Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


De Portola Elementary School 4

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are, with very few exceptions, dedicated to the craft of teaching and very effective educators. The new principal (Gomez, 2015-2016 school year), however, is a disappointment and the sole reason why I give this school four stars instead of five. He refuses to mete out discipline, which has resulted in dangerous conditions on the playground. My child and her friends feel uncomfortable at recess because of the principal's failure to properly monitor the playground. His daily public address announcements are distracting at best and border on inappropriate at worst. His emails are riddled with grammatical and spelling errors. Embarrassingly, so is his bio on the school’s web page (presumably he’ll fix that if he ever reads this comment). And in a student-produced video, he actually said that he does not like to read books. I hope he does not inflict permanent damage to the school's quality of education or otherwise sterling reputation.

De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are very dedicated and go the extra mile if parents reach out them. Dr. Gomez is doing a great job as the new principle of the school. Both my kids love the school.


De Portola Elementary School 1

Posted June 11, 2015
- a community member
I can't stand De Portola Elementary. Where are the qualified teachers? Only a few are decent and that's all I can say. This school is horrible.

De Portola Elementary School 2

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Many of the positive reviews were based off the old leadership that has since retired. De Portola has the potential to be an amazing school again but is sadly being held back by incredibly bad leadership that has no concern for the well being of the children of the school. The test scores are great, many of the teachers are good (not all), but the leadership is literally ruining the once amazing community feel. PTA gets no support from leadership, parents concerns are ignored, and the feeling that this school is more than just an 8-3pm job is missing. I hope that in the future, as new leadership comes in, the school will go back to its glory years and thrive in our small community.

De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
Our experience has been very positive at this school. We look forward to sending our second child here next year.


De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Great wonderful teachers-the academic GATE classes really push higher thinking and give students a faster learning pace. Coming from private school we are thrilled with the higher quality of this school. What the reviewer below is mistaken about is that a similar school with the same demographics actually scores lower-it would get a score of 4 compared to the 9 score that de Portola scored. So it shows that we are an excellent school with excellent teachers! The only thing I agree with is the apathy of the principal in making it an even stronger school...with all the wonderful bright GATE students the possibilities to make the school shine are endless.

De Portola Elementary School 1

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is decidedly lackluster. The Principal is distant and lacks any desire to manifest change. Their test scores are falling, and their same schools rank is a 4, which means they do a below average job of teaching to their population. Their office staff is unhelpful to the point of being rude.

De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
I agree that while GATE may have been different the rest of the school is still great as the teachers are so top notch so we have not been affected as we are not in any special Ed program and my kid is thriving and happy!


De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter transferred to this school in the beginning of 3rd grade, too late to be tested for GATE for that year. She thrived in GATE during her 4th grade year earning top honors throughout the year. Transferring from Anneliese Academy, a small private school, to de Portola was the best decision we've made for her education and sociological development. I'm proud to have my daughter at de Portola and I'm grateful for the opportunities she's been given.

De Portola Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2011
- a parent
We have 2 children at this school and it is fabulous. The GATE program really brings the whole school up a notch. de Portola is a GATE magnet school, so that means it draws in the top learners to come to the GATE classes. This means the high achieving students, both those in GATE and those that are not in the program, challenge each other. Our school is more diverse than many and still very high, so all learners grow here. The kids are nice, they have a beautiful garden program, and there is a TON of art, dance, plays, etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

De Portola Elementary School
27031 Preciados Drive, Mission Viejo, CA  92691-5214
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (949) 586-5830
Last modified De Portola Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top