Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The staff and principal at Burnett Elementary School are innovative and caring individuals. The principal is involved in what happens in the classrooms where our teachers are collaborating to provide our students with high quality learning experiences with a focus on personalized learning. Last year our 1st grade teachers teamed together to provide our students with an intense learning project that was driven by the question, "what do we need for good health?" With teacher guidance, the students delved in to various questions related to good health such as, "what happens to our hearts if we eat too many fats and sweets?" and "why do we need sleep for our brains to work efficiently?" In the spring the students hosted a health fair where they showcased their work and taught visitors about the answers to these and many other questions they had posed throughout their studies. Our principal, Mr. Rich Julian, documented the event with his camera, one of those pictures was used in our Spring MUSD Staff Newsletter: http://pub.lucidpress.com/MUSDstaffnewsletter/
August 23, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Burnett Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Lot of bullying goes on in school. The teachers simply ignore. They punish anyone, do not check anything.

William Burnett Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Bad school. Teachers are not interested to teach. They teach minimum curriculum. This school teaches one grade level down as compared to Marshall Pomeroy. The same week , Marshall Pomeroy kids were learning to write 5 sentences and my kid's class was writing aplhabets in a bubble, not even on a 3 lined paper.


William Burnett Elementary School 1

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
My son goes to this school and Richard Julian is the worst principal ever. My kid has speech problems and he hit someone, which hitting is wrong,, because some kid was taunting him. The only person that got in trouble was my child and the prinicpal told me it was unprovoked, but when I asked his teacher she told me it was provoked. the principal at this school is nothing, but a bully. I also complained about him. He did not get reprimanded or nothing. It was his first offense and he get both recesses taken away from a 6 year old. How fair was that.

William Burnett Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
I would like to say thanks to the Speech Therapist. She is always there when my son needs her to be.

William Burnett Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Ineffective. They just want to collect a paycheck, which is not fair to the other kids


William Burnett Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Let kids be kids. Whatever happened to kids being kids. There is just to much homework.

William Burnett Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Richard Julian was not prinipcal it would run better. Richard Julian needs to get fired the way he acts.

William Burnett Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
This prinicpal and my sons 2nd grade teacher are terrible. My sons teacher makes he think that she does not like him. What kind of teacher does that. The prinicpal Richard Julian he is a dufus. does nothing for the school. Spends all his time flirting with the other teachers.


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
The staff and principal at Burnett Elementary School are innovative and caring individuals. The principal is involved in what happens in the classrooms where our teachers are collaborating to provide our students with high quality learning experiences with a focus on personalized learning. Last year our 1st grade teachers teamed together to provide our students with an intense learning project that was driven by the question, "what do we need for good health?" With teacher guidance, the students delved in to various questions related to good health such as, "what happens to our hearts if we eat too many fats and sweets?" and "why do we need sleep for our brains to work efficiently?" In the spring the students hosted a health fair where they showcased their work and taught visitors about the answers to these and many other questions they had posed throughout their studies. Our principal, Mr. Rich Julian, documented the event with his camera, one of those pictures was used in our Spring MUSD Staff Newsletter: http://pub.lucidpress.com/MUSDstaffnewsletter/
Posted August 23, 2015

William Burnett Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a parent
I agree the principal is the worst and the school board does not care. It is sad because the kids suffer because of it.

Nearby schools

William Burnett Elementary School
400 Fanyon, Milpitas, CA  95035-4630
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (408) 635-2650
Last modified William Burnett Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top