Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Modesto, CA
Students enrolled: 381

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Enslen Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Enslen is a true community school. The teachers spend extra time working hard to meet the needs of a diverse student population. I have two children that have gone through Enslen and both have excelled academically in High School because of what they learned at Enslen. One previous parent mentioned bullying...which has never been an issue with my children. Parents move into the area specifically to have their children attend this great school. The school was once again given the Distinguished School Award in 2013/14. Parents must participate to keep this school strong. This is not a place to drop kids off and not participate in their education. Parents are expected to help keep Enslen a quality school.

Enslen Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a community member
As a grandparent of Enslen students I know this is one of the best schools in Modesto. I ve had the opportunity to know just about every teacher over the years and noted that every teacher and staff member goes above and beyond what is expected. Parents/teachers work together to make sure that students are given opportunities for their success. Teachers for years have planned and arranged field trips; lesson plans were developed so students would learn from these out of classroom experiences. Teachers take personal time away from their families to insure their students have hands-on experiences. I give much credit to the teachers, principals, office staff, and the janitorial staff (who all make sure the students can study in a clean, safe, and inviting environment). The parent participation at Enslen is also something that makes it a great school. Academically Enslen has consistently ranked high and it has been because of the combination of great caring teachers, parents who are involved, administrative staff who cares about the school and each student and who want both students and teachers to succeed; and a local community that is involved with activities at the school.


Enslen Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
There is teacher bullying at this school and has been for years...I have removed two students from this school and ould not recommend it

Enslen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a teacher
I love Enslen school because of the teacher/parent/student combination. Enslen teachers work very hard to provide a well rounded education for each student. The students have the opportunity to excel academically, musically (chorus and strings), socially(character traits and volunteer work)and artistically (PTC provides art instruction by a professional. The parents support the teachers and their students with time and money. The students are proud of their school and enjoy learning. The school, which is 80 years old, is in a residential area lined with trees. It is beautiful. Enslen is an amazing place to spend the school day.

Enslen Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
Enslen is a small school with a great community behind it. The teachers are wonderful and the school admin is actually there for its parents and students. The school is very traditional having many of the same events annually for over 20 years. I have had a great experience having my children attend Enslen, it has been hard to see them graduate to 7th grade!


Enslen Elementary School 2

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Enslen Elementary School 2

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
Enslen is close knit and everyone knows each other. EXTREMELYCliquey and very hit or miss when it comes to teachers.The school desperately needs a school counselor and a gymnasium or auditorium instead of its cafetorium. definitely feel that the quality of education is lacking although because of its small size the expectations are high which is very good.The teachers stress out the kids about star testing which I found distressing also. We had a bad experience with this school.Thank goodness my 2 kids got through it with good grades.If you are not an extremely hands on parent , Enslen will be an absolute nightmare.If your child has any social challenges, once again...good luck.

Enslen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2008
- a parent
While Enslen is sound academically, some of the staff need to represent and encourage ALL of the students, not just those who seem 'disadvantaged' emotionally or economically. It seems that some staff members are only out to discourage the growth of the seemingly well adjusted student, in order to promote whomever they deem disadvantaged. Harsh remarks in the classroom make the environment for the uppergraders a little uncomfortable.


Enslen Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
My son goes to Enslen, and I hope to one day have my other children there also. I love the atmosphere of this school, and yes there are social elite, middle class, and lower class but that is a part of life its all about how you deal with it and teach your children to deal with it. The teachers are great and really care about the children as well as the parents, as do the secretarial staff. There is a lot of parent evolvement with make Enslen such a great place to be.

Enslen Elementary School 2

Posted February 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Enslen Elementary School
515 Coldwell Avenue, Modesto, CA  95354
(209) 576-4701
Last modified Enslen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Enslen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top