Advertisement
Advertisement

Sonrisa School

Private | 1-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mission Viejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2013

My 11 Yr old daughter is high functioning autistic and attends Sonrisa School. She attended a a regular school and was main streamed from K to 4th grade. She was very unhappy there and had high anxiety about going to school everyday! To many children in the classroom and not enough help attention with her school work. Now she LOVES school and looks forward to going everyday!! The teachers are all so loving, caring, kind and patient. She gets the needed one on one attention she needs academically and is doing very well in that regards. Sending my daughter is the best thing I ever did!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

Sonrisa School has been a blessing to my son, academically and socially, for the last 3 years. My son now looks forward to going to school and is enthusiastic about learning. He is in a class with four other students with one teacher and a teacher's aid. As a parent, Sonrisa provides a great way for me to meet other parents in similar situations, and learn from their experiences. All Sonrisa teachers are well-qualified with bachelor's or master's level of education in areas such as psychology, English, history and education. More importantly, they take care of my son as any good parent would. Mom of 2
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

Sonrisa School has given my daughter hope for the future. My daughter struggled with learning and social skills until she came to Sonrisa School almost 4 years ago. Today she is a happy and well adjusted little girl. My daughter disliked reading and seldom picked up a book to read. But within months of enrolling at Sonrisa, she was not only reading out loud to me but also read quietly in her room. There aren't enough words to express my gratitude to the staff and the director of the school. Thank you for all you do for my child and my family. Grateful Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

Sonrisa School has been a huge benefit to my son! He has made great progress at this school, loves school now, and is even giving oral presentations! He is learning so much academically and socially. The teachers are all very well qualified and are quick to make changes to a student's program when necessary. The director and teachers are all kind and understanding to all the students. With a background in education I believe this is a perfect school for many students. I am so thankful daily that my son goes to school happy, comes home happy, and is learning! Thank you Sonrisa for meeting a huge need in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

Sonrisa School academically and socially was an inappropriate placement for my son. After 1 year and 6 months he is now in a new and more typical academic environment where he was recently tested for progress and placement. His Math scores were found to have remained flat (and significantly behind,) and his Speech & Language scores remained seriously impacted. His Reading Comprehension had improved somewhat, but it also was found to be below grade level and his ability to infer and predict remains seriously impacted. Socially my son made no friends with whom he had outside-of-school social contact. He was placed in a classroom with a group of about 5 or 6 children for whom academic and social levels varied greatly. I do not believe that all the teachers have their California teaching credentials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

In my role as an educator, as well as a parent, I knew exactly the environment that would be best for my teen-aged son diagnosed with autism. I had come out of a bad experience at the school district where I felt that their middle school program was attempting to warehouse my child, as well as his peers, in one end of the campus with virtually no interaction with typically developing peers. Sonrisa was a dream come true! The setting is intimate, the students are kind, and the teachers are both caring and qualified - what more could I ask for? Plus, Sonrisa will provide the continuity my son needs from middle school through high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

The love and caring for the children is ever present. In turn the children love to attend school 'their second home.' Learning skills improve because of the expert instruction, along with the absence of learning stress. Children gain social confidence right alongside the academic confidence. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 94%
Hispanic 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

More from this school
  • Located in a private home
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26502 Pepita Drive
Mission Viejo, CA 92691
Phone: (949) 206-9668

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT