Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Synapse School

Private | K-8 | 115 students

We are best known for our constructivist curriculum and integrated SEL emphasis.

 
 

Living in Menlo Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $954,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2013

Our older child has been attending Synapse for two years and LOVES it. He looks forward to school everyday. The teachers and staff are positive, caring and engaging. They pay close attention to child's needs, strengths and weaknesses, be it emotional, social, academical or intellectual. The open communication between teachers, staff and parents ensure that concerns are immediately addressed and have positive lifelong impact on the child. The students are curious and most have age appropriate deep and logical thinking skills. Each morning the teachers check in on the children's emotions and their progress during the day. This helps the children to be emotionally secure and confident which is fundamental for their social, intellectual and academic development. After a year at Synapse, our older child (who has been Mensa member for years) experienced an increase in his IQ score by 11 points, and is more mature and responsible. My 3rd child also attends Synapse this year. She used to resist new ideas for fear of failing and is now open to new ideas and voices her opinions and is really confident in engaging several adults at once in a conversation. Our children LOVE Synapse
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

It's hard to make the bold choice to send your child to a relatively new school. Will it be stable...are there effective systems in place...are the curriculum and logistics solid. In short, do these people really know what they're doing? In the case of Synapse, the answer is YES. It's not just that the curriculum is sophisticated and impressively implemented. It's not just that the administration and teachers are warm, approachable and personally invested in the success of each student. Or that the environment is joyful, vibrant, and a touch nerdy. The kicker is that everyone -- teachers, administrators and parents -- is here by choice, and is fully committed to the mission of the school. The parent community is engaged and supportive, not just of the students and teachers, but of each other. And in return, the administration respects and supports parents, helping us to learn and grow along with our children. As an institution, Synapse is very nimble, and issues are handled in an efficient, humane and thoughtful way. The emphasis on Social and Emotional Learning is woven into every interaction at every level. Synapse doesn't just talk about it -- they do it, day in and day out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

Our daughter started in September as a Kindergartner (Level 1) and we could not be happier. At the end of the day we were searching for a school that would keep her fire and passion to learn alive all while having a lot of fun. The things that drew us to Synapse (to name a few) were the block scheduling, the low teacher to child ratio, the helical model, the injection of fun and humor, the social-emotional component and the fact that they were incorporating the latest research as to how kids learn into the school imagine that?!? The school really seemed too good to be true based on what we heard a year ago in the Parent Information night, but I have to say, we are 3 months in and we are thrilled Synapse is walking the talk. Our daughter has a great group of classmates that fortunately come with an awesome set of parents that we are enjoying getting to know. Our daughter comes home each day totally charged with all the new things that she has learned and we see her applying what she has learned all the time. Synapse just keeps adding oxygen to that fire and it-is-a-blazing and we love it. Thank you Synapse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

We have found this school to be the right fit for our gifted child. Synapse uses a helical model of instruction, which allows the children to explore and idea before formally learning about it. As a result, they have a greater ability to understand and retain both concepts and details. The community, like most communities in this area, has a wide range of people. Thankfully, everyone seems to share the commitment to this out-of-the-box approach to curriculum. Therefore, despite huge personality differences amongst the parents, it is still a cohesive, collaborative community in which we enjoy mom's nights out and school-wide outings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

Beware of the glowing reviews. I found these administrators and parents to be entitled elitists. It was a lot of money that equalled no bang for the buck. Don't waste your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

What works: Amazing eclectic, talented, friendly, highly involved parent/student community---the best! Interesting curriculum, effective differentiation, teachers know individual students and work with their respective needs/learning styles, safe/accepting social environment across genders and ages, teachers and administration inspire intellectual learning and personal growth, highly experienced administrative staff (unfortunately only there part-time) What needs improvement: For financial efficiency and effective execution of complex curriculum, NEEDS a single, full time head of school with solid leadership skills and experience working with/managing innovative learning environments for gifted children, would do well to increase job search range to beyond Six Seconds and Notre Dame for the sake of leadership strength, effectiveness and accountability, one or two teachers are highly talented with gifted children, others are above average and will be better with a few more years under their belts and some classroom management training
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

My child started attending Synapse this year, after attending a very highly regarded public school. His previous school was very "one size fits all," and he was bored. He never shared classroom experiences at home. We knew we had to get him in an environment that was a better fit for his personality and talents, or he would slowly lose his enthusiasm for learning. We found it at Synapse! The teachers are incredibly involved, and knowledgeable about gifted learners. The other students are bright, well behaved kids. The parent community is very welcoming. We love the fact that there are TWO teachers for 15 kids! Best of all - my son doesn't want to come home at the end of the day! He has a learning "buzz" every day after attending Synapse. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this gem of a school. From the founders (the founding team from The Nueva School) to the teachers (bright, creative,hard working, passionate) to the community (wonderful, committed and involved families) the school is amazing. My children love it! I have never seen them so engaged and so inspired to learn. Synapse represents the best of Silicon Valley-- innovative, creative, passionate and entrepreneurial. I feel very fortunate that we found such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

My gifted kids LOVE this school. The hands-on learning, individual attention and integration of emotional intelligence make this an atmosphere where they thrive. I am SO impressed by the depth of learning and the creative approaches to subject areas. My children have never before been so engaged and excited about the learning process. The Synapse community has been a gift for our entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

My son just transferred to Synapse this Fall for 7th grade after attending our local public middle school for 6th grade last year. Our public middle school was not a good fit for him and he shut down to school at the end of 6th grade. He is a very intellectually curious kid who likes to dive deep into subjects. He also likes personal connections with others. He often has a different way of approaching seemingly straightforward topics and assignments. These qualities made school hard for him at his old school but are encouraged at Synapse. He still struggles with disorganization but in a smaller school like Synapse with one core teacher it's easier to manage. He now LOVES school at Synapse and is very happy. Here are some descriptions from my son - it as a friendly environment where kids aren't rude, not stressful (the school work is fun and encouraging and anti-stressful and there are no grades), you feel like you are doing less work when you are really getting twice as much learning as other schools, conversations about the school lessons start up easily (he said the students weren't as engaged in learning and there wasn't as much time at his former school).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

My son started at Synapse in Level 1 (kindergarten) this year. Before school started this fall, my son was convinced that school was going to be boring. Now he says that weekends and school days are both his favorites. He is excited to teach me what he has learned at the end of the day, he is proud of his accomplishments, and he always looks forward to it. I worried endlessly last year over where to send him and I feel overjoyed at having found a place for my son to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

My son will be starting his third year at Synapse next month and we are pleased to report that he is counting the days to his first day back! The constructivist, accelerated curriculum taught in block scheduling is the perfect match for our son who engages in project-based learning, focuses well and love to go deep. I've been particularly impressed with the administration's adherence to the highest standards with respect to admissions. We are so pleased with the program that younger son will be starting his Kindergarten year there in the fall too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

My Level 1 boy has come home all smiles from Synapse. He is completely engaged and intrigued by the curriculum and not only maintains his passion for knowledge, but because of the hands-on approach, he has a real sense of confidence in his ability to learn. I would also say that another notable fact about Synapse is the virtual lack of cliquishness or exclusion. The focus on EQ and the nature of the curriculum both teach and require teamwork and collaboration - real lessons for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

Synapse is an ideal school for bright, gifted learners. It's true there has been some attrition, on par with any other private school. The project-based curriculum can be challenging for some children and may not be the best fit for every child. Ideally, this is something that is determined through our rigorous admissions process but occasionally, issues come to late later. The teachers, staff and administrators are not only professional and tremendously experienced, they are also unusually committed to and passionate about each student's journey. It is hard for everyone when a child struggles but, in the case of Synapse, it is more likely attributed to rightness of fit than to lack of social, emotional or academic support, of which there is an abundance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2011

Many families are leaving or have left mid-year. Not a school for gifted children. Great school if your child enjoys curricular chaos and/or playground politics. Teachers/staff lack basic classroom and playground management skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

As a parent of a bright enthusiastic middle school boy, it is a delight to have him return home each day full of stories about what he has accomplished. His unique insights and strengths are valued by both staff and peers, a huge change from other schools he has attended. The EQ, or Emotional Intelligence, strand to the curriculum means that he learning about himself as a person and a member of a community in a positive, proactive way. As I am a teacher, I know that like any school, Synapse has areas in which it can grow. However, when I compare a typical middle school experience to the year we are having now, there is no other place in Silicon Valley that I would want him to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

Synapse is breaking new ground in educating gifted students by incorporating emotional intelligence training into all aspects of the school, which not only creates a very warm and nurturing learning environment, but actually leads to further gains in academic performance. The only drawback our daughter has commented on since starting at Synapse is that the school currently lacks a play structure. However, rumor has it Synapse will be partnering with the Riekes Center, a unique sports facility (where many serious athletes train) that is conveniently located next to Synapse. Assuming this partnership goes through, this should help make up for both the current lack of athletic facilities as well as other arts facilities (e.g dark room for photography) and nature awareness education. (By the way, Synapse currently has an unusual partnership with Acterra in which students travel to the Arastradero preserve to do habitat restoration and environmental science projects). Although she would have done extremely well in any school, our daughter is thriving at Synapse both intellectually and socially and emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

With the founder and former director of Nueva running the school, as well as just about every other known and respected name in gifted and progressive education on the advisory council, it was an easy decision for us to choose Synapse for our intellectually curious and driven daughter. The curriculum is challenging and creative and has, as an organizing principle, the Helical model. (This was important to us because we had heard that some other gifted schools lacked a cohesive curriculum or qualified curriculum developer to oversee what each teacher taught in each level or grade. ) Another big plus is that each child is given a full range of assessments from IQ test to assessments of creativity, social/ emotional intelligence and critical thinking which are used to develop personalized learning goals. Peer group for both our daughter and us as parents was high on our list when we were looking for a school and we couldn t be happier with what we found at Synapse. The children in our child s class are not only bright, but kind, sensitive and excited about learning. The other parents are interesting out-of-the-box thinkers, grounded and yet extremely well-educated and worldly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

We chose Synapse over Nueva and Helios because the teachers and administration at Synapse are superb. The teachers truly understand how to implement project-based education for gifted students. Furthermore, the administration is made up of the best of the best. They have all been involved in gifted education for many years; they took their years of knowledge and created an incredible educational experience for our children. Other things we are impressed by: the community of parents; the block schedule; the camaraderie among the students both within grade and across grades; and most importantly, the rave reviews my son gives us about his day every time we pick him up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

As a past employee, I can say that this is a very difficult place to work and grow, I have always loved children, working with them and dedicated my whole life to education but somehow the Administrators at Synapse don't seem to share my enthusiasm. They have abused their staff, forced some great educators away, and care very little about the education of the children rather than how much money can be made. In all I would say that this school was a very unprofessional and hostile environment. Synapse does has a great philosophy and if it can clean out the faulty leadership this school might soon be a place you could send your child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Tech Museum of Innovation Eggstravaganza (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • After-school Mandarin & Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jim Eagen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Differentiated
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • After-school Mandarin & Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 15, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Bing Nursery School
Montessori

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$20000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3375 Edison Way
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Website: Click here
Phone: (650) 294-4570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Seaport Academy
Redwood City, CA


Wherry Academy
Redwood City, CA


Seaport Academy
Redwood City, CA


Taft Elementary School
Redwood City, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT