Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Del Cerro Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

Del Cerro has been a wonderful school for my children This was our 8th year at Del Cerro. We have one more year before we have to say goodbye and I know it will be happy day but also sad. I believe that the a great school starts with a great principal and at Del Cerro thats what we have. His dedication to the childen and families is apparent , if there is any decision that needs to be made what best for the kids is the first question asked. Thanks for another great year! See you in the fall.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2014

We have a wonderful and very visible principal. He is present at all school events and as a parent is very approachable . The office team is nice and helpful! So far all the teachers we have had through 3rd grade have been very supportive and kept my child loving to learn and wanting to go to school. There is strong parent involvement which is encouraged by the staff but most importantly the Del Cerro - PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

It's a great school. The teachers are very helpful to understand your child's strengths , likes and weaknesses . My two children go there 3rd & 1st graders Thanks to the teachers there my two children have Blossomed so well... Thank you del cero dolphins..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

It a good and safe school with good educators.Principal is a dynamic leader and has a great personality. He has power of empowering the teachers, students and the parents. In times of crises he defended and saved the school from sniper by contacting the police enforcement immidiatly and sheltered all his students and teacher with great and cool leadership. School is doing great even with less funding and more students.He has supported the PTA to carryon and enable the funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

My daughter has attended Del Cerro for 2 years now and we have been very happy. The teachers are caring and concerned about the kids - even though they have to deal with increasing class sizes. The kids I've met from all grades are happy and well-rounded and the parents and PTA are great. We are moving out of state at the end of the year and my daughter is so sad to be leaving the school she loves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

My two daughters just finished first and second grade at Del Cerro, and we love this school. The principal does a great job being visible and available to parents and participates in all the activities. The PTA at the school creates a lot of fun activities for families. The teaches I've encountered so far have been rigorous, direct, and caring. I think the teachers are doing a good job of dealing with devastating budget cuts and large class sizes, and communicating my children's homework needs and areas to work on to me as a parent. Having my children at Del Cerro has me feel like I'm part of a large, caring community in Mission Viejo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

Staff is okay, but do not appear to encourage parent input (but encourage parent involvement). As a GATE school, some teachers need further training understanding Gifted children and their behaviors. They are behind in technology with many teachers still using overhead projectors and a couple computers in each classroom. Overall the school is okay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

Del Cerro has been a great experience so far for me and my children. My third daughter is going to be starting kindergarten there in the fall and I am looking forward to it. The staff there is always helpful, teachers have been good to great, and my children are happy there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

Excellent school, excellent teachers, excellent parents, excellent students. My fifth-grade and third-grade children have both been at Del Cerro since kindergarten and have often told me they want to stay through 6th grade. The teachers have experience and, most important, encourage children to take responsibility for themselves. We purchased our home because of the great reputation of this school and have not regretted our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

My daughter just started Kindergarten here, she absolutely loves it! Her teachers are wonderful. Now Kindergarten is her favorite activity,coming before her dance and gymnastics classes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

With both myself and my husband being born and raised in Mission Viejo, we wanted the same for our children. I myself attended Del Cerro for K- 6th grade, and I also have a daughter enteing 5th grade and a son into Kindergarden. The teachers are phenomenal, and the administation are warm and knowledgeable. There is something for everyone here, and you can be as involved as you want to be. You only get out what you put in, and you will have an amazing experience at this school if you put in any sort of effort. This school is like a family to us, maybe that is why we will never leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

If you are looking for Great Schools in Mission Viejo, than Del Cerro is one of the best. In addition to being a GATE school, the Principal and the Teachers want to challenge all the students. I had an opportunity to meet the Principal prior to choosing this school and its clear that she cares about the kids and wants them to grow in social and academic areas. We had a Family BBQ last week and should have 70-80% participation in the PTA. (our goal is 100%) The PTA supports the School in many ways including: Science programs, Music, Assemblies and Technology. In three weeks I have seen more involvement then foremost of the year at our last school. I look forward to the next 7 years for my youngest at Del Cerro.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Overall, I am very happy with the quality of education at Del Cerro. The principle appears to be very involved and has been at all the school functions I've been able to attend. Altogether, my children have had 5 teachers there (K-3) and I've been quite happy with all but one of them. My reasons for not liking here were more to due with personality than quality of education, so take that for what it's worth. i'm not qualified to address the music and arts programs. i know they have special teachers come in to give (weekly?) lessons. The school facilities are adequate but by no means elaborate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

I am not impressed with the level of experience from my child's teacher. This is her second year teaching, and she seems to be out of touch with what some of the lower performing students are doing. The school depends on help from the parents in the classrooms which seems odd to me since it was not like that when I was in school. The parents are not credentialed teachers and should not be giving lesson instructions. The principle seems to have a great understanding of children and their behaviors, but the younger teachers do not, and they should not be handed a classroom until proving that they are mature enough to handle the responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

So far not impressed with the school or its staff. Haven't seen much offered at all for the lower grades, and they are most important. The early you teach a child the better off they are. If you are a parent that works full time don't expect a great big welcome from the staff or other parent helpers, they seem to snub you if you work. The school could also use a good cleaning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

We just started our 6 year at Del Cerro. For one of my children this was her 3rd school. I love the class size/school size. Having been at a larger elementary school and having the sense of 'getting lost' you wont find that here. The teachers are like family. Some grew up here and went to this school. That is important to us. I believe there is excellent parent participation. The PTA helps fund many art, science and music programs. Most classing have full PTA membership. This school is also classified as a GATE school. You can't go wrong there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Del Cerro won the California Distinguished School Award two times ~ current one in 2004! The quality of academic programs are great. The upper grades have science lab; all grades have Art Masters and music classes. There are after school programs, chorus before school and a winning math team. The teachers and PTA asks for volunteers every year and parents help in the class rooms, with the PTA programs and with the enrichment programs. With GATE children and Special Ed kids there are a lot of choice families ~ because Del Cerro is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

I attended this school from K-12 and after having kids I returned to review its continuing progress. I am very pleased with the staff as a whole. They are very willing to do what is needed for your child. They had a good special ed. program and mainstream program.After school programs are available on site as well as variety of electives for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

862

Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

862

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females47%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino17%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate46%
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students51%
Females50%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to state42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females78%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females83%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females83%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females80%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females76%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females68%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state45%

Science

All Students81%
Females82%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females79%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females71%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Hispanic 25%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 8%
Black 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/AN/A
English language learners 14%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 15%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24382 Regina Street
Mission Viejo, CA 92691
Phone: (949) 830-5430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Pillars Academy
Mission Viejo, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT