Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
190 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Modesto Christian High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Greg Pearce, Shane Smith, Matt Diehl, Chuck Howell have all done an amazing job righting a ship that had lost its direction. God bless all of these courageous men keeping the Light shinning at MC and for the Modesto community.

Modesto Christian High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers do not spoon feed the kids the information which is a great help to prepare them for their next step to college.


Modesto Christian High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
My son often struggles for hours to get his homework done. Simply on the volume of what is given.

Modesto Christian High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
If there is any doubt, look at their sports programs and the levels of success they have had.

Modesto Christian High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
There are many tools in place to keep the students honest. From the use of Turnitin.com, to disciplinary actions taken for even the slightest infractions of lying, cheating, or plagiarism. The students are held to higher standards as an example of Christ.


Modesto Christian High School 5

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
I had to post something, as I see students and parents bashing a school that they may not have had a positive experience at. My question to them would be, what did you do to address your issues? Did you talk with the admin? Did you talk with the other parents? I know, firsthand, how much this school has changed over the years. If you haven't looked at the school recently, you should. Almost all of the instructors are certified. Many even hold advanced degrees. The athletics are exceptional, as well as the fine arts programs. There are also opportunities for the students to work on robotics and even possibly work on a project that is being sent to the International Space Station. The school is transitioning into a stronger academic program as well with many opportunities for AP level classes. So please, don't just listen to the nay sayers that were here and posted years ago. Much of the staff and admin. have been improved and the student environment is great. Come and See MC!!!

Modesto Christian High School 1

Posted October 16, 2012
- a student
I was a student at MCH for two years. The academics were not at all challenging, and many of the teachers were not certified. In addition, both the students and teachers had poor, narrow-minded, racist attitudes which made the social environment stifling. I was happy to transfer to a public high school which welcomed diversity and promoted higher academic excellence.

Modesto Christian High School
no rating

Posted February 11, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent of a MC student. She started high school at a public school yet we transferred her to MC during her freshman year. Attending MC provided my daughter with more positive role models and caring faculty then we could have dreamed for at a public school. I am convinced that MC is the reason that my daughter is graduating high school with excellent grades and has several options for college. I also want to mention, while MC has great sports programs, my daughter never participated in sports and we never felt this had a negative impact on her education or support from MC faculty.


Modesto Christian High School 1

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
I would not choose this school for your child who is not only academic but a strong Christian. The school only caters to those who are going to excel in sports, which my son didn't , also it promotes Christian values, but students around him would still cuss and even with campus supervisors around. I pulled my son out of this school midway, as I could see him being very unhappy. He has since gone to another school for 2 years and graduated top of his class, and this was a public school! Go Beyer!!!

Modesto Christian High School 5

Posted September 27, 2005
- a parent
Although my children are only in preschool, Modesto Christian Preschool has provided them with the academic foundation to be successful in elementary school. The staff is nurturing and my children love attending.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Modesto Christian High School
5755 Sisk Road, Modesto, CA  95356
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (209) 343-2216
Last modified Modesto Christian High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top