Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cordillera Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Cordillera is a fantastic school with top-notch caring teachers who challenge their students to achieve their personal best. Cordilleras's parents are very supportive and volunteers many hours in the classroom. The campus is beautiful and the office staff is friendly. My family loves this school!

Cordillera Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
Best Elentary School in Mission Viejo, my 6 year old son can read perfectly, and understands the meaning of a least 90% of the sentences in the book!


Cordillera Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Cordillera is an amazing school! Through all the changes and budget cuts our public schools have faced, cordillera has remained dedicated to its students 100%. The teachers are tuned in to what their students need and strive to meet those needs daily. Parents are always encouraged to be involved and there are many that are at the school in a daily basis working to make the school even better. We've been at cordillera for 6 years and I already hate to think of the day we'll have to move on. Cordillera makes everyone feel like part of the family & nothing helps children grow more than a happy healthy involved family!

Cordillera Elementary School 1

Posted March 04, 2014
- a community member
I think the principal is terrible, she's not nice and won't respond to my emails, none of the dress code rules are followed so they shouldn't even have them that's why I give it a one

Cordillera Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2012
- a parent
My son attended Cordillera for K and 1st and loved it. The teachers were great and worked well with each other. Mrs. Snyder and Mrs. Bee are fantastic. The principal is wonderful and there is a lot of parental involvment. This is truely a wonderful school.


Cordillera Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2011
- a parent
I absolutely LOVE this school. The teachers are incredibly dedicated, the principal is constantly interacting with the students and families, the art program is great and there are constantly parents in the classroom volunteering. My daughter is definitely challenged here academically. She has homework that she has to spend time on, but she learns enough in class to complete it.

Cordillera Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
Now that a few of the veteran teachers have left I would rate the teaching staff as Top Notch. They students have Meet the Masters and a terrific music program. Aren't these the subjects that made us enjoy going to school? I have found the principal to be very approachable and reasonable. The office staff is fantastic. Keep up the good work Cougars!

Cordillera Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
I could not be happier with this school. After coming from two local, private Christian schools the past two years, and dealing with inexperienced teachers and lack of appropriate oversight, we have found Cordillera to be a breath of fresh air. What a difference it made for my child being in a school where pedagogical excellence is revered ~ not politics and fundraising!


Cordillera Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
We have been at Cordillera for 2 years and have been very impressed with the teacher/parent involvement...all teachers are readily available for conferences and accessible through email or phone without issue. Parents are encouraged to participate in the learning through excellent communication between student and teacher. I have been very impressed with how the school runs effortlessly. Teachers find weak points in their classes and design motivational and structural changes to get the class going again. The only issue with the school is their lack of a parking resolution--parents frequently cause traffic jams by not following the parking/traffic flow rules.

Cordillera Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2006
- a parent
Cordillera provides a great school environment. The teachers are accessible and friendly, as is the principal. They offer programs in music and fine arts, as well as a full computer lab and library. The grounds are well-maintained and offer new play structures. Cordillera also involves the families...there are many family fun nights throughout the year, including a school carnival at the end of the year. We love Cordillera!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cordillera Elementary School
25952 Cordillera Drive, Mission Viejo, CA  92691-4099
(949) 830-3400
Last modified Cordillera Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cordillera Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top