Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
255 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Mercy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
Honesty, integrity and fairness are some of the core values that the school promotes along with respect, kindness and community service and charity.

Our Lady Of Mercy 5

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
OLM is a fantastic school which provides excellent preparation for High School. I have sent 3 children through the school and they are currently at the top of their respective classes in both high school and college. The teachers are terrific and really care about the kids as individuals. The discipline (i.e. no cell phone during school) may seem like an anti-social "prison-like" requirement for some, but it is actually an excellent exercise in self-control for the kids. My kids are as social as any and have learned key lessons like being kind to others, tolerance,respect, and teamwork- as well as being really well prepared academically. They have excellent sports programs too. The tuition is lower than lessor programs in the surrounding areas and a tremendous value. Also-you do not have to be Catholic to attend and in fact many students are not and are totally comfortable there. I am thrilled with our family's experience at the school and I would highly recommend it if you are looking for an excellent, individualized, academic and athletic experience in a structured, kind and loving environment for your child.


Our Lady Of Mercy 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
Terrible teachers, make students feel like they're living in a prison. No social contact or exposure to friends and family.

Our Lady Of Mercy 5

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
Great school, I highly recommend it. One of the toughest academic programs in Merced. Safe environment with well-structured curriculum and supportive teachers. On another note, I read a disappointing experience on here and it sounds like that parent is simply bitter and has some personal grudge against OLM. As a UCLA PhD graduate with a degree in Psychology, cliques will develop anywhere and are a natural part of growing up. Parents should take more responsibility, if the mere existence of cliques are causing 'psychological damage,' it's time to think again in terms of what really is psychologically damaging your child. And it cliques not clicks.

Our Lady Of Mercy 5

Posted November 08, 2009
- a parent
5 Stars. This school is just amazing. The community is great, the education is well above average, and my kids love it there.


Our Lady Of Mercy 3

Posted April 19, 2008
- a parent
Good for the basics but nothing beyond. Innovation is absent. School administration is change-averse and cloistered in their own world. Teachers, however, are very dedicated and caring.

Our Lady Of Mercy 5

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
OLM has the highest quality of academics in the area. Where most public schools are focusing on reading and math...OLM continues to offer all subjects for the overall education of children. The sports program is excellent with extremely well-qualified coaches. The school continues to flourish under the leadership of the dynamic principal. The teachers are well-qualified and work to educate all students. Parent involvement is great! The parents are supportive of the administrators and teachers. If you want proof of the education that OLM provides research how many valedictorians at the local high schools have been from OLM. Also...the top athletes. Great overall experience... academically, athletically, socially, etc...

Our Lady Of Mercy 3

Posted April 21, 2007
- a parent
A disappointing experience in a 'Christian' environment. Student favoritism among teachers and principal. Double standards - rules not applied consistently. Clicks among students which are detrimental to the psychological well being of students are widely accepted by teachers and principal. Weak leadership; incompetent teachers in important curriculum areas. Young relatives (no teaching experience) allowed to sub for regular teachers. Large class sizes. Poor technology availability. Overall a poor program for the price charged.


Our Lady Of Mercy 4

Posted April 01, 2007
- a parent
Great enviornment, wonderful catholic education. It would be great to recieve a little more responsive attitudes from the children's teachers.

Our Lady Of Mercy 5

Posted December 21, 2006
- a parent
I graduated from OLM in '84, my children go there now and I wouldn't have it any other way. Top notch education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Mercy
1400 East 27th Street, Merced, CA  95340
(209) 722-7496
Last modified Our Lady Of Mercy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Our Lady Of Mercy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top