Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sunflower Montessori School

Private | K-1 | 17 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mission Viejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $435,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

Where do I begin? I have two sons who have been attending Sunflower since September 2012 and I do not have anything negative to say. They absolutely love going to school every morning. The teachers are very attentive and it is easy to tell how much they enjoy working with the kids. My sons are already reading and doing math at 5 years old and other kids are doing the same at 4 years old. It is very impressive and rewarding. I am very thankful for the great care my sons receive from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

My first son has been here in Sunflower Montessori for 4 years and his little brother started preschool last year. I was recommended by my neighbor 4 years ago and I fell in love with all the teachers and atmosphere. It is not fancy or brand new building but the warmness from everywhere. That was the one I can trust and started to send my 2 and 1/2 years old baby 4 years ago. When you look for the school for little ones, I have to have the trust and love from teachers. Ms. Lisa and Ms.Karin is wonderful and loving teachers and directors. And Ms. Angela in kindergarden is loving, generous and wonderful teacher. My son grew up so much in emotionally and academically with Ms. Angela. My older one graduated today and moving on elementary school but my little one will continue Sunflower Montessori till Kindergarden since I know he is in good hand as I experienced for last 4 year. THANK YOU SO MUCH!! SUNFLOWER MONTESSORI!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

My son just started and I was a little worried about his transition from home to pre K. I couldn't have made a better choice than Sunflower Montessori. The teachers helped him transition in such a loving way. My son is excited to go to school everyday and is developing a great attitude toward learning with their guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

My two children have attended this school at different times over the last few years and I am very grateful for the education/structure/love they have received at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Sunflower Montessori is one of the most amazing schools I have ever been to. With an almost entirely 'word of mouth' enrollment, Sunflower has the kindest teachers, most supportive parents and a loving environment that is truly beneficial to every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 26%
Black 9% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Karin Walsh
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28251 Marguerite Parkway
Mission Viejo, CA 92692
Phone: (949) 364-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Armenta Learning Academy
Laguna Niguel, CA



Stoneybrooke Christian Schools
San Juan Capistrano, CA


Rancho Capistrano Christian School
San Juan Capistrano, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT