Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rancho Milpitas Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2014

I came to this school as a new person 3 months before school was about to end. This was a year ago in 7th grade. I was scared as to if I would fit in and such. I found a lot of friends here. This is an amazing school. Of course this is like any other school, there are the cliques and everything. The only difference is that these cliques are actually open to letting other people in as friends. I should know. Being an military child, I have moved a lot and this school, by far, has been one of the best schools I've gone too.


Posted August 22, 2013

Rancho is the best school I 've ever go to. I heard they just reconstructed the school. I went there, it looked beautiful. All I have at Rancho was good experience. Everyone there is so nice. I love Rancho!!! I really hope I can win 5000 dollars for the best school ever.


Posted August 28, 2012

At first i thought this school would be really scary but after a few days i really liked it. Some teachers are a little harder than others but that helps me learn. I am going to miss this school very much.


Posted May 7, 2012

I'm really gonna miss this school, because I feel like the teachers actually care about me. It's also pretty safe here, and the lunches are good.


Posted September 9, 2010

At first I was really scared about coming to Rancho, thinking the 8th graders would bully me, but it's a lot safer than what I heard from my older brother and sister. Although the place me and my friends used to hang out got closed, it's still a really fun place to learn.


Posted May 5, 2010

Rancho is an AWESOME school. At first, I was worried about going here, but then after a few days I saw that Rancho has really nice teachers and the other students there were nice too. I'm really happy to be in Rancho and to be a RANCHO DON.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2010

I went to this school. The teachers are great and love helping their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

I am very happy about Rancho. At first, I was a little worried about sending my son here because of the different children, environment, and bad influences. But it sure proves it wasn't as bad as it sounded. I'm satisfied with the staff who encourage each and every student to do well in school. The students are well behaved too. Of course there's always bad influences at every school, but at Rancho, I havent seen it. I'm completely satisfied about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Perfect school and enviorment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

hi i am a current 7th grader and i think that our school is really awesome! the staff are really carring, nice and if u need help they can help you. we also have a lot of fun days such as dances,feidtrips and sprit days. well know im going to miss the teachers,staff,and cousilers when i move on to highschool
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2007

this school is the best i know thers some great teachers there such a ms.pagen or mrlopez and even mr ?hugly? their the best put you kids in rancho to be safe and get the best grades you can ever emagin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

I have been happy with Rancho for the most part. It has about 700 kids; a police officer on site daily, and some great (and not so geat) staff. My youngest son, who has Asperger's but doesn't fit in with the special ed classes (too smart) has been a challenge. He has an IEP and the teachers have to do extra things for him. Some staff has been successful, and have gone the extra mile for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

857

Change from
2012 to 2013

-24

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

857

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-24

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
46%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females97%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asian99%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females79%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state65%

Math

All Students65%
Females69%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students47%
Females46%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipino47%
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate60%
Parent education - declined to state35%

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females70%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Filipino67%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state65%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students24%
Females17%
Males29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only20%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students98%
Females100%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students67%
Females65%
Males70%
African American73%
Asian83%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state68%

Science

All Students79%
Females75%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipino84%
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 41%
Hispanic 25%
White 8%
Black 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/AN/A
English language learners 18%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 16%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1915 Yellowstone Avenue
Milpitas, CA 95035
Phone: (408) 635-2656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





C.H.I.N.G. Academy
Milpitas, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT