Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Monrovia, CA
Students enrolled: 715
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clifton Middle School 1

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
My child is a special education student who needs a little more attention than most he was put in rsp classes and the teachers have no patients what so ever. You would think a special education teacher would be very patient. My son hates going to school at clifton and begs everyday to go to another school. The teachers are rude and have made my son who at one time loved school hate it with a passion!!!! Clifton is a horrible school for children with learning disabilities ........

Clifton Middle School 5

Posted May 28, 2011
- a parent
Clifton is a wonderful middle school. There is something for everyone. The teachers/staff are very supportive. The library is fully stocked and the librarian is the best around. You feel welcomed the moment you step on campus.


Clifton Middle School 2

Posted May 28, 2011
- a parent
My oldest child had a wonderful experience here when Deb Rinder was the principal. Now that Traci Gholar is here, the experience for my youngest is less than stellar. Ms. Gholar has never answered an email. The teachers are focused solely on state test scores. During parent-teacher conference week, it was impossible to see his teachers -- even though he was failing two classes. Why? His state test scores were Advanced, so he wasn't on the list of kids who could be seen.

Clifton Middle School 3

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
My child came to 6th grade at Clifton after going to private elementary school. We tried to register in the spring for the following fall, but were told that they only accept registrations two weeks before school starts. We registered in August, but were told that 2 out of the 3 of the honors subjects our child qualified for were completely full. The Principal never seemed very sympathetic and just said that our child would have to wait until someone dropped out of honors. Be warned if you're thinking of transferring from private school.... you're in the back of the line. You'll only get into honors classes or anything else only if there is space left after the kids that are already there, irrespective of your child's qualifications. Unless they change things to accept new admissions when they do their class planning in the spring, you'll only get into honors if there is already an extra seat.

Clifton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and after school programs are awesome!
1 person found this helpful


Clifton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Clifton Middle School is one of the greatest middle schools in our Monrovia District. The parent involvement and the great teachers help made this possible. I like the participation of the parents and the awesome involvement of our kids.

Clifton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
I love this school because my kids feel safe and they get a great education .

Clifton Middle School 5

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
Traci Golar, the principal, is absolutely outstanding. Leadership starts from the top down, and you can see the results of this new leader already! The support the Clifton provides for students amidst a devastating budget crisis is commendable.


Clifton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
Our girls have been at Clifton for 6 years and it has been a great experience.Wonderful staff and families -- Go Cubs!

Clifton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
Great school that has gone through an incredible rebirth since our oldest started there 7 years ago. The CA Distinguished School award was only the start on the path to giving our kids a great education.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clifton Middle School
226 South Ivy Avenue, Monrovia, CA  91016
(626) 471-2600
Last modified Clifton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clifton Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top