Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
219 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At Marin Horizon you will find a warm, collaborative group of educators and parents who share a goal of making a difference in the classroom, the community and the world. At Marin Horizon we believe every student is unique and has limitless potential for excellence. Our promise for all students who walk our halls is that their minds will be challenged, their hearts will be nurtured and their voices will be heard. There has never been a greater need for a school like Marin Horizon.
November 20, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marin Horizon School 5

Posted July 24, 2016
- a parent
Teachers know the whole child and how best to teach to them. They were doing project-based STEM learning before it became trendy. Middle school incorporates "essential questions" such as "what does it mean to be the other?" Into the curriculum. I didn't do the rigorous analysis that middle-schoolers do until I was in high school. Drama is incorporated into the school day so all kids can participate in theatre or band and still play sports after school.

Marin Horizon School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 22, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are simply amazing. They are truly dedicated, thoughtful, professional, and experienced individuals who love the work that they do. I have friends whose children are in high school, and their kids still keep in touch with their teachers.


Marin Horizon School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 22, 2016
- a community member
The teachers do not bog children down with meaningless busywork. My kids are excited to do their projects. Their homework is often related to projects that they are working on, and very excited about, at school. The teachers also confer with one another about the assignments they are giving students so that they know what kind of a workload the kids have. The teachers are also encourage their students to communicate with them if they are struggling to complete assignments given their after school obligations, etc...

Marin Horizon School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a community member
My children have learned that things don't necessarily come easily all the time, but that it's okay. The most important thing is to be persistent and to learn from the process. Students are taught to reflect deeply on their learning process, and to think about how they might do things differently in the future. Students do a lot of collaborative activities, so this kind of reflection is particularly instructive for them.

Marin Horizon School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a community member
I love how Marin Horizon School not only helps my children learn the importance of respect for others, and for the environment, but also how it teaches my children to respect themselves. My children have learned how important it is to take care of and advocate for their own needs, both as learners and as people who have boundless potential.


Marin Horizon School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a community member
Yes, it really does. Real time and care is invested in how to instill these important values in our children. There is a respect that is taught and practiced for all living beings. The kids learn to value differences and treat people the way they would want to be treated.

Marin Horizon School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a community member
Absolutely! Marin Horizon cares deeply about the development of character in every child. The concepts and practices of honesty, integrity, and fairness are explicitly taught, modeled, and integrated into the academic curriculum. These concepts are not taught in isolation, they are part of the fabric of the learning experience.

Marin Horizon School 5

Posted April 22, 2016
- a community member
Marin Horizon School provides a learning environment and experience that cultivates academic excellence, social emotional growth, self-awareness, environmental stewardship, creative inspiration, and critical thinking and innovative skills in truly joyful classrooms.


Marin Horizon School 5

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
Marin Horizon has been the best decision my husband and I could have made for our children. The individualized attention and team teaching has created a love of learning I only wish I could have had as a child. I am so happy every day to see the type of confident, self assured people they are becoming. I keep saying to friends the school just keeps getting better. There is not an Outdoor Education program that can rival Marin Horizon, I love the unique exposure and growth this offers my children.

Marin Horizon School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
My children have the amount of homework needed to review and learn the material form the day but are not bogged down with assignments keeping them up late.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marin Horizon School
305 Montford Avenue, Mill Valley, CA  94941
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (415) 388-8408
Last modified Marin Horizon School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top