Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Mercy

Private | K-8 | 255 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Merced

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2010

Great school, I highly recommend it. One of the toughest academic programs in Merced. Safe environment with well-structured curriculum and supportive teachers. On another note, I read a disappointing experience on here and it sounds like that parent is simply bitter and has some personal grudge against OLM. As a UCLA PhD graduate with a degree in Psychology, cliques will develop anywhere and are a natural part of growing up. Parents should take more responsibility, if the mere existence of cliques are causing 'psychological damage,' it's time to think again in terms of what really is psychologically damaging your child. And it cliques not clicks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

5 Stars. This school is just amazing. The community is great, the education is well above average, and my kids love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

Good for the basics but nothing beyond. Innovation is absent. School administration is change-averse and cloistered in their own world. Teachers, however, are very dedicated and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

OLM has the highest quality of academics in the area. Where most public schools are focusing on reading and math...OLM continues to offer all subjects for the overall education of children. The sports program is excellent with extremely well-qualified coaches. The school continues to flourish under the leadership of the dynamic principal. The teachers are well-qualified and work to educate all students. Parent involvement is great! The parents are supportive of the administrators and teachers. If you want proof of the education that OLM provides research how many valedictorians at the local high schools have been from OLM. Also...the top athletes. Great overall experience... academically, athletically, socially, etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

A disappointing experience in a 'Christian' environment. Student favoritism among teachers and principal. Double standards - rules not applied consistently. Clicks among students which are detrimental to the psychological well being of students are widely accepted by teachers and principal. Weak leadership; incompetent teachers in important curriculum areas. Young relatives (no teaching experience) allowed to sub for regular teachers. Large class sizes. Poor technology availability. Overall a poor program for the price charged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

Great enviornment, wonderful catholic education. It would be great to recieve a little more responsive attitudes from the children's teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2006

I graduated from OLM in '84, my children go there now and I wouldn't have it any other way. Top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

The quality of academics in this school is above average. SAT scores are generally higher than the nation's average. Music, arts and sports are below average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2003

I like the fact that my pre-schooler is bringing home practice work. She is learning a lot and it makes it easier for me to help her with her practice work. I definitely recommend OLM to other parents in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My nieces and nephew attend OLM. They are very well behaved kids. However, I believe the disipline and understanding that they are to be respectful to others is something that is additionally instilled in them at OLM. The school and teachings offer kids the opportunity to learn more about their religion and help to strengthen their faith.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 26%
Hispanic 17% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 11%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Judy Blackburn
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Fresno
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 East 27th Street
Merced, CA 95340
Phone: (209) 722-7496

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Faith Christian
Merced, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT