Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carden Academy Of Basic Education

Private | K-8 | 212 students

 
 

 
 

Living in Mission Viejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

We are so excited about starting this school in the Fall. We have been to many events so far (2 Open Houses, Country Fair, 20 year birthday celebration of the school). Every time I attend an event it is VERY well organized. The staff is very friendly. The parents are welcoming. The school really cares about their students and it shows in the effort that is put forth by the students to achieve. My son will be going in to the 1st grade and I hope we will be able to continue through the 8th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

One more problem with Carden...they do not give out any homework in the primary grades. Not that I want my child spending hours doing homework, but they do need to start out with a little so they can learn study skills. Once our child reached 4th grade and started getting homework, it was like shell shock because there was no prior experience to build on. Study skills, organization. and responsibility were lacking because it was completely new.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I researched extensively before putting my two children in Carden. If you are looking for a private school that will not only challenge your child academically, but teach character, discipline, respect, strength and courage ....you will have found it at Carden. The teachers are loving and with an average class size of about 12-14, they actually KNOW your child. We pulled our 4th grader out of public school and my daughter came from Montessori. They LOVE school and actually look forward to going each day. Carden is a small school with a family atmosphere that truly cares. You will not be disappointed! My children have been there now for 1.5 years and I am so grateful to have found this school. It's a best-kept secret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

We have had our children at Carden Academy for 13 yrs. We expect to be there for many more. There is not a better school in Orange Cnty for developing great students w/ strong character & honorable ethics! Students learn excellent study habits in core academics & the arts (& a plus for parents, NO homework for students until 6th grade when they can actually do their own)... Children are taught to find joy in learning. Students enjoy daily PE, music, & Spanish classes, w/ wkly art class. Older student enjoy advanced math & in-depth science with "hand-on" labs. The teachers are dedicated to providing a comfortable learning environment & truly love their students. They go out of their way in & out of school to support students. The administrators are extraordinary--they really care about students & families--in & out of school. Many staff members have attended my children's important events outside of school. A definite plus is the outdoor play area, Pioneer Park--students actually can play in the dirt in a truly natural setting if they desire. I am not an employee of the school, I am not related to any anyone there--I am a completely unbiased parent who adores this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

Carden Academy is a "one of a kind" school!!! Every teacher there is solely there due to the love of teaching, and it shows. Between the unsurpassed teaching method of Mae Carden combined with the new contemporary versions of Math & Science implemented, it is my opinion, this school is definitely the best in Orange County. With all that being said, I find the most valuable asset for my children in this school, has been the confirmation of honor, respect and core values being taught in a loving practical way. It becomes second nature for the children because it is learned thru example, and as a parent, it is nice for your children to witness other people striving for this besides just their parents. It has been a complete rounding experience from kindergarten all the way thru 8th grade. My 1st one so far to enter high school has been fully prepared. Thank you to ALL the staff @ Carden Academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

Carden is a unique school and a true gem. Wonderful staff, caring teachers, and great families. They maintain high standards in an environment that is nurturing, wholesome, and orderly. A character development program based on Judeo Christian values and traditions permeates school life. The academics are excellent and well rounded. Language, Science, History, Math are complemented by Foreign Language, Music, Art, and outdoor learning in the school's 3-acre nature preserve, school garden, and small creek. The Director has a true love for children and a lot of integrity. My three chilfren are going here - a huge financial sacrifice for us but worth every penney.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

This school has very fancy terms for all the regular teaching method used every where else. Overall an OK school. The teachers gave sweats as incentives for my daughter, and DS video game time as rewards a few times. Not what we would do at home. The teachers are knowledgable and caring but not consistent with the teaching result. A lot of the amenities on campus can use an upgrade. -- ex-parent.


Posted September 8, 2011

Carden Academy provides a strong academic base in a nurturing and professional environment. I have four children that have attended Carden. My oldest is in public high school now and thriving in all advanced classes with all A's. Carden is structured, and they do stress self control. Laughing is of course permitted and encouraged, but out of control behavior is not. The school has addressed both the science and math curriculum recently. There is an advanced math track which will put children entering high school in Algebra II/Trig as freshman if so desired. The school stresses character development and is able to enforce good manners and citizenship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Its a school that not only provides the basic education but also preparing our kids to be future leaders with ethics and morality which is not seen in other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Carden is a unique small private school. Family atmosphere, good morals and values instilled, challenging academics. They teach order, self control and responsibililty. My kids say that nobody teases. Small classes and small school good for helping kids 'come out of their shell.' Teachers are loving, caring and positive. Teachers seem passionate about being at Carden and teaching. Highly recommend Carden in Mission Viejo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Good moral values of integrity, honesty, respect...these are values that seem to be neglected in most American schools today. This school emphasizes these core qualities not just through written word but through action. It's amazing how children behave the right way when they are taught the right way. Using these core values along with the academic value of the Carden Method, children are given the tools needed to help them learn for themselves. We love our school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

Carden Academy, Mision Viejo provides a high academic programs combined with a very orderly and calm atmosphere where the students are given the opportunity to learn at their own state of development. All the teachings are provided at two levels: 1) in a classrom and 2) in a groups of 4-5 students that have similar learning capabilities. This format allows the students to create their educational envrinment. The academic curriculum is based on Mae Carden whom has established a very fun way of teaching in primary students on a phonic based. The curriculum is a continued year after year and builds on the last year studies. The same theme is carried forward with adding new teachings and complexity that keeps the students at any level interested and intriqued. I have two sons in the porgram one graduated and the second one is still at school. I absolutely highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

This is a great school! My son was saved from 'the best school in California'. He has never been bored and has not become bored. I would recommend this school to all who want an exceptional education for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

I can not say enough good things about this school. The focus of teaching high standards in combination with the Carden Curriculum makes for well balanced students. There is a feeling of well being and joy in this atmosphere. This school is well worth checking into. I have had two graduate from Carden Academy, and a third will graduate this spring. My children have thrived at this school. I am grateful to the dedicated and loving staff and Teachers at Carden Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 26%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kathy Angioli
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24741 Chrisanta Drive
Mission Viejo, CA 92691
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 458-1776

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Del Cerro Elementary School
Mission Viejo, CA



Sonrisa School
Mission Viejo, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT