here by staff . they are anything but 'progressive'.


Manhattan Beach Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
Big which may be hard for some but quality is wonderful. If your child is organized and a self starter they will thrive here.

Manhattan Beach Middle School
no rating

Posted August 07, 2014
- a community member
I went to mbms for two years and I loved it. The principal was awesome, I learned a lot in class, and I'm excited to start my eighth grade year there. There is a lot of homework, but it helps you learn and makes the tests easier. The only class I didn't like was French, because the teacher makes you review and review easy concepts that you already know well. That class is very slow and the teacher spends most of the class time on things you have already learned. Some people might like it, but it's not for me. Mbms also has an amazing music department. I am in band and choir, and both classes have experienced teachers that really care about they're students and want to help them learn. The iPads are easy to use and have enhanced my learning experience, making classes more interesting and my backpack lighter. I love mbms and have had a great experience in sixth and seventh grade.

Manhattan Beach Middle School 2

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
This school is completely overrated. Teachers are non responsive, especially when you are actually trying to help your child -- I guess they aren't accustomed to parents actually participation in their child's education. Education is sub-par. The iPads are a joke -- some classes use online textbooks, others don't. If you're going to integrate, integrate across the board. Frankly, my child is a straight A student and finds textbooks on the iPad to be difficult learning tools.


Manhattan Beach Middle School 2

Posted July 21, 2013
- a community member
honestly this school wasn't all too great. mainly because everyone was so snobby and the standards were a bit too high. i did learn a lot, though. i wish this school had lockers because carrying around my heavy backpack wasnt very fun. i also didnt care for the ipads. it actually made school harder and more stressful. i had to drop a class because all the homework we had was just too much. overall, i did not care for this school. you have to be skinny and you have to wear brand name clothes to fit in. even then, everyone judges you.

Manhattan Beach Middle School 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
An exceptional middle school in the southern California area. If your kids don't go to private school and you can afford the real estate in the Manhattan Beach area your kids will get a real education. Warning to parents of slackers. The other kids at the school are self and parent motivated. If you are going to take a hands off approach and your kid is lazy, don't expect success. The kids at this school will leave your kid in the dust.

Nearby schools

Manhattan Beach Middle School
1501 Redondo Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA  90266-4214
(310) 545-4878
Last modified Manhattan Beach Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top