Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-8
Public
Menlo Park, CA
Students enrolled: 688
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


La Entrada Middle School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
La Entrada has been an excellent school for my daughter Bella (7 grade). We moved from Chicago a year ago and everybody was so welcoming and helpful. My daughter was challenged in Math, so the school (Mr. Ortola, math teacher) inmediately designed a peer tutor for her. Mr. Costello also helped her a lot. All teachers were sensitive that She was new and everybody helped making a smooth transition for her. i would recommend this school to any parent who is looking for great quality teachers and excellence.

La Entrada Middle School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
I am a seventh grader at La Entrada. La Entrada is a great school because each teacher really cares about his/her students. All of the teachers are truly amazing at what they do. La Entrada also has some very special courses like black and white photography including a darkroom to develop photos in, which most schools don't have. Also, every single 6-8 student has their very own iPad, along with tech support to help them if they need. There are also two gardens where students can grow many different plants. The science program is amazing. Today in class, we had the opportunity to dissect worms. We have also done many assignments on different creatures' biology. The teachers really go deeper than just giving the answers to questions- they make us think critically and go beyond the information in the textbooks. To sum up, La Entrada is a gem as far as middle schools go.


La Entrada Middle School 1

Posted May 15, 2013
- a community member
Fine, but not great like its sister school Las Lomitas. If only La Entrada could learn from Las Lomitas then it could also be a wonderful school. It is a missed opportunity.
1 person found this helpful

La Entrada Middle School 2

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
The school is not bad, it is just a little old fashioned and bit limited in creativity. The motto here is work for the sake of work. Learning is mainly memorizing the study guides that the teacher gives you which need to be regurgitated on the test verbatim. If your child is truly gifted in an area then they might find the environment here rather stifling. It is surprising to find such a rigid and old fashion environment in the heart of Silicon Valley which values the innovative and creative.

La Entrada Middle School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a community member
I love La Entrada. La Entrada is the best school ever. This is because any other school can't beat La Entrada
1 person found this helpful


La Entrada Middle School 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a community member
I attended LE from 4-8th grade, and was one of the best decisions of my life. The teachers are very thorough and prepared me immensely for highschool -- even the PE classes are more rigid then those in high school. Excellent school, although the administration is a little off-color at times.
1 person found this helpful

La Entrada Middle School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
It's interesting to see all the mixed reviews here. In Menlo Park, it is known that the Las Lomitas School District (Las Lomitas and La Entrada) is THE school to aspire to In Melo Park ans surrounding towns. The new(ish) principal and vice-pricipal are well regarded by students and parents. With all the cuts in the CA budgets, families have been asked to step up their contributions to the education foundation. In 2010 the foundation raised and gifted $2.4M to help keep class sizes small, and to keep Arts, language and Physical Ed in the schools. The community is one that cares about education, and is very involved,. I have three kids in this school and we have been happy with the education that they have, and are receiving. And, yes, some teachers are better than others, but overall, the quality is above average.
1 person found this helpful

La Entrada Middle School 3

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
Typical public school in an affluent area with alot of emphasis on family involvement. Families are expected to contribute alot as if the school is going broke, which I suppose is normal since all public schools are facing budget cuts. Seems bureaucratic since there is only two little schools in the district so it's admin heavy and lacking in special needs (gifted, arts, music, disabilities).


La Entrada Middle School 3

Posted January 30, 2011
- a parent
Our family moved to the area for a job in silicon valley, so my kids have been in schools in another state. This school might be great for standards in CA, but it doesn't compare to where we came from. They only get around 11K per child so we didn't expect much but still, this is supposse to be one of the best (by API standrds) in CA. Lots of emphasis on test taking and academics, a good thing for SAT's etc., but social skills, creativity, and arts is average.

La Entrada Middle School 5

Posted November 03, 2010
- a parent
I find it hard to believe that this school received a few negative reviews. This is the third year my daughter has attended La Entrada and I have no complaints. They have plenty of extra curricular activities available including foreign languages, sports, and music programs. They offer math programs to suit each child's needs from the most basic of classes to an advanced class that puts them on track to complete geometry beofre the start of high school. They offer tutoring after school which is run by parent volunteers. I think some people will never be satisfied and expect teachers to teach their children everything and hold them responsible for their child's failures when the parents should actually take some accountability. Teachers can only accomplish so much in 8 hours and the learning should continue at home.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Entrada Middle School
2200 Sharon Road, Menlo Park, CA  94025
(650) 854-3962
Last modified La Entrada Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
La Entrada Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top