Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pacific Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 27, 2015
- a community member
The school rules are held high and all the students follow them. The students strive to get a gold card and stay away from the red cards.

Pacific Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2015
- a community member
There is a great community. Amazing teachers and staff looking out for and teaching our kids.


Pacific Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 27, 2015
- a community member
They know their children and work with them to get the best out of them.

Pacific Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
My child just completed 5th grade at Pacific. What a great school. He got a quality education, had teachers who really knew him, and took part in music and art programs paid for by parent donations. The parent community is friendly and you end up knowing everyone, which is nice. We moved from the west side of LA just for the schools, and are fortunate to have chosen a house in the Pacific area. It's the "middle class" of Manhattan Beach, and the perfect place for our family. We are really going to miss it.

Pacific Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
Pacific is a great school if you have bright children. The school is very well managed and classes offer many different activities for children. I have two kids there and they want to go to school even when they are sick! The principal is very mature. Within MB this is the largest elementary school with the most resources and activities. Some people like it for that and some prefer a smaller school. More a personal preference than a quality issue.


Pacific Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
Pacific appears to be focused on attaining top test scores at all cost. Their stock advice is to hold struggling students back, rather than help them learn. They recommend retention to children who are above state standards, creating classes with 7-year-old kindergarteners and 19-year-old high school seniors. In what world is it acceptable for seniors to be able to legally sign themselves out of class all year long? And remember that 19-year-old students are not eligible for sports, which is one of the main benefits for retention in the first place. I suspect the 3.5 hour kindergarten day is due to budget cuts, forcing teachers to cover the same material faster. Students can only keep up by being a year older than normal or by having their parents supply the missing 3 hours of instruction each day. This does not seem like much value for your $1500.00 PTA and MBEF donation you are coerced into paying every year. Daily email and phone hounding occurs until 97% participation is achieved. I will gladly donate to private schools, whose mission is to help students rather than retain them, especially when they are only about $4000 more than this "free tuition" public school.

Pacific Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
Pacific School is a National Blue Ribbon School because it has a longtime history of outstanding leadership, extraordinary teachers, and positive parents. The culture of happiness and lifelong learning permeates the campus.

Pacific Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
Each year I think my children will never get as good of a teacher as they had last year. To my amazement, they do or even better. Being a teacher myself, I know a good teacher when I see one. They make the kids love learning and school!


Pacific Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
Pacific School has the best teachers in the whole world !!

Pacific Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
Pacific teachers inspire the children to love learning! A love of learning is key to a more fulfilled life in the long term because it is that desire for exploration and awe upon discovery that enriches us as humans (not to mention it helps in getting good grades for college admissions). Planting that seed early is critical, and Pacific teachers do it with dedication. They rock!!

Nearby schools

Pacific Elementary School
1200 Pacific Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA  90266-4969
(310) 546-8044
Last modified Pacific Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top