Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


American Martyrs School 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
The school is very good, Monseigneur is amazing; however, the principle is a monster, this woman needs to leave the school before she ruins it

American Martyrs School 1

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
This review although only one star reflects on the administration, not the community. The Catholic community is the very best part of American Martyrs School, the families we met in the 12 years there were wonderful and a blessing.Unfortunately, AMS is hindered by an administration whose priority in not the best interest of their students. Academically, studies like the math and sciences are under par. Morally, there is a huge dissconnect. Opportunities are consistently missed towards inclusion in sports, and with the administration learning through their obvious mistakes. With the parent involvement and resources they have AMS can and should be a GREAT place. But a small immoral group, in my opinion, has a handle on this school and it seems to be turning into more private school, less Catholic school environment.


American Martyrs School 3

Posted July 20, 2014
- a parent
We wouldn't normally post on a site like this, but felt the May 23, 2014 review, forwarded to us, was unfair. Our family decided to leave AMS school this year for many reasons. It was a difficult decision but ultimately the right one for us. Monsignor is compassionate and committed to his Parish, the school and the greater good of the community, regardless of income. I suspect the individual who wrote the one star review has never spoken with Monsignor about their concerns and that is a shame. We know Monsignor to be a good man. The school is currently undergoing changes regarding how it will be administered. These changes are set out in a "School Vision" posted on the AMS school website. http://www.americanmartyrsschool.org/apps/news/show_news.jsp?REC_ID=366363&id=0. If you are interested, read the School Vision. It provides information regarding the school's intended direction. Become informed and make a decision that is right for your children. Do not rely only on the postings of an anonymous rating site. This site requires a rating so we used three stars as a sign of neutrality, only; this is not intended to be a rating of the school.

American Martyrs School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
There is a reason why families are leaving in droves the past 2-3 years. This school has grown too fast, and is too big to handle the students that it does have. It is run by a Principal who could care less about any of the lower grades (aspirations to move on to a high school position, perhaps?), and a Monsignor who fancies himself The Pope of Manhattan Beach and only sees dollar signs (not very Catholic). Skip this school and look for a true Catholic education that is more about the children's education and less about the almighty dollar.

American Martyrs School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a community member
Tey not only teach the three R's they keep God in the childrens mind / Making them a more caring generation.


American Martyrs School 5

Posted January 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

American Martyrs School 5

Posted September 03, 2006
- a former student
As an alumni, I look back at my time at AMS as a vital part of who I am today. The academics are solid, but could be more diverse. It's the staff and parents of the school that makes the biggest difference. As the city of Manhattan Beach has changed, so too has AMS, but the staff and parents stay true to principals of education, religion, and community.

American Martyrs School 4

Posted February 15, 2006
- a parent
AMS has given our child a good basic foundation. The school has gone through a number of growing pains as it has expanded tremendously over the last few years. It is now under new leadership which I cannot address as our child is now a graduate. Ams is weak in language, music and sports, but big in community. Your family is their family.


American Martyrs School 5

Posted October 13, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

American Martyrs School
1701 Laurel Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA  90266
(310) 545-8559
Last modified American Martyrs School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
American Martyrs School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top