Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Mission Viejo, CA
Students enrolled: 576

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


De Portola Elementary School 2

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Many of the positive reviews were based off the old leadership that has since retired. De Portola has the potential to be an amazing school again but is sadly being held back by incredibly bad leadership that has no concern for the well being of the children of the school. The test scores are great, many of the teachers are good (not all), but the leadership is literally ruining the once amazing community feel. PTA gets no support from leadership, parents concerns are ignored, and the feeling that this school is more than just an 8-3pm job is missing. I hope that in the future, as new leadership comes in, the school will go back to its glory years and thrive in our small community.
1 person found this helpful

De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
Our experience has been very positive at this school. We look forward to sending our second child here next year.


De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Great wonderful teachers-the academic GATE classes really push higher thinking and give students a faster learning pace. Coming from private school we are thrilled with the higher quality of this school. What the reviewer below is mistaken about is that a similar school with the same demographics actually scores lower-it would get a score of 4 compared to the 9 score that de Portola scored. So it shows that we are an excellent school with excellent teachers! The only thing I agree with is the apathy of the principal in making it an even stronger school...with all the wonderful bright GATE students the possibilities to make the school shine are endless.

De Portola Elementary School 1

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is decidedly lackluster. The Principal is distant and lacks any desire to manifest change. Their test scores are falling, and their same schools rank is a 4, which means they do a below average job of teaching to their population. Their office staff is unhelpful to the point of being rude.

De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
I agree that while GATE may have been different the rest of the school is still great as the teachers are so top notch so we have not been affected as we are not in any special Ed program and my kid is thriving and happy!


De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter transferred to this school in the beginning of 3rd grade, too late to be tested for GATE for that year. She thrived in GATE during her 4th grade year earning top honors throughout the year. Transferring from Anneliese Academy, a small private school, to de Portola was the best decision we've made for her education and sociological development. I'm proud to have my daughter at de Portola and I'm grateful for the opportunities she's been given.

De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2011
- a parent
We have 2 children at this school and it is fabulous. The GATE program really brings the whole school up a notch. de Portola is a GATE magnet school, so that means it draws in the top learners to come to the GATE classes. This means the high achieving students, both those in GATE and those that are not in the program, challenge each other. Our school is more diverse than many and still very high, so all learners grow here. The kids are nice, they have a beautiful garden program, and there is a TON of art, dance, plays, etc.

De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2011
- a parent
We have a 1st grader and a 5th grade GATE student at de Portola. We love all our talented & dedicated teachers, support staff and principal. The school activities have great support from the parents and local businesses.


De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a community member
Great school at which to sub. I get to see all the wonderful teachers and how hard they work to make education meaningful for their students.

De Portola Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school. always traying to get the best score from their students. Good teacher and Principal.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

De Portola Elementary School
27031 Preciados Drive, Mission Viejo, CA  92691
(949) 586-5830
Last modified De Portola Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
De Portola Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top