Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mission Viejo Christian School

Private | K-8 | 381 students

Strong academics, solid spiritual foundation, wide variety of enhancement course

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Living in Mission Viejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

It is truly a pleasure to share with others about how wonderful MVCS is. My children transferred here a few years ago. My daughter going into 6th grade was anxious about being accepted and I must say this was the best decision we could have made. She was warmly welcomed and has made some of the greatest friends. The families at the school have also been so kind. One of the main reasons we switched Christian schools, was for a stronger academic program - which it is. The Junior High program has greatly exceeded my expectations. The teachers truly care about their students, the JH English teacher is so passionate about helping her students become excellent writers, the beloved science teacher has forever impacted my daughter's character - with his Character Honor Integrity program. I can honestly say, this school is fabulous, from the loving, nurturing environment, to the strong academics. In addition - Bob Sladek has joined the leadership team this year. He has been a beloved leader in the Christian school community for many years and I am so excited to see God's hand at work in this incredible school. Come visit - you'll be glad you did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Amazing school! My daughter transferred out of the local public school system and into Mission Viejo Christian School 3 years ago. It's been a wonderful experience. She has been challenged academically and has developed a closer relationship with God. The entire staff truly cares about your child and their safety. There has been an improvement in Administration. Bullying is not tolerated. If your looking for a quality education for your child, I encourage you to schedule a tour! Sincerely, ONE HAPPY PARENT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

Our family chose this school for a Christian environment and smaller class ratio, my child experienced both bullying and superior attitude from some children who are longtime attenders at this school-there is also a tight innercircle of longstanding parents/kids who appear friendly on the outside yet never really let new kids in, my son also experienced some rejection and name calling from several kids-The principal is very friendly yet if a parent or child questions anything you will quickly move to the 'you need to improve' list. ,and there is a subtle hint of legalism...perhaps some staff/kids here should read Corinthians that 'without love its a clanging symbol' There are a few Godly teachers here that do walk the walk and are nurturing examples,yet there also are a few teachers/staff that are quite condesending to both children/parents.The academics are excellent and there are good opportunities to serve God & Community-Prayers for this school can change things.....because Prayer changes things-Amen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

We have elementary and Jr High level children at this loving and caring school and couldn't be more satisfied. Both of them are really challenged, but have the support of the teachers, aides (at every grade level) and administrators to help them succeed at the academic challenges. Christian character is a majoy emphasis taught in every grade level. Two foreign languages are offered (French & Spanish). And the number of sports teams have increase from only 4 last year to a whopping 24 teams this year! Wow! So, many students are engaged from 5th to 8th grade in football, soccer, basketball, volleyball, with Cross Country, conditioning, and Track 'n Field offered for 1st through 8th grades. This incredible school has a 5 acre grass sports field, too! We came from another local Christian school and it is just so satisfying to be in permanent, safe buildings, a strong staff, a highly relational Principal, and academic excellence that bring a balance to every student. Pssst: the families are really, really nice too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

Our family came to MVCS from another local private school. I have to say that it was very difficult to uproot our children from a school that they had attended for 6 years. We struggled with the decision, but knew that we could not stay where we were. There is a reason why so many have come to MVCS. We are so happy that we made the move! I wish we would have made the move sooner. MVCS academics are VERY strong. The leadership, academics, teachers, extra curricular, values, and facilities are WONDERFUL! If you re looking for a top rate private school be sure to check out MVCS!! You will be glad you did! We LOVE MVCS and the leadership of MVCS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

My son made the move to MVCS just a few weeks ago, from another private school in the area. There were major changes at his past school... but he also just needed much more academically. MVCS is a FULL YEAR ahead in math vs. his previous school. They take education seriously (-: Although it has only been a short time, the differences between mvcs and our past school are huge. Amazing people, strong Christian environment and excellent academics. What a blessing to have found this place ~ IF you are looking around, come check it out ~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

What a blessing this school has been to our family! The teachers and Principal are excellent, caring, and treat each student uniquely to meet them where they are. My son has grown leaps and bounds in the 1st grade program with a small class size, individual attention and an awesome teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

A wonderful staff, teachers and school. Kids excel in their academics and activites. The school truly cares about your child and wants the best for them. They give such a strong foundation for children to be successful. Great school. The education my kids receive at MVCS is beyond words. Blessed to have my kids be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

This school is exceptional on so many levels. The education is excellent and far exceeds all public and private schools in the area. The school is a loving environment that teaches character, honor and intergrity. The teachers are well educated and kind and loving. Our children have gone to MVCS for years and we are truly blessed by this school. There are many fun school activities and events. Perfect balance between learning and having fun too. There is a sense of belonging and a true family envirornment. The kids have healthy competition such as for speech meets, spelling bees, math olympics etc.... but also support each other when someone shines in a particular area. If you have a bright child they give you the opportunities and classes in junior high to excel. And if your child needs extra help they have resources teachers to assist them. Your child truly has a sense of belonging and every staff member and teacher will know them. It is a Christian school so Jesus and Christian values are at the core of everything. Can not describe how much this school means to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

Amazing education, academics and staff. A kind and warm place. The teachers and staff really know your children and truly care about them. MVCS provides a strong foundation for your children to take with them throughout life. My children are so happy here and just flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

Mission Viejo Christian is a great school! Unfortunately the enrollment has dropped significantly in the last few years and the classes are down to one per grade. All elementary school classrooms are inside the building, no portables here. The students, parents and teachers are the best people you could ever meet! Chapel is held once a week and Characteristics of Christ are always exemplified. Core academics and curriculum are excellent! Science, health and history are a bit lacking in the elementary grades. Art, music, Spanish, computers and PE are taught once a week, by teachers that are qualified in those subjects. If you re interested in a Christian school for your children, check out Mission Viejo Christian, but don t let the non-charismatic principal influence your decision. He is a very knowledgeable and caring man. Look at the whole program and you ll see MVCS is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

We love this school! My son is in 2nd grade and is doing work that surpases the public school. It is challenging but he loves it. The teachers are educated, caring and wonderful. He also attended the preschool which I cannot rave about enough. In both the grade school and preschool, the teacher to student ratio is fantastic. My son also loves the plays that they do a few times a year and the music conservatory. Lastly, this school is so darn flexible, with their after school program. You can decide that day (or the last minute) to have your child stay an hour or two after school. It really helps with an unpredictible schedule. Plus the kids love it with all of the fun activities. My son begs me to let him stay and play when he really doesn't need to. I truly appreciate everyone that works there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

Excellent school! Our daughter is in second grade and is receiving an extremely thorough education in all subjects including science and history, as well as separate teachers for Computers, Spanish, Music, Art, and PE. In addition to Bachelors degrees and teaching credentials, Masters degrees have also been earned by many teachers. Terrific classroom ratios, many field trips each year - including Sacramento in 4th grade and Washington DC in 8th grade. We have two older children who go to public school in CUSD. The curriculum has drastically changed in grammar school in the past 5 years in CUSD. We pulled our youngest daughter out of public school due to the decline - focus on testing and not on teaching. Some parents in CUSD grammar schools refer to the education as 'Cliff Notes' instead of teaching the children. If you are looking to switch from public school, we highly recommend MVCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

MVCS easily surpassed the public school our child first attended when we moved here. The teachers care greatly about the children and the parents are very involved. Our expectations are high, and they have been met and often exceeded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

MVCS accepts International Students. Great school to recommend to International students. Outstanding ESL classes, nice teachers and nuturing environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 4, 2008

My son is in this school. I love the caring teachers. Great school to send your child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

I am a legal guardian of five international students enrolled at Mission Viejo Christian School. As you'd already know, not being able to speak English can be a tough challenge for these students from abroad. I just want to thank the school and teaching staff that all have been very generous and patient with the five in helping them to get adjusted to America and Chrisitan life here in California.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

Our child entered 2nd grade as a new student this year. He has excelled academically even with the advanced curriculum challenges that is different than anything he experienced in public school. The entire staff provides a very nurturing and loving environment that makes all of the children feel special and part of the MVCS family. He looks forward to attending school every day! We are very pleased with the entire program that the school offers to our child and wouldn't want him attending anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

My child attends Mission Viejo Christian School and has since preschool. I am very pleased with the entire education that my daughter has received. I also know many families that have children that have attended Mission Viejo Christian School through Junior High and then have transfered into a public high school. These children have transitioned very well and most have entered into college prep or honor classes. They have been well prepared in their studies in all areas and all while growing their relationship with Christ. I am happy my daughter's foundation is being built here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

I had both my sons at this school at the beginning of the school year but found they were way behind the public school system in terms of teaching. Unable and unwilling to accomodate children that are not completely middle-of-the-road in every way and neglected the teaching of science and history in favor of bible studies. If you live in this area, save your money and send your kids to the wonderful public schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Math Olympics (2012)
  • Spelling Bee (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael McAteer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian, orthodox evangelical
Fax number
  • (949) 465-1949

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Academic intervention
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • track 'n field
Girls sports
  • track 'n field
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent-Teacher Fellowship
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • MVCS maintains a safe, loving, and nurturing environment where the staff is committed to 1) the student's success, and 2) serving the families well. By doing that, we see the KOG advance!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
331
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
337
Students typically come from these schools
Preschool through Kindergarten

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private religious high school
Public high school
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24701 San Doval Lane
Mission Viejo, CA 92691
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 465-1950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sonrisa School
Mission Viejo, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT