Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Marina, CA
Students enrolled: 421
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Crumpton tiene un tama o ideal y est claro que el director y los profesores se esfuerzan porque todo funcione bien y los ni os est n bien atendidos. Todo est limpio, ordenado y hay un deseo de mejora constante.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
This school should have been shut down when they closed a Marina elementary school. There is zero leadership and in the 6 years my oldest grandson attended he had ONE great teacher. They allow classrooms to be run by abusive, inadequate substitutes for months at a time and there is no continuity. The teacher my youngest grandson had last year was a nightmare- played favorites and created a sense of horrible self esteem to those she didn't care for- which was more than half the class. She had a "seat of shame" and these were second graders. We shared with the school a professional psychiatric evaluation which found that the child she was attempting to label with learning disabilities was in fact suffering from "deep seated anxiety" caused by the TEACHER. Yet she is back and now has the Kindergarten class. Personal information about students is freely shared with other parents and even people on the contact list just picking up a child. This was repeatedly reported and empty promises led to the youngest being pulled out and moved to a better school. Other parents have complained yet it is ignored because mediocrity is the standard at this horrible school. It should be closed down.


J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 1

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
I attended the Holiday Concert this evening to see the children sing. I did not see the children due to numerous parents standing in the front and middle aisle. I am disgusted with the behavior of a number of parents at JCCrumpton. Between standing in front of others, talking during the concert and walking around it was a terrible situation. The children sat on the floor in the middle of a group of parents struggling to find a seat. Someone stepped on my granddaughter s hand and she was crying when I could get to her. This is a repeat of the spring concert last year, when the parents trampled some of the kindergarteners to get pictures of their own. The principal and staff did nothing to control the crowd.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
I do not have major complaints about the education. I do think they can assign more homework. My child is in 4th grade. The teachers and staff, however, are great! That is why we love JC Crumpton.


J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
Crumpton is al about the kids and work hard with what they are given. The students, parents and teachers have great rapport with each other and are working toward the same goals. Getting a great education for the children. We have a great staff, especially our Principal and secretary. If you must attend this school get ready to be very happy there.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children attend J.C Crumpton, they feel safe and get along with everyone. The staff is fabulous! I'm very glad to see that it's still the same from when I attended at J.C Crumpton. I would highly recommend J.C Crumpton to anyone who is new to the area with children in elementary school.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 2

Posted September 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 1

Posted September 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
Two of my children have attended Crumpton since kindergarten thru 5th and one is still attending for 2 more years. The quality of their education has been outstanding. Teachers are dedicated and work many hours to prepare their lessons. This is one school who still attends science camp, who celebrate Multicultural day and have a wonderful Promotion Ceremony for their 5th graders. The parent involvment in the school is very low but the small amount of parents who are involved seem to bring many great things to the school. Some examples are the educational field trips, and assmeblies. Marina City has many programs. If your looking for sports Crumpton does not offer these but the city does and at a low price.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School
460 Carmel Avenue, Marina, CA  93933
(831) 392-3520
Last modified J. C. Crumpton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J. C. Crumpton Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top