Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mission Viejo High School 1

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
Mission Viejo High is well known for its great sports programs, especially football. Unfortunately their academic achievement is far from where it should be. We had a less than stellar experience when it came to getting more help from teachers and good communication with Mission. Even the assistant principal admitted they could not force teachers to come before school or stay after because it wasn't in their "contract". Guidance was horrible too. We have since moved to the East coast where the public schools are much better and we get the help we need. If you are going to this school you better be prepared to be proactive in your students academics because they won't do a thing to help you.

Mission Viejo High School 1

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
Not only is there a dispute with the district and teachers regarding their salaries, several players were recently removed from the varsity football team for their poor grades just before entering the CIF playoffs. All of the students, sports and clubs at the school are being negatively impacted by this dispute and frankly it will not be tolerated much longer by the community. Teachers, get your act together and step up to the academic reputation that is MVHS.


Mission Viejo High School 1

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
There seem to be salary disputes going on in the district. As a result, some of the teachers are beginning to refuse to post grades and issue college recommendations, effectively holding the futures of their college-bound students hostage. The kids deserve more from their teachers and the district.

Mission Viejo High School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Mission is truly a great school. It has the strongest selection of highly acclaimed programs in Orange County like the IB program, the Agriculture Program, Athletic Program, Performing Arts Program, and Model United Nations program. There are great opportunities for students to get involved and receive some amazing training and experiences in these outstanding areas. Also - the teaching staff in general is very supportive, communicates well with parents, and works well with students who are having problems.

Mission Viejo High School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Our family has had the most amazing 'ride' while at MVHS. The education has been over the top impressive, the teachers and administration first class, the people we have met along the way, priceless. Our kids have made life long friendships. Our kids have gone on to major Colleges with confidence and pride. We are so grateful. Thank you MVHS for everything! Truly an outstanding institution! A+!!


Mission Viejo High School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
While everything looks like a pretty package on the outside with the great sports programs etc, the reality is this school is just like all the other public high schools in Orange County. Average. We had very little support from teachers as well as guidance counselors this year, only getting important information about our students progress when it was too late to do anything about it. There was little if any response from guidance when asking for help and administration just shrugs and says "there is nothing we can do they are on contract" There is no excuse for this when its taxpayer money going in to these schools. Teachers should be expected to stay after school and help struggling students instead of parents having to hire expensive tutors to get them by. Enough with the excuses! All students deserve the best teachers in the classrooms each and every year and this is not happening. Not even at Mission. There are great reviews from students and parents of AP/IB students but the reality is this is a small percentage of the actual graduating class. Teachers keep doing the same things expecting great results but the reality is, test scores don't lie!

Mission Viejo High School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Both my kids have gone or are going to this school. It's been great school.

Mission Viejo High School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
I moved to Mission Viejo just so my children could go to this school. For a public school it has an amazing number, and variety of activities, and programs. There is literally something for everyone. MVHS has a fantastic music program. It has an impressive academic record and was the first public high school in the region to offer an IB program. My son is a sophomore now and my daughter is a senior and not a day has gone by that I regret sending them to this school and they love it as well.


Mission Viejo High School
no rating

Posted August 09, 2009
- a student
at this high school i have some advise if your going to go here: being your self is the worst advice i can give you. be fake and ull fit it like the crown jewels.

Mission Viejo High School 4

Posted July 18, 2008
- a parent
A great public high school for academics, sports, extracurricular activities. There is positive pressure to succeed and the counselors do a good job of keeping the students on track with the right mix of classes. As with many public schools, it is caught up in the State of CA budget crisis, which can impact the breadth of classes/programs offered.

Nearby schools

Mission Viejo High School
25025 Chrisanta Drive, Mission Viejo, CA  92691-5326
(949) 837-7722
Last modified Mission Viejo High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top