Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Park Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2016
- a parent
I bought my home in 1993 in Mill Valley because I Heard that the Public schools in Mill Valley were fabulous. I am a single mother and have raised two beautiful daughters in this community. We chose Park school mainly because it was closest to our house however, I have to say that it was a phenomenal choice! I have nothing but fantastic things to say about the teachers and their devotion to the job! My children are both grown now and found their ways into their dream colleges. Bravo! Park Scool!!

Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school, teachers love teaching and our new principal, Andrew Withers, is on the ball - super available and involved every day and in every activity, even after hours. This is our 3rd year at the school and my kids are thriving and love going to school... I love the great community we have with all the parents - lots of involvement to make it a great atmosphere for families too.


Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
I have kids going into 2nd and 4th grade. What a fabulous start to school this has been for my kids. Everyone, parents, teachers, support staff and the principal, Peg, are engaged, aware and open. Could not disagree more with the disgruntled post re our principal. She has been totally 'necessary' to my kids development. She is knowledgable and involved at every level..how many principals do you see interacting with the kids at lunchtime?...she is a rarity.

Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
My experience with the Principal at Park School is very different than the previous poster's. I find her to be very open to parent feedback and very willing to find solutions to any school related issues. She knows a lot about curriculum and instruction and it seems like the teachers are all on the same page even though there are some differences in style. I have noticed this consistency in the 4 years my kids have attended Park. This has helped them understand what is expected from year to year and has built on what theylearned. As a former teacher myself, I know it is difficult to create a shared philosophy among staff. When that happens, it is typically in large part because of the school leader. This is a fantastic place to be. The whole community, parents and staff are definitely all about what helps children learn best!

Park Elementary School 3

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
I have 3 kids going to Park. Most of the teachers are good and dedicated. The principal is lousy and unnecessary. She has done nothing to improve the quality of education and life of kids. Among 5 MV schools they can share good 2 principals. It would save a lot of $$$. Education is OK. These kids are capable of learning more. The life is not going o spare them.


Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Park School is a great elementary school--there is a sense of community here, where children's minds are nurtured and cultured, and opportunities for learning are supported by involved parents.

Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
I myself went to Park School in the early 70's and now my son attends. Today there is still great school spirit and tremendous pride. Our school is in need of upgrades due to it's age, we just had our 100 year anniversary. I volunteer in our school garden where we are teaching the importance of growing your own food, healthy nutrition, composting, life cycles of insects, to name a few. The garden needs a irrigation system to help cut down on water usage. This money could help our amazing school in many ways.

Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a community member
A fine, well-balanced program that encourages both learning, creativity and fitness. Excellent faculty and parent participation. The kids obviously love it, and they thrive academically and socially.


Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a parent
I've had four children go through this incredible school. The teachers are exemplary and students love going to school. This is in large part due to the extraordinary leadership of the Principal, Peg Katz. She is a true instructional leader who keeps the focus on teachers and children. Parents can be very demanding and she's able to navigate this quite well.

Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Every teacher my children have had at Park has been extraordinary. My children are excelling academically and socially and love going to school each day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Park Elementary School
360 East Blithedale Avenue, Mill Valley, CA  94941-2140
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (415) 389-7735
Last modified Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top