Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Crumpton tiene un tama o ideal y est claro que el director y los profesores se esfuerzan porque todo funcione bien y los ni os est n bien atendidos. Todo est limpio, ordenado y hay un deseo de mejora constante.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
This school should have been shut down when they closed a Marina elementary school. There is zero leadership and in the 6 years my oldest grandson attended he had ONE great teacher. They allow classrooms to be run by abusive, inadequate substitutes for months at a time and there is no continuity. The teacher my youngest grandson had last year was a nightmare- played favorites and created a sense of horrible self esteem to those she didn't care for- which was more than half the class. She had a "seat of shame" and these were second graders. We shared with the school a professional psychiatric evaluation which found that the child she was attempting to label with learning disabilities was in fact suffering from "deep seated anxiety" caused by the TEACHER. Yet she is back and now has the Kindergarten class. Personal information about students is freely shared with other parents and even people on the contact list just picking up a child. This was repeatedly reported and empty promises led to the youngest being pulled out and moved to a better school. Other parents have complained yet it is ignored because mediocrity is the standard at this horrible school. It should be closed down.


J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 1

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
I attended the Holiday Concert this evening to see the children sing. I did not see the children due to numerous parents standing in the front and middle aisle. I am disgusted with the behavior of a number of parents at JCCrumpton. Between standing in front of others, talking during the concert and walking around it was a terrible situation. The children sat on the floor in the middle of a group of parents struggling to find a seat. Someone stepped on my granddaughter s hand and she was crying when I could get to her. This is a repeat of the spring concert last year, when the parents trampled some of the kindergarteners to get pictures of their own. The principal and staff did nothing to control the crowd.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
I do not have major complaints about the education. I do think they can assign more homework. My child is in 4th grade. The teachers and staff, however, are great! That is why we love JC Crumpton.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
Crumpton is al about the kids and work hard with what they are given. The students, parents and teachers have great rapport with each other and are working toward the same goals. Getting a great education for the children. We have a great staff, especially our Principal and secretary. If you must attend this school get ready to be very happy there.


J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children attend J.C Crumpton, they feel safe and get along with everyone. The staff is fabulous! I'm very glad to see that it's still the same from when I attended at J.C Crumpton. I would highly recommend J.C Crumpton to anyone who is new to the area with children in elementary school.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
Two of my children have attended Crumpton since kindergarten thru 5th and one is still attending for 2 more years. The quality of their education has been outstanding. Teachers are dedicated and work many hours to prepare their lessons. This is one school who still attends science camp, who celebrate Multicultural day and have a wonderful Promotion Ceremony for their 5th graders. The parent involvment in the school is very low but the small amount of parents who are involved seem to bring many great things to the school. Some examples are the educational field trips, and assmeblies. Marina City has many programs. If your looking for sports Crumpton does not offer these but the city does and at a low price.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
My child has been at JC Crumpont for his first year of public school and has enjoyed everyday. His teacher has been wonderful. My child has been showing progresss since day one.


J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2007
- a parent
My child is very happy at J.C. Crumpton. The school atmosphere is very welcoming to parents and students. The teachers and support staff really try to reach out to everyone. My child is doing very well and loves to come to school in the a.m. The new after school program is excellent. My daughter comes home everday with her homework complete. And...the 5th grade students are being offered instrumental music for the first time. Three cheers for Crumpton.

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2007
- a parent
I love Crumpton. The principal teachers and staff work together to create a great school. My son has been treated with the greatest of respect and kindness even though at times he can be a little challenging. The school secretary is to notch. She always greets everyone with a smile that encourages me as a parent to enter the school office. The principal knows all the students and is highly visible and accessible to parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J. C. Crumpton Elementary School
460 Carmel Avenue, Marina, CA  93933
(831) 392-3520
Last modified J. C. Crumpton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J. C. Crumpton Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top