Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
its a wonderful school the principal and the teachers are all wonderful and patient with the students. it saddens me to know that we re leaving for another state and be no more a Sherwood parent.. we love this school and the least we could do is write this review

Sherwood Elementary School 3

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
This school used to one of the best back in the day. The principal, Ms. Albert, is way to friendly with certain families, i.e., plays favorites. The test scores are way down. I believe Sherwood is on academic probation. As for the PTC...still clickish and way too controlling to let newcomers have any real responsibility. There are a few good teachers left though and they deserve credit such as Rowe, Gray, Smith and a couple of others.


Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a teacher
Our principal, Ms. Albert, is an amazing leader! She connects with staff, students, and with parents in such a positive way. She encourages collaboration and creative solutions to solve situations and objectives. Our kids LOVE her and her style. So does the staff.

Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a community member
I love sherwood. The principle Ms.Albert and the secretaries Janice and Kelly are my favorite. The PTC are way too perfect, and demands way too much. At lunch they have hoola hoops, basketballs, footballs, soccerballs, volleyballs, and yellow things you use to throw balls similar to lacrosse. Zero tolerance for being physical, lying, cussing, (though there are alot of cussers), and being rude. I love the way the school revolves around discipline. But not too uptight. Great teachers, but I have had my share of teachers hating me. Overall sherwood rocks.

Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
Great school!! Teachers are top notch, and very caring about their students and school. As far as the PTC they can be a bit clickish, but they do wonders for the school.


Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
Sherwood School is a fantastic school with many programs geared to meet the needs of all types students and well-trained teachers who strive to give each child what they need to be successful. Not sure what the author of the May 31, 2007 post is referring to because while there has been prinicipal changes, the teaching staff has remained very stable for the last four to five years. There is a need for more parents to participate and support the school. It always seems to be the same core set of parents doing everything because no one else volunteers. And believe me - they ask for (and beg for) new volunteers ALL the time!

Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
What a wonderful school with lots of support from the staff and parents. They have a wonderful rewards and recognition program that keeps each student striving to be the best they can be. Kids believe in helping each other and working together.

Sherwood Elementary School 3

Posted May 31, 2007
- a parent
This school used to be top notch- but there have been an unusual amount of staff changes and principal changes.


Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2007
- a parent
The staff at Sherwood is wonderful. The teachers are top notch and the office staff is always kind and helpful. My boys have had a wonderful experience and I feel they have had a great start in thier education at Sherwood!

Sherwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 13, 2007
- a parent
The school is great but I agree totally with the PTC comments. I wish others would complain so that parent involvement would be accepted.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sherwood Elementary School
819 Rumble Road, Modesto, CA  95350-2414
(209) 574-5200
Last modified Sherwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sherwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top