Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
627 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Big Valley Christian
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
The principle and teachers and teachers assistants are all awesome with the lil ones and with parents and family. Thank you all for your great work with our kids and grankids :) The Lord has blessed my grandchildren to be a part of this school. Thank you Again, Susan

Big Valley Christian 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
My children have been attending this school since preschool. We often get asked why we continue to pay tuition for elementary school and we couldn't imagine our children in a more loving and academically- rich environment. The teachers are beyond comparison and you couldn't even dream of a better Kindergarten experience.


Big Valley Christian 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
Our family relocated from another state in 2011. BVCS has gone above and beyond to accomodate our family and our daughter. We are blessed to be part of such an amazing and Christ centered school. Bobby Kirchner and Michelle Mott have always been stellar.

Big Valley Christian 5

Posted July 26, 2012
- a parent
My son has attended BVCS since preschool and is now going into 5th grade. The quality of this school has beyond exceeded my expectations. The principal is always present and truly knows each and every student by name and has a personal relationship with them. The teaching staff has a vested interest in my child and are always willing to help above and beyond the job description. My son has been challenged academically, morally and spiritually every day of his education there. The staff continually strives to listen to parents and involve them in the decisions of what to improve on in our school. That is something you can't get at a public school! As parents we are encouraged to take a roll in how our child is educated. We have not had a single disappointment with a teacher or program in the 7 years of attendance there. I cannot imagine going anywhere else! New families are always welcomed and even set up with a current Big Valley family to help them get acclimated to the school. We highly recommend Big Valley Christian School!!!

Big Valley Christian 5

Posted January 08, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school. I have two boys who attend Big Valley Christian School. The teachers are encouraging, well educated, and most of all, they challenge the kids academically! Most of the students are in the Accelerated Reading Program, some start as early as Kindergarten! Another positive note, most parents are very involved in their children's education at Big Valley...higher parent involvement means higher test scores. Plus, I like the fact that the elementary principle, Mrs. Mott is VERY hands on, detail oriented , and that she can be reached easily via email. Overall, I am very pleased with the school, and their academic enrichment programs...I couldn't ask for anything more!


Big Valley Christian 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a parent
We have three children that attend Big Valley and have at one time or another been in preschool, elementary, junior high and high school. Our children have grown and developed spiritually and have been challenged by the academic program as evidenced by test scores and benchmarks. We are thankful for the relationships that the teachers develop as they personally invest in our children. Our children have had an enriching school experience through clubs, sports and fine arts/drama. The climate of continual school improvement is evident and parents are encouraged to be involved.

Big Valley Christian 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
BVCS is a great school. Our child has attended it for six years. The teachers each year have been great...both as educators and Christian role models. The school administration has worked hard to maintain a quality program during difficult economic times. Tuition increases have been very low the past three years. In terms of academics...our child consistently lands in the top 5% nationally each year thanks in large part to the excellent teachers at BVCS.

Big Valley Christian
no rating

Posted August 03, 2009
- a student
I honestly don't like this school. I want to leave it. There's a lot of drama at this school, and the teachers were to fast.


Big Valley Christian
no rating

Posted January 12, 2009
- a student
I couldn't stand this school. It wasn't the dress apparel that bothered me. It was the learning curriculum and the students that bothered me. Some of the teachers were way too fast for me to actually keep up with the other students. The drama at the school is unnecessary and hypocritical, if you ask me. Students don't treat each other as they should... I just didn't like this school.

Big Valley Christian 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has attended BGCS for 3 years now and we've had a wonderful experience each year. We've considered relocating out of the area but leaving Big Valley and finding something comparable I'm finding is a challenge. The increasing tuition is definitely a challenge with Big Valley, especially with another child entering Kindergarten soon, but we find the sacrifice for a Christ-centered education is worth it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Big Valley Christian
4040 Tully Road, Modesto, CA  95356
(209) 527-3481
Last modified Big Valley Christian is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Big Valley Christian Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top