Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montevideo Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Mission Viejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

My rating isn't indicative of the school specifically but rather the horrible district the school is a part of. The school, teachers, principal and psychologist seem awesome, but their hands are tied by the lack of resources and support from the district. My son will not be ready for his next grade, but there isn't anyone can do about it because that's not the goal. The goal is to make them (current) grade appropriate, not actually be appropriate when they reach the next grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

We love this school! We were able to transfer into this school and it is the best thing to happen to our son. The new principal is wonderful, caring, supportive and REAL. The teacher they chose for our son is PERFECT. The classrooms are big and feel open, airy and yet colorful. Everyone is friendly and the PTA is extremely active. They actually have their own little TV station and everything. We love it so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

The PTA does a great job and everyone involved in it is very dedicated to the cause. We all wish the best for our children and PTA does a great job of bringing us together with their afterschool activities. All teachers and staff are nice and do their best. I agree that some are more dedicated than others. I think they all are overworked and underpaid. I have to mention that behavioral issues start at home. It is a combined effort, but most loud and out of control kids are thought to be that way at home not at school. I do agree that some teachers are more passionate about kids than others. The principal is new so we do not know much about her. The only difference I see this year is that all of a sudden the schedules are messed up. NO HALLOWEEN? Antoher event was scheduled on that day??? Kids have to wear red on the school picture day? So, most student's pictures are going to be in red and as if they were in uniform?? ..Looks like everything is rushed this year. It is not organized and sounds like everything was put together last minute without much care or thought put in to it. Hope they get organized soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

Montevideo Elementary school is litterly the most best school in the world!!! I'm serious right now...we have the most nices teachers ever and students there are sooooo nice but the princible is amazing I am so happy to go to this school I wish it was a senior school to so I could go there we usually have a lot of things planned at our school like book fairs and raffles and that is supporting us students more than every we have new students come every year cause the parents think its a cheap and easy school I totally think my school deserves the money and I'm not just saying that I really really mean it it would help our school out a lot like. :More and newer computers :More playground supplies :More items for the teach kids and way me cool things so please please please with a cherry on top please donate our school money and we'll be happy way more than we already are!!


Posted September 30, 2012

I did not find my child's 1st grade teacher to be effective. The classroom lacked management so the noise level was high causing a less then desirable learning environment. Add to this, this 'burnt out' teacher said very inappropriate things, one example: she discussed which students were being retained with the class. Now we are in 2nd grade, and I feel we will have the same experience--another mediocre teacher who should retire, lacking the ability to manage effectively and create an optimal learning environment. I appreciate the PTA and parent involvement here and I chose this school because I had heard great things about it, but with the teachers, it's really 'hit or miss'. They do have great teachers here, so I've heard, but I have yet to exeperience them first hand. My bad luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

I love the parent & PTA direct involvement. The programs really enrich the students creativity. The school has a wonderful Autism specific program on site & they are my HEROS. Students take great ownership of the school & participate in enriching other kids lives like PEER Buddies (These kids ROCK). Montevideo is simply AMAZING
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The teachers, staff, PTA and parents truly have the best interests of the students in mind and heart. They all work together to keep the school running smoothly and all students needs met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

This is our third year here and I am so pleased. The community of parents are genuinely invested in the school's programs, and the new principal, who has now on his second year, is approachable and very dedicated. Being a teacher myself, I am so pleased with Montevideo's small school feel. The students matter and can feel safe and confident in their surroundings. I feel blessed to have found such a nice school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

Two of my children have attended Montevideo, in all I've been a part of this school for the last 8 years. I am grateful for the wonderful teachers that dedicate their time and much more to ensure that our children receive a top quality education. Certainly I believe that in the case of our Principal, there could be some improvement to his approachability and receptiveness to ensure that children are in a safe environment that promotes learning based on individual needs. The teachers, parents and children make the school the best that it can be! Our community is lucky to have such a great school in Mission Viejo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

The principal may be visible around the school, but that doesn't mean he's doing his job well. The teachers are afraid to approach him with any concerns, scheduling a meeting with him is nearly impossible due to the unfriendly and unhelpful front desk staff, and he smirks at parents! My children are receiving a decent education, but I don't feel there is anything particularly outstanding about this school, other than the amount of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Since there hasn't been a review in a while, I thought I should write one. We have a new principal this year and he is fabulous! He's visible around school all day every day and knows the children by name. He has made this year at Montevideo even better than the previous three. I have a 1st and 3rd grader and they love school! It is a welcoming environment and the school is enhanced by a strong and committed PTA and parent volunteer base. My children feel safe and loved at school and look forward to going! I couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This is our 3rd. year at Montevideo and so far it's been okay. We had a great 1st year, the teacher was so nice and great with my son. This year so far so good. This teacher is very nice and treats everyone with respect and has been very good to my child. All in all I I do like the school and the programs are great. If you volunteer your treated better then the rest, it's unfair for the parents who can't. I do wish that would change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

This is our third year at Montevideo and we couldn't be happier. Both my children now attend (K and 2nd) and are excited to go to school. Not only are the teachers motivated to teach and to make learning exciting but they make the time to know everyone and offer that welcoming smile around the school. The parent involvement in Huge! You would be hard pressed not to find at least one helper per class during some part of the day. Montevideo's PTA works very hard to provide free family geared events every month and raise much needed money for our school due to district budget cuts. Our PTA has provided Meet the Masters, a Science Lab and a lunch time activity called 'Half Time Happenings'. I love this school and so do my kids! Montevideo Mountaineers - We Rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I am the Mother of 2 bright children at this school.The Principal has not been available for me on many occassions.I try to help out in classes as much as possible, but I do work outside the home.Parents do volunteer. But what goes on in the classrooms -should stay in the classroom. Not discussed at the pick up,crosswalk,park,nearby grocery store, etc.Concerns have been brought up to the office with no results accomplished thus far. So I believe we as Parents-volunteers should be required to sign a waiver of confidentiality to ensure that while volunteering, the children's class scores, struggles,achievements,discipline problems are kept private. Maybe it would put a stop to this. Also, we as parents/volunteers should be limited in what we do to help the teacher's & students in the classrooms. No testing of the students. We are not the teachers. I know this is done in many classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

We've been apart of Montevideo now, for 4 years. I am so impressed w/the teachers, and the principal. The PTA has some strong parents who devote endless hours to make our school a better place for our children. We have new programs, science, meet the masters, music, etc that benefits all our children. I'm proud my children are apart of such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

This is our daughter's 3rd year at Montevideo, and so far, it has been a positive experience for our entire family. As other parents have stated, the school is in desperate need of upgrading, but construction is underway this year and the changes that have been announced look great. We have found the principal to be extremely helpful, but you do have to approach him. Every concern we have brought to his attention has been addressed and corrected. We have had two very good teachers and one mediocre. Not too bad, for a public school. Academics are definitely stressed. Test scores are good. Parent involvement is extremely high. On any given day, the number of parents outnumber the staff of the school! One negative: the parents can be very superficial and catty, but that's not surprising, as this is Orange County. All in all, a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

This is our sons 3rd year at Montevideo, his 3rd year without complaints. The teachers are caring and the campus is safe and secure for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

I am not impressed with this school at all. Unfortunately, the school is dated and run down and that's just what you see on the outside. On the inside you'll find a multi-purpose room that serves many purposes such as a multi-media room/library/assembly area. Next to the multi-purpose room resides the 'Queen' aka the office manager who is the rudest woman I have ever met and should not be working anywhere around children. The teachers at this school are the only redeeming quality but unfortunately, there a lot of undesirable teachers who have been teaching for 25+ years that the school can't retire. Overall, this school gets a BIG thumbs down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

My daughter is a kindergarten student at Montevideo this year and I have been favorably impressed with the school. The curriculum is much more demanding than it was when I was in kindergarten and that, combined with the short attention span typical for children this age, makes the teacher s job especially challenging. However, my daughter s teacher does an excellent job of keeping the childrens minds engaged.(I do believe this school, like all other public schools in the state, could really use a bigger budget. That matter also requires parental involvement in the form of voting for budget initiatives.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2003

After only being a Montevideo parent for 3 months, I am not highly impressed. The school lacks in communication with the parents, which is a key component to making a school successful. Fliers and notices regarding special events go home too late to sign up for acitvities or after they have already happened. Teachers should not be sharing contracts at the kindergarten level either. There is too much confusion for the children, especially when there is no consistency with the teachers. One kindergarten teacher, whom I will not mention, can not even manage to pick up her students on time. I think this is very unprofessional and sets a bad example for the students. During back to school night when asked how the students would be challenged or if the curriculum would be modified for higher achieving students, the teacher practically laughed at my question and replied that the curriculum wouldn't be modified but they would be challenged. If the education the high and low students are receiving is the same, how can the higher students really be cahllenged? In summary, I will wait out this year and challenge my child on my own, hoping for a better year in first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

868

Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

868

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females68%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students73%
Females74%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females50%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females66%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate63%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females79%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females66%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females68%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students51%
Females39%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino18%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students78%
Females74%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females82%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females79%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 26%
Two or more races 9%
Asian 6%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
English language learners 12%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24071 Carrillo Drive
Mission Viejo, CA 92691
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 586-8050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Castille Elementary School
Mission Viejo, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT