Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Merryhill School

Private | K-8 | 422 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Milpitas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $400,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

Its my last year here. The english program was low and I hear kids in high school are struggling in this subject. It is way to test driven. Every teacher has way to many favorites and kids they don't like. Kids didnt get the freedom they want. After this private school experience most kids go to public high schools. Or most leave before eight grade. Every kid over the age of ten going here hates it and would rather be at another school and they all feel miserable. The younger kids are given more importance and older kids are treated very unfairly. The school is way to small and has few facilities. Many teachers cannot teach else where. Overall the kids were great but outside of that I hated it. I wouldn't recommend it here. The only ages that should come here is from Pre School-3rd grade aged kids.


Posted August 21, 2013

My son has been going to this school for over a year now. Just graduated 4th grade. He has the best teachers and the principal is amazing. Her attention and care is not something we have seen before. He has made so many friends and the learning environment is good for kids who need extra challenge. Now we have moved our daughter here also. And we are sure she will love the school as much as our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Merryhill School Milpitas, CA;The school is OK academically and the teachers are friendly and excited about teaching. If you have a special need for the handicapped parking, I suggest you reconsider. Many inconsiderate, healthy, able-bodied parents use the handicapped parking because they're just too lazy to walk an extra 20 yards. So far, although I've complained, I haven't see the school address it. During school performances, parents totally fill the fire zone making it a huge liability if there really was an emergency and the fire department needed to get in. They wouldn't be able to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

My daughter has been going to this school for past 3 years starting at junior K. I must say that she loves this school. Their curriculum and extra curricular activities are also good. The standard is much better than most public schools and at the same time, not as aggressive as other private schools like Stratford. I think its an excellent option of live in Milpitas and can afford the tuition fees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

My child have been at this school for over 8 years and I've seen ups and downs and changes in the total experience of the school. Because this is a private school, it has to be measured against a different set of standards not just that it's "better" than public school. If a parent is throwing out 10-12K+ a year to send a child here, the school has to deliver on a total educational experience that far exceeds that of a public school. From this perspective, Merryhill has only 1 advantage. A small and safe environment for your child. If your child is already a good to exceptional student this is a good fit. If not, don't expect the school or teachers to step up and help. You will have to get very very proactive to advocate for your child. They are not setup to respond when your child is struggling. You find out when grades are set, not when it matters. This is noticeable as you get to the higher grades. There are some bright spots in terms of teachers, but I find that most of the teachers have been there too long and their approach is about structure not creativity. It's like public school with a big price tag. If you can, go to Discovery Charter or Carden for Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

Merryhill WAS very good when it was Rainbow Bridge Academy. One of the few private schools which was not caught up in the race with Challenger schools. However, I feel their corporate influence (Nobel Learning) seems to have put pressure on them now. It used to be that they would accommodate kids of varying abilities and work with the children to grow their skills. Nowadays their target seems to have changed to match the extremes of the competition. This seems to drive for only the best students to stay. This may work for their corporate reasons - focusing on scores. But I am sorry to see another school caught up in the rat race. I pulled out my child to my neighborhood public school due to this. Also, the recent curriculum changes moves towards history, writing etc. instead of having a balance across subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

The overall academic structure of the curriculum is very solid. The push for parent involvement is a definite plus...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

A nice small school, a lot of fun activities. But if the after school program can extend to 6:30pm, that will be so great for those parents that both need to work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

It is pretty good school overall. From the academic programs point of view, it needs to forcus more on the public speech and English writing. The children need to have more homework instead of playing most of time in the day care program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Yosemite Drive
Milpitas, CA 95035
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 945-9090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




C.H.I.N.G. Academy
Milpitas, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT