Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Big Valley Christian

Private | K-12 | 627 students

 
 

Living in Modesto

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

My children have been attending this school since preschool. We often get asked why we continue to pay tuition for elementary school and we couldn't imagine our children in a more loving and academically- rich environment. The teachers are beyond comparison and you couldn't even dream of a better Kindergarten experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Our family relocated from another state in 2011. BVCS has gone above and beyond to accomodate our family and our daughter. We are blessed to be part of such an amazing and Christ centered school. Bobby Kirchner and Michelle Mott have always been stellar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

My son has attended BVCS since preschool and is now going into 5th grade. The quality of this school has beyond exceeded my expectations. The principal is always present and truly knows each and every student by name and has a personal relationship with them. The teaching staff has a vested interest in my child and are always willing to help above and beyond the job description. My son has been challenged academically, morally and spiritually every day of his education there. The staff continually strives to listen to parents and involve them in the decisions of what to improve on in our school. That is something you can't get at a public school! As parents we are encouraged to take a roll in how our child is educated. We have not had a single disappointment with a teacher or program in the 7 years of attendance there. I cannot imagine going anywhere else! New families are always welcomed and even set up with a current Big Valley family to help them get acclimated to the school. We highly recommend Big Valley Christian School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

Excellent school. I have two boys who attend Big Valley Christian School. The teachers are encouraging, well educated, and most of all, they challenge the kids academically! Most of the students are in the Accelerated Reading Program, some start as early as Kindergarten! Another positive note, most parents are very involved in their children's education at Big Valley...higher parent involvement means higher test scores. Plus, I like the fact that the elementary principle, Mrs. Mott is VERY hands on, detail oriented , and that she can be reached easily via email. Overall, I am very pleased with the school, and their academic enrichment programs...I couldn't ask for anything more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

We have three children that attend Big Valley and have at one time or another been in preschool, elementary, junior high and high school. Our children have grown and developed spiritually and have been challenged by the academic program as evidenced by test scores and benchmarks. We are thankful for the relationships that the teachers develop as they personally invest in our children. Our children have had an enriching school experience through clubs, sports and fine arts/drama. The climate of continual school improvement is evident and parents are encouraged to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

BVCS is a great school. Our child has attended it for six years. The teachers each year have been great...both as educators and Christian role models. The school administration has worked hard to maintain a quality program during difficult economic times. Tuition increases have been very low the past three years. In terms of academics...our child consistently lands in the top 5% nationally each year thanks in large part to the excellent teachers at BVCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

I honestly don't like this school. I want to leave it. There's a lot of drama at this school, and the teachers were to fast.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2009

I couldn't stand this school. It wasn't the dress apparel that bothered me. It was the learning curriculum and the students that bothered me. Some of the teachers were way too fast for me to actually keep up with the other students. The drama at the school is unnecessary and hypocritical, if you ask me. Students don't treat each other as they should... I just didn't like this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2008

My daughter has attended BGCS for 3 years now and we've had a wonderful experience each year. We've considered relocating out of the area but leaving Big Valley and finding something comparable I'm finding is a challenge. The increasing tuition is definitely a challenge with Big Valley, especially with another child entering Kindergarten soon, but we find the sacrifice for a Christ-centered education is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

My two children have attended Big Valley for the lasts two years. The teachers are fabulous and I know my kids feel loved and encouraged. I couldn't ask for a better school. Big Valley is a place that will challenge your kids academically as well as spiritually!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Unfortunately, Big Valley has very poor leadership from the board and superintendent. Parents are not communicated with openly and honestly and information is not forthright. There are many 'secrets'. If you challenge them in any way, they do not deal with you. Emails are not returned promptly, usually not at all. Quality control of academics is hit and miss. Many teachers have been let go as enrollment is so low - not all due to tuition increase. Families are not happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

Each time I walk through the hallways at this school, I see children and parents smiling and happy to be part of this community. Now that I am more involved, I know that the school board and administration make responsible fiscal decisions for the future of the school. It is too bad that tuition has risen with the struggling economy. May God bless this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

I have 4 children that attend BVCS. So far the school is great. However, tution seems to go up 10-12% each year. I hope the school doesn't 'out price' the average family and it becomes an academy for the wealthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

My daughter has attended Big Valley since 4th grade, my daughter is now a sophomore at Big Valley High School. My husband and I are blessed to have an intelligent, Christ centered daughter. I give some credit to the environment and academics she has had at Big Valley. It has been a hardship financially at times, but we feel the sacrifice is worth it. What are the alternatives, overcrowded public schools where the name of Christ can not be mentioned and the moral values are corrupt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

This school has been a blessing to out children. While it is not perfect (nothing is) it is a very quality education all the way around. Both of my children have excelled here and the spiritual emphasis is every bit as important as the academic. If you want your child to learn in a safe, morally relevant and academic environment, then this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2007

This school is amazing at every level. Coming from another Christian private school, I didn't realize how much my children were missing. This school offers quality education, programs, and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

We have been extremely pleased with BVCS. Having relocated from the Bay Area we searched extensively for the right fit and found it. The school has started a differential teaching program to meet the needs of children at all academic levels, including gifted students. The musical concerts have shown hard work on the part of both our director and each child. They sound beautiful together - 'Salute to America' was fantastic! This school offers excellent leadership in a Christian setting where respect and kindness are taught with the same emphasis and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

The minute I walked in the door at BVCS, I knew it was different. This school puts Christ first, as it should be. My children have had amazing teachers over the past 9 years and the administration is supportive in all aspects. If you want a school that is academic, but Christ centered, then BVCS is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

My children have attended this school for 5 years and overall, I have been very pleased. Unfortunately, the music and library programs have deteriorated over the last few years as the new high school has drawn staff from the elementary level. These growing pains seem to be resolving themselves slowly but surely. Parents are encouraged to be very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

We've had a great experience at this school. The staff is great and provide lots of wonderful learning experiences for the children. The Bible curriculum is terrific and my kids come home with lots of memorized Scriptures. The school administration has bent over backward to work with us in challenging our academically advanced kids. They really do care about each child. The one thing I have recommended to the school is to provide specific services for gifted children; they have responded very well and I have been told that there are plans for 2005-6 school year to implement some type of enrichment program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 11%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Bobby Kirchner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (209) 569-0138

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4040 Tully Road
Modesto, CA 95356
Website: Click here
Phone: (209) 527-3481

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT