Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,833 students|Modesto City High
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Peter Johansen High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
As a low-income school, Johansen students often band together to help each other and contribute what they can to a classroom.

Peter Johansen High School 4

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
I graduated from Johansen last year and am now finishing my first year at UCLA. In my experience, a majority of teachers truly cared about students' lives in and out of the classroom and many went out of their way to help struggling students. Of course there are teachers who have burned out, and the CA review process needs serious reform. Extracurricular activities were widely available and welcoming, and the "gang problem" has been highly exaggerated, though should continue to be scrutinized for the sake of student's safety. That being said, administration and campus officials seem strongly biased in allocating punishment based on personal favorites and "problem students" are often pushed to the wayside by counselors who refuse to help them get on track to a CSU/UC even when the student shows incredible determination. Nathan Schar has been an incredible principal, giving freely ans fighting hard for all of Johansen's students, teachers, and programs.


Peter Johansen High School 4

Posted March 01, 2009
- a parent
Unlike the previous poster, I've always had great response from Johansen teachers when I've emailed them -- I usually get a response within an hour and always within the same day. However, I agree that teachers should all use SchoolCenter so parents and students can easily check their grades, and unfortunately only a few teachers use it.

Peter Johansen High School
no rating

Posted February 28, 2009
- a parent
Johansen high school is horrible!! for the last three years I have been trying to contact teachers through their e-mails, and 'server not available' has always come up. I actually drop mail off at the school, and it takes 5 days for a teacher to get back to me!! Teenagers dom't always want to talk to their parents, so I was looking forward to The school center feature to keep me informed about assignments due. AWhat a joke!!! Not one of the teachers have entered anything in that space since october, and that was one teacher, on one day. It is ridiculos!

Peter Johansen High School
no rating

Posted August 25, 2008
- a parent
My daughter changed ever since she's been going to this school. Not in a good way but in a bad way. The staff there have no clue whatsoever on what is going on between students and their peers. This automatically shows how irresponsible it is. I certaintly do not recommend anyone to this school.


Peter Johansen High School 4

Posted May 02, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is a Sophomore this school year (06-07). I would have to say that she has shown tremendous growth since her Freshman year. The staff has contributed to her success in many ways. They have dedicated after school hours, one-on-one tutoring, participated in parent conferences, and are constantly encouraging success in her education. The academic programs are great and there are many extracurricular activities for student involvement. When parents become involved, the school becomes a better place as I have experienced at JHS. Go Vikings!

Peter Johansen High School 4

Posted February 27, 2006
- a student
This was a great school- great music program, many sports (olympic size pool), and wonderful teachers. A GATE program for advanced students as well as special ed program.

Peter Johansen High School 3

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
My son has been there for 2 years now and his grades are impressive compared to middle school. I do feel however that the sports coaches are a little on the discriminative side. They just need to give all of the team a chance, since that is what it is a team!


Peter Johansen High School 5

Posted March 09, 2005
- a student
Even Though Johansen is in a very good location in Modesto, I think that it has one of the worst gang problems in Modesto. There are so many diffrent gangs trying to claim Johansen and so many diffrent types of people who go there that they fight each other all of the time. But besides that the teachers are good. Most of them are really to the students. They will tell you how it is. Johansen has a lot of good opt. for the students. Many diffrent programs to choose from. You can go far from a school like this one if you don't get cought up in all of the stupid gang mess.

Peter Johansen High School 5

Posted March 18, 2004
- a parent
Johansen school has been a great experience. The school appreciates parent involvement. They take very seriously the safety and comfort of my son. They are very helpful and understanding of any problems, going out of their way to be there with help and suggestions. They focus on positive encouragement rather than negative threats, thereby setting kids up for success rather than failure. The teachers are all high quality and the administration is top notch. I couldn't ask for more. Thank you Johansen. SG

Nearby schools

Peter Johansen High School
641 Norseman Drive, Modesto, CA  95357-0405
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (209) 576-4702
Last modified Peter Johansen High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top