Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montevideo Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
We feel so blessed to be a part of Montevideo community. Mrs. Montgomery, our principle, is passionate about making our school one of the best schools around. She is conscientious about school's safety, kids working hard and being respectful and kind. Both of my boys have wonderful teachers that care of about their children and teach the children to their best ability. Our PTA is AWESOME! My second grader constantly comments about how he enjoys "Meet the Masters" and learning about different types of art. This cannot be possible without our PTA. They do so much to make art, music and technology available for our children. Parent/teacher involvement is phenomenal!

Montevideo Elementary School 4

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
We are blessed to be a part of the Montevideo community. Mrs. Montgomery, our principle, is conscientious about school's safety, working hard and being kind and respectful towards each other. She's super involved in the events happening at our school. Both of my boys have sweet, hard-working teachers that care about their children. Our PTA is PHENOMENAL! My second grader often comments about how much he enjoys attending and learning about art at "Meet the Masters". Both of my boys enjoy attending all the school functions like the movie night, restaurant night, Class Act, etc. Montevideo Rocks!


Montevideo Elementary School 4

Posted October 07, 2015
- a student
I love our school!! I have two boys and we have been at Montevideo for 6 years now. The Montevideo families make this school feel like home away from home! The teachers don't just go through the motions, they actually care about who your child is and want them to succeed as individuals. The principal, Mrs. Montgomery, is real. Her rules are WORK HARD, and BE KIND. She demonstrates a firm, but loving approach with the children, and she is fun! At Montevideo success is measured by individual growth, not just by comparing to the student next to you. Students at Montevideo are taught integrity, and character building, and a sense of community that will help them throughout their lifetime. We are so blessed to be a part of this school community. We have been fortunate to have teachers that really 'got' our kids and help them be their best selves and advance academically. The PTA is amazing and they organize & fund many family fun events for our children. Many parents whether they work, or stay home, are very involved at school and everyone works together help our children. Montevideo feels like a community of family. Can't say enough about our little village at Montevideo.

Montevideo Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
We have been lucky to have 2 amazing teachers at Montivideo. They have been so different but have really learned how to help our daughter be the best she can be

Montevideo Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Not only do the teachers and staff treat our children with loving hands, but they instill compassion and caring in our kids with programs like the Buddy program with kids in the SDC classes. These teachers are amazing leaders when they help our young ones learn to interact with their peers who may have different abilities. At an age where making friends is so hard and can be made harder with life circumstances the staff at Montivideo really give our students the tools to be compassionate, caring humans.


Montevideo Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
We love this school! It has the best sense of community ever! My daughter has thrived socially and academically. Mrs. Montgomery, the principal, has created a community among the students,teachers,and parents where we can all come together with ideas or questions about the school and programs, and really feel like we will get an answer. She makes herself available to each and every person and brings families together at Montivideo. This school has been a wonderful change for is and we couldn't be happier.

Montevideo Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
We love this school! The Principal, teachers and staff genuinely care about the students and families. Mrs. Montgomery is involved, approachable and has done a wonderful job making our school safe. The PTA is very involved and helps raise funds to support our students and staff. We are proud to be part of the Montevideo family!

Montevideo Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
The teachers all join the PTA and most attend the monthly meetings! They are a great support to our students preparing them for success!


Montevideo Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
We love our school, our principal (Mrs. Montgomery), our teachers and our fellow parents. While Montevideo offers challenging academics, the teachers do more than teach how to take tests. They challenge our kids to think, solve problems, and be good citizens. They are committed to instilling character of working hard and being kind to one another. Montevideo is more than just a school, it is our little village, an extension of our family. As parents, we support and encourage each other, the teachers, and the other children. The PTA is VERY active and everyone feels a responsibility to help make our school even better. While some people can give more time than others, we have very high PTA membership support. The PTA helps fund a ton of great programs like an enriched music and art program, our own little TV station, and Chromebooks. What you won't find here is pretentiousness or classism. What you will find here, are great teachers and staff who GENUINELY care about your child, and fellow parents who are compassionate, supportive, and committed.

Montevideo Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The PTA does a great job and everyone involved in it is very dedicated to the cause. We all wish the best for our children and PTA does a great job of bringing us together with their afterschool activities. All teachers and staff are nice and do their best. I agree that some are more dedicated than others. I think they all are overworked and underpaid. I have to mention that behavioral issues start at home. It is a combined effort, but most loud and out of control kids are thought to be that way at home not at school. I do agree that some teachers are more passionate about kids than others. The principal is new so we do not know much about her. The only difference I see this year is that all of a sudden the schedules are messed up. NO HALLOWEEN? Antoher event was scheduled on that day??? Kids have to wear red on the school picture day? So, most student's pictures are going to be in red and as if they were in uniform?? ..Looks like everything is rushed this year. It is not organized and sounds like everything was put together last minute without much care or thought put in to it. Hope they get organized soon.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montevideo Elementary School
24071 Carrillo Drive, Mission Viejo, CA  92691-4222
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (949) 586-8050
Last modified Montevideo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top