Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Modesto, CA
Students enrolled: 2,020
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fred C. Beyer High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
It is absolutely appalling that this school employs a teacher who A) doesn't know the one subject in which she is paid to teach and who has to "relearn" her subject every year even after teaching it for 20 years, therefore if she doesn't know the subject how can she possibly teach it. B) can't teach effectively so as to not even 1 student can get an A in her class, now mind you she only had 10(TEN) students in her class and not a single one was awarded an A. C) who bullies, belittles and puts down students in front of the class, other students and peers and the administrators allow her to continue on with no discipline even after it was brought to their attention. D) who discourages students to follow their dreams and passion in life and who truly believes the only important thing in these students lives should be her class and that the students should not participate in any other clubs, sports, activities or classes. This is the worst school if your child is really smart, takes A/P courses and wants to go on to college...there is no encouragement or support for any of these students. On the other hand if your child want to just skate by with average classes and lolly-gag by all means this is the perfect school for you.

Fred C. Beyer High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
They give more homework than colleges do. They give massive homework during holidays and breaks so the students are not allowed to celebrate the Holidays that are in honor of our service men and women who fought for our freedom and rights in our country....NO family BBQs allowed here on Memorial, Veterans, Labor or any other Nationally acclaimed holidays


Fred C. Beyer High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
When the teachers are allowed to bully the students its not surprising that the students give up and quit instead of developing persistence, grit and determination.

Fred C. Beyer High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
If the teachers do not display respect towards it students then how is respect going to be taught therefore if it is not taught then it is not developed in its students.

Fred C. Beyer High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
This school definitely lacks compassion, caring and empathy in its TEACHERS therefore it lacks developing these traits in its students


Fred C. Beyer High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Teachers have their favorite pets and allow extra credit to their favorites only. Extra credit should be given to all students

Fred C. Beyer High School 2

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
It is absolutely appalling that this school employs a teacher who A) doesn't know the one subject in which she is paid to teach and who has to "relearn" her subject every year even after teaching it for 20 years, therefore if she doesn't know the subject how can she possibly teach it. B) can't teach effectively so as to not even 1 student can get an A in her class, now mind you she only had 10(TEN) students in her class and not a single one was awarded an A. C) who bullies, belittles and puts down students in front of the class, other students and peers and the administrators allow her to continue on with no discipline even after it was brought to their attention. D) who discourages students to follow their dreams and passion in life and who truly believes the only important thing in these students lives should be her class and that the students should not participate in any other clubs, sports, activities or classes. This is the worst school if your child is really smart, takes A/P courses and wants to go on to college...there is no encouragement or support for any of these students. On the other hand if your child want to just skate by with average classes and lolly-gag by all means this is the perfect school for you.

Fred C. Beyer High School 1

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
This school is the worst school any of my children have attended! Bullying is a huge problem, that the teachers look right over. When your child starts to need additional help in any of their classes the teachers do not offer any extra help. The classes are over crowded. Once the vice principals have decided that they do not like your student for any reason, in our case I was a active parent who wanted the best for my child, they did everything in their power to push her out of this school. After the first semester in this poor excuse of a school, I pulled my child out and put her into a different high school. Now she is excelling in all aspects including academics and athletics. DO NOT send your child here!!!!! If I could have rated this zero stars I would.
1 person found this helpful


Fred C. Beyer High School 5

Posted June 02, 2010
- a community member
Want to earn TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS CASH $200?!?!? Sell me your 2009-2010 Beyer High year book! It's okay if it has been signed or written in, so long as it's in good condition! Email diamondtiara AT rocketmail DOT com for CASH!

Fred C. Beyer High School 4

Posted July 24, 2008
- a student
As a former student of Beyer, I think this is one of the best high schools in Modesto. Trying to talk to a counsler is pretty hard and it is a bit crowed, but overall it was the best 4 years of my life. And I also felt really safe during school hours.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fred C. Beyer High School
1717 Sylvan Avenue, Modesto, CA  95355
(209) 576-4311
Last modified Fred C. Beyer High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fred C. Beyer High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top