Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Los Alisos Intermediate School

Public | 7-8 | 870 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

This school is a big disappointment , the students are pretty intimidating sometimes and all but we rarely learn anything in class. People were noisy and the teachers are just trying to shut them up for the whole time. The class is really behind in every subject I have. Some students get bullied because of their race or religion especially Asians and Muslims. And other students brag about things that they shouldn't brag about, like the usage of drug and alcohol.and for some reason once someone pulled the fire alarm for an unknown reason and we missed most of that period. I don't recommend this school since I want to move back myself and the police often goes to check our school to catch those troublemakers.


Posted March 4, 2014

This is a great school, I think you should take your child here over lapaz which is too overhyped,this is a great school with a awesome principal


Posted October 6, 2013

Los Alisos destroyed me. In other words, it ripped out my soul and tore it into pieces, before shoving it back in and sending me off to high school. I came as a bright, happy 7th grader. I left with severe depression and social anxiety. Not only was the curriculum uninteresting and taught me nothing, but there was bullying and an overall judgmental attitude that the teachers did nothing about. I came to the principal several times because of the teasing, but absolutely nothing was done, and my tormentors got away with it easily. I hated going to school, and I did not feel safe there at all. I dreaded each and every day, and even had to leave the classroom several times as the relentless teasing drove me to the edge. I would not recommend this school, especially not if you seek a welcoming and nurturing environment for your child.


Posted August 1, 2013

Los Alisos Intermediate School is a nurturing location that allows young teenagers a place to learn, make mistakes, and begin their early stages of puberty in a safe and warm environment. The teachers are engaging and caring, providing guidance with firmness and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

I was very satisfied with the education this school provided for my son. The honors program is outstanding and is a great foundation for transitioning into high school as proven by my son's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

This is a great school. Teachers are well credentialed and the honor programs are advanced. Both my children went to this school and are now well grounded in high school. Music program is under great leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

I am very satisfied with this school, it has very good education, especially the honors classes are very advanced, no fighting, bullying, & peer pressure. This is my daughter's first year here and is proud to be a lobo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

I am very dissapointed with this school. The teachers need to be more patient with the students and understand their needs. The school does have good honnors classes but the teachers and staff are very stuck up. I would like to have my go to la Paz since it has better reviews and is a really great learning environment for my child. Sorry Los alisos
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

My son has done so well at Los Alisos, he's entering the 8th grade. The principal and vice principal are caring and hard working. They show up to every school event and if they are hard on the students is because the students might need someone to be strick with them other then the parents. Love The Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

The principal of this school is the biggest jerk you could ever meet. He is completely out of touch with today's youth and much of the time acts as if he is suffering from a hangover. He yells at the staff in front of the students and groups gang members together in classes where students would be better off in separate classes. Good teachers leave this school each year due to the biased principal and his bullying attitude. This principal is a waste of taxpayer dollars and a poor example for our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

I love this school and all of its programs. The teachers are good and I have learned so much!!!


Posted May 1, 2007

My son is in 7th grade and in Honors classes. Los Alisos is one of only 2 middle schools in the district that have full day Honors classes. My son is challenged. There are a few after-school programs, but that is what public schools offer these days. Jazz band and sports such as track are examples of what is at Los Alisos. PTO is weak, but parents can be very involved with their child's education. Grades are posted regularly, I check weekly, and teachers answer emails in a timely manner, usually within hours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but our seventh grader needs accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available. Its outstanding music program dramatically deteriorated while my child was here, so that it is at best mediocre currently. It has therefore given none of the advantages of a huge school, with all of the disadvantages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

My daughter is attending this school. She is so proud of this school that makes me so proud of her. She is a straight a student and has a wonderful music teacher. Great job everyone. Keep doing what you have been doing. You are great. Payam Raouf
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

This school provides a student a good base to be succesful in high school. The ability to always contact the teachers through e-mail is priceless!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2005

I am impressed with this school. Both of my children have been going since Kindergarten. Great principal and many teachers are great quality teachers too. I recommend pre-interviewing teachers to find one you believe would be a good fit with your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I am not happy with the school. I feel that they need to provide more training for the teachers as far as their attitude toward the children when they need more attention in learning. I feel that the teachers need to be more patient and uderstand that they are just kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

865

Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

865

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
37%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females75%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability41%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate66%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students60%
Females64%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate66%
Parent education - declined to state45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students95%
Females97%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate94%
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females70%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state60%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students61%
Females59%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate51%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state65%

Geometry

All Students96%
Femalesn/a
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students69%
Females65%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state56%

Science

All Students77%
Females76%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate66%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 53%
White 32%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/AN/A
English language learners 23%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bill Hinds
Fax number
  • (949) 472-3968

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Swimming
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25171 Moor Avenue
Mission Viejo, CA 92691
Phone: (949) 830-9700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


K12
Mission Viejo, CA



Silverleaf Academy of Arts
Mission Viejo, CA


Del Cerro Elementary School
Mission Viejo, CA


Fusion Academy
Mission Viejo, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT