Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mid-Peninsula Education Center

Private | 9-12 | 113 students

 
 

Living in Menlo Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $954,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

After a frustrating middle school experience (not frustrating for my son who enjoyed the "challenge" of doing as little as possible), I was looking for a high school that my son could graduate from with the option of going to a 4-year college and where he would have a regular high school experience. As an independent thinker, he had a few criteria of his own for any school he would consider such as no uniform and no religious affiliation. Wondering how these many conditions could be accommodated, I happened upon a gem of a high school called Mid Peninsula High School. The teachers at Mid Pen are wonderful and they have a great system that allows them to keep track of each student apparently seamlessly. One of the best things about the school, and something I had not even considered when signing him up there was the college application process. While my friends were tearing their hair out over their kid s college applications, I was able to sit back and put my feet up (finally!) because it was handled entirely at school through their awesome college advisor. Now I am the happy parent of a student who is successfully holding his own at a well-regarded 4 year college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2011

This school works well for students whose parents are willing to curry favor with the administration. It maintains high ratings by kicking out the kids who don't fit in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

When you get to the point that you and your teenager cannot agree on how to move ahead through high school, Mid-Pen steps in and provides a safe environment for teenagers to address their "issues" without the family confrontations. Wise and caring faculty guide students via a stong advisory program. Failures become learning opportunities or chances to work through school problems on the student's own timeline. We may be loking at summer school to achieve full credits, but with much lower stress levels. There is plenty of meat and challenge in the curriculum to engage students where they want to be met. Our student's self-esteem has risen through an all-inclusive sports program that encouraged trying two new althletic endeavors during the first year at Mid-Pen. Visual arts and the robotics club have also supported our student's passions outside the classroom. As a family we have been warmly welcomed to the fun-loving Mid-Pen community. Parents supporting parents and a strong counseling program create a baseline of "normalcy" in the crazy teenage years. Rich parent -ed opportunities abound with internal and external events taking place regularly. Check it out !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

The high school experience shouldn't be about survival, hoping to emerge in four years with an acceptance letter to college. Mid-Pen understands this. It provides a solid college-preparatory program, but the emphasis is on the here and now, not on what's going to happen after high school. Students are on a first name basis with their teachers, who are among the area's best. The atmosphere is caring and compassionate, allowing students to flourish. My child is thriving in ways I never expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Success! What a joy it is to have a child come home to tell me that it was a great day again! Mid-Pen has offered enough structure for learning to take place along with a complementary flexibility to meet my child's needs. Stress has been replaced with enthusiasm and an interest in her academics. Teachers are consistently caring, prepared for classes and know their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

If you have seen the documentary, Race to Nowhere, you know how crucially important excellent teachers and innovative curriculum are to learning. Mid Pen embodies both of these essential ingredients in creating and delivering upon a first-rate education. Small classes, project based learning, committed teachers, and a full range of sports, arts and community service are the elements that make the Mid Pen community thrive. This isn t just a school for kids who haven t found an environment that brings out the best in them; this is an excellent environment for bringing out the best in all high school students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

Our son was having a difficult time in the Palo Alto public schools, primarily because of the large class size. He really needed some individual attention. After he struggled for too long, we found Mid-Pen. It was just what he needed and within a few months he turned around completely and went from dreading and hating school to really getting into it.I wholeheartedly recommend Mid-Pen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

Students who attend Mid-Pen come from all over the Bay Area. My son is in 9th grade and takes Cal Train to school from San Jose. When I spoke to the Head of the School about my son s learning style it was refreshing to hear him articulate what I had tried to explain to teachers and administrators for years. I am not an over protective parent I just know my son has a unique learning style that is not easily reached in an overfilled traditional classroom. My son is thriving at Mid-Pen! Social connections that had completely broken down in Middle School are now back on track. He enjoys going to school and talks about what he is learning in normal conversations. It is quite different from the boy who told me, just last year, that people would be embarrassed to be seen in public with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

My son is in 9th grade at Mid-Pen high school. He is now a model student who is happy to get up and go to school in the morning, and is getting 4 A's and a B in his college prep curriculum. In middle school, he would not do his homework and he tried his best to get out of going to school. Things I like: small class size, no more than 15 students in a class room at a time, means teachers have time to focus on each child and his/her independent learning style; dynamic teachers who get and hold the kids' attention; 9:30 a.m. start time lets teenagers get the sleep they need; no teasing policy strictly enforced makes for a safe learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

My son attends Mid-Penn High at Menlo Park. Within a semester, his GPA has gone up, he is more involved in a school team sport (since Mid-Penn does not cut anybody!!) and seems much happier about school overall. I would strongly recommend this school if your child is not happy at a public school. Not all kids thrive at a cookie cutter environment which requires lots of self motivation to succeed. Here at Mid-Penn, the staff is very supportive, and seem to know each kid by name. The only drawback that I can think of is that this school is not very pushy academically; but then that approach does not work well on all kids anyways...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

My son is a Junior this year at Mid-Pen and he couldn't be happier. He never wanted to go to a large high school because he had some anxiety about large groups, getting lost and not having teachers who really knew him and cared about him. At Mid-Pen, he is not lost in any sense of the word and the teachers know him VERY well and all really seem to care about him and all his classmates. We are thrilled that we were able to find this school and that my son is thriving there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

Mid-Pen is a great school. It was perfect for my son--no more complaints about going to school. No more complaints about getting up early (he commuted about an hour to get there); and he changed from a rebelious, grumpy adolescent into a caring, thoughtful person. He also started getting As. He was so influenced by his chemistry teacher at Mid-Pen that became a chemistry major in college and will soon be working on a Ph.D in chemistry (I hope).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

Mid-Penninsula High School is wonderful! As a former student I can say that the environment provided is a safe and accepting one. One of the things I like most about Mid-Pen was the variety of people, students and staff both. Any 'cliques' that exist in public school are not present there. The staff really made learning fun and upon graduation I had a 3.6 gpa, which I was quite proud of. If you have a student who is having difficulty, either personally or academically, Mid-Pen is worth looking into.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 26%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Black 6% 6%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:30 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Douglas Thompson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (650) 321-9921

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Independent Study
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Mid-Pen students actually like to come to school!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$25000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1340 Willow Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Website: Click here
Phone: (650) 321-1991

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Stanford New
Menlo Park, CA


Sequoia Community Day
East Palo Alto, CA




South Community
East Palo Alto, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT