Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
115 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Synapse School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
No homework except independent reading until grade 3. After that, homework is not meant to be kill and drill. Mostly project based. One example is a gratitude journal - practices writing and develops character.

Synapse School 5

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter is thrilled to be at school. She thrives with the integrated curriculum. Each year, the school has a change maker and they build curriculum around it. This year, Benjamin Franklin is the change maker. In English, this ties to journalism and writing. In science and math - innovation and problem solving. In social studies, they focus on aspects of American history. Each level develops this theme in an age appropriate way. Moreover, our daughter knows how to self-advocate. She knows how to RESPECTFULLY make her needs known as part of the 6 seconds SEL integration. Academics- her reading and writing continue to progress and her math is ahead of our friends at other schools. She LOVES math and the teachers individualize math learning so that all kids are met at their level.


Synapse School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
I feel particularly thankful to my children's' advisors who keep track of how they are doing in all of their subjects.

Synapse School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
There is very little homework at Synapse. When there is, it is purposeful and related to the work students are doing on projects in school.

Synapse School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Empathy, caring and compassion are part of the six seconds emotional intelligence competencies taught at this school.


Synapse School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Because of this school's focus on emotional intelligence and social emotional learning in general, honesty, integrity and fairness are core values that are emphasized in all areas of the curriculum.

Synapse School 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
I have two new middle schoolers at Synapse this year, and they have never been happier. The faculty truly cares about their well being. I was amazed at how quickly they felt integrated and part of the community. In addition, the academics have been both challenging and engaging. I was surprised that, even without grades, my kids feel motivated to do well and do their best. Moving them to Synapse was a great decision.

Synapse School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
My daughter is thriving at Synapse. This is a community that is kind, open, willing to take chances, and embraces new ideas. The take care of people here. Sure they are a new school, and schools are challenging places to operate. But their teachers are talented and bright, caring and compassionate, and the families are down to earth and are committed to a different experience for their children and themselves. They have doubled in size in two years, have brought staff from all over the country, have new, dynamic leadership, new programs like computational thinking and innovation, and are transitioning from a start up school to a school that will be leading the way for others. It's simply a fabulous community and I feel lucky to be there. My daughter does too.


Synapse School 2

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
It's hard to write this review. As the parents of a former Synapse student, we feel its our obligation to warn people. Synapse has strengths. Its a warm and nurturing school and the teachers really care about the students. But we decided to put our children in another school because we don't think Synapse is a good place for kids. There are no limits, many of the kids have emotional problems, the classes aren't challenging, and Synapse does a very poor job of preparing kids for other schools.

Synapse School 2

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
It's hard to imagine the child for whom Synapse is a good choice. The academics are poor, there's very little discipline, and the sense of smug entitlement radiated by the staff is astounding. If you're considering it, look at how many of the "upper division" children leave for other schools, and look at the teacher and staff turnover. Both are scary high percentages, and both speak to the same thing: this isn't actually a serious school, but rather a very expensive daycare for your children masquerading as an educational experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Synapse School
3375 Edison Way, Menlo Park, CA  94025
(650) 294-4570
Last modified Synapse School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Synapse School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top