Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Loma Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Modesto

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2010

Im a 4yr GATE and 2yr Honor student attending La Loma presently La Loma is a great junior high that has a great principle, great teachers and great programs and is nothing like the past reviews of this school. During 2yrs at La Loma all my teachers have been efficient and quick to getting me answers about my grades and how I can improve it. Although this year was the last year of spanish i hope they bring back the elective back for students in the future. The principal here is great and works with parents who have questions about anything. The programs at La Loma range from a great music program to an excellent yearbook staff and offers many extracurricular activities. The honors program is great with teachers who want students to succeed. For the parents who are concerned about the safety of this school its a very safe environment.


Posted March 11, 2009

La Loma is a good school it has good sports for teens concidering most schools cut sports La loma has dance, softball(girls), boy and girl basketball, girls vollyball and track&feild The only sport we don't have anymore is cheerleading but we look to have it back next year for 2009-2010 school year
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2009

I am a student at La Loma and I find this school very unsatisfactory. The teachers don't explain what they are teaching and do the minimum to get the job done. even when you complain to the office, they don't believe you, and do absolutely nothing about it. They say they they have rules, but don't seem to enforce them as needed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

i went to la Loma and the school is great. i now live in North Carolina. i miss all my teachers, especially Mrs Lima. mariana!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2009

My son had straight As, Until he came here. The teachers aren't very great, They just do what they have to to get the job done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

My daughter is an 8th grader at La Loma,she is very happy,have not problems with teachers and she had improved a lot in the last year,keep it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

My son attended La Loma from 05/06 & 06/07 school years and I was impressed with them. They were understanding and patient with him to say the least. He is ADHD and they understood him and worked hard to assist him in his learning. They didn't allow him to 'use' his condition and worked with him to understand it more. They kept regular contact with me & his dad (we're divorced) on any problem and progress. Because of the dedication of each teacher and administrator he enjoyed going to school even on bad days. I am very grateful to them. Now my youngest one is attending so we'll see how they work with her and she has learning disabilities which other kids don't understand so we'll see how that goes & I'll be back here to share my opinion on that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I think that readers should keep in mind that these postings are OLD! As a teacher at La Loma, I think that most of our staff care very much about our students and try hard to work with them to optimize the learning of all of our students. I strongly encourage all parents to keep in regular contact with their students' teachers (we all have access to email, as well as the telephone). If they are unsatisfied with things, it is important that they voice those concerns appropriately, working first with the teachers and then working with administrators at the site and district level until an understanding is reached. Junior high is an age where students need to take on more responsibility for their actions (homework, etc). Most staff members still try to keep parents apprised of their student's progress on a regular basis throughout the semester.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 23, 2004

The staff and teachers at La Loma Junior High are very unprofessional. They lack compassion for the students and those with learning disabilities. Their answer for children with learning disabilities is that they are lazing and should be held back. The best thing I ever did for my child was to get him out of the care of that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

There is too little caring for the students as developing people. Progress reports get sent two weeks before the end of a quarter and by then there is no hope of getting a student's grade raised. Parents are not contacted in a timely manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2004

If they taught their subjects as much as they pound in the discipline and the rules, the students would test a lot higher. There are way too many rules and regulations to enable a proper learning environment in Modesto City Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2004

I feel that the teachers don't keep in contact with the parents enough to warn them that their child is failing!!They let them know about the warning that they are failing with a letter and then it's to late...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

I am a student at La Loma,and I enjoy this school alot. The teachers are great, and the staff is on top of everything. I wake up excited and ready to go to school and ready to learn. I really like La Loma. The teachers really know how to help us understand.I'm proud to be a Lancer.


Posted August 11, 2003

I am not a parent, but I am a former student from La Loma. I believe that this school is awesome. I never had any problems with any of the teachers there. I mean sure, a couple of the teachers have their personalities, but what school doesn't have a couple of those teachers. It's what made the class intereseting. The extra curriculum activites were great too. The principal was pretty cool too. Besides that's where all my friends went. My sister went there and my little brothers is going to go there too and I wouldn't recommend another school for them to go to.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 8, 2003

When there is a teacher that the students say is a problem... for years.. the staff dosn't listen, they dont believe the children. Even children thru the years have complained but nothing was/is done. And yes my child was embarrassed a few times by teachers in front of classmates leaving the school crying. what kind of message dose that give them? this is suppose to be a transition to move up to high school. quite honestly i think alot of the teachers have job burn out.. time to move on.


Posted May 8, 2003

My daughter likes her school.She has done very well academically during her two years there. I have found that there are some teachers and school staff that like to embarrass students in front of their classmates and peers. Belittling and intimidation seem to be a favorite tactic for them to use. I really wish we had more power as parents to remove teachers from the classroom who are no longer effective in their jobs. I feel they are burnt out and don't know when to quit.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

790

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

790

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
13%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students92%
Females94%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females57%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students31%
Females33%
Males28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only33%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented73%
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate41%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students41%
Females44%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented67%
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females60%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students15%
Females10%
Males19%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino16%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)19%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability10%
Students with no reported disability18%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only17%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate9%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)12%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students93%
Females91%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students47%
Females44%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disability16%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state27%

Science

All Students65%
Females62%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 52%
White 42% 26%
Black 6% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ronna Rutishauser
Fax number
  • (209) 576-4631

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Encina Avenue
Modesto, CA 95354
Phone: (209) 576-4627

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT