Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Mission Viejo, CA
Students enrolled: 2,551

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mission Viejo High School 1

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
Mission Viejo High is well known for its great sports programs, especially football. Unfortunately their academic achievement is far from where it should be. We had a less than stellar experience when it came to getting more help from teachers and good communication with Mission. Even the assistant principal admitted they could not force teachers to come before school or stay after because it wasn't in their "contract". Guidance was horrible too. We have since moved to the East coast where the public schools are much better and we get the help we need. If you are going to this school you better be prepared to be proactive in your students academics because they won't do a thing to help you.

Mission Viejo High School 1

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
Not only is there a dispute with the district and teachers regarding their salaries, several players were recently removed from the varsity football team for their poor grades just before entering the CIF playoffs. All of the students, sports and clubs at the school are being negatively impacted by this dispute and frankly it will not be tolerated much longer by the community. Teachers, get your act together and step up to the academic reputation that is MVHS.
3 people found this helpful


Mission Viejo High School 1

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
There seem to be salary disputes going on in the district. As a result, some of the teachers are beginning to refuse to post grades and issue college recommendations, effectively holding the futures of their college-bound students hostage. The kids deserve more from their teachers and the district.
2 people found this helpful

Mission Viejo High School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Mission is truly a great school. It has the strongest selection of highly acclaimed programs in Orange County like the IB program, the Agriculture Program, Athletic Program, Performing Arts Program, and Model United Nations program. There are great opportunities for students to get involved and receive some amazing training and experiences in these outstanding areas. Also - the teaching staff in general is very supportive, communicates well with parents, and works well with students who are having problems.

Mission Viejo High School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Our family has had the most amazing 'ride' while at MVHS. The education has been over the top impressive, the teachers and administration first class, the people we have met along the way, priceless. Our kids have made life long friendships. Our kids have gone on to major Colleges with confidence and pride. We are so grateful. Thank you MVHS for everything! Truly an outstanding institution! A+!!


Mission Viejo High School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
While everything looks like a pretty package on the outside with the great sports programs etc, the reality is this school is just like all the other public high schools in Orange County. Average. We had very little support from teachers as well as guidance counselors this year, only getting important information about our students progress when it was too late to do anything about it. There was little if any response from guidance when asking for help and administration just shrugs and says "there is nothing we can do they are on contract" There is no excuse for this when its taxpayer money going in to these schools. Teachers should be expected to stay after school and help struggling students instead of parents having to hire expensive tutors to get them by. Enough with the excuses! All students deserve the best teachers in the classrooms each and every year and this is not happening. Not even at Mission. There are great reviews from students and parents of AP/IB students but the reality is this is a small percentage of the actual graduating class. Teachers keep doing the same things expecting great results but the reality is, test scores don't lie!
2 people found this helpful

Mission Viejo High School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Both my kids have gone or are going to this school. It's been great school.

Mission Viejo High School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
I moved to Mission Viejo just so my children could go to this school. For a public school it has an amazing number, and variety of activities, and programs. There is literally something for everyone. MVHS has a fantastic music program. It has an impressive academic record and was the first public high school in the region to offer an IB program. My son is a sophomore now and my daughter is a senior and not a day has gone by that I regret sending them to this school and they love it as well.


Mission Viejo High School 2

Posted November 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mission Viejo High School 0
no rating

Posted August 09, 2009
- a student
at this high school i have some advise if your going to go here: being your self is the worst advice i can give you. be fake and ull fit it like the crown jewels.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Viejo High School
25025 Chrisanta Drive, Mission Viejo, CA  92691
(949) 837-7722
Last modified Mission Viejo High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mission Viejo High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top