Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Santa Fe Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2014

I go to Santa Fe Middle School and it's the best school I've ever been to. I love the teachers and the students. It's a great school to go to so I recommend that you have your child go to Santa Fe. Go Cougars!!


Posted April 30, 2013

My son will attend Santa Fe next year. I met with the Principal today to get a sense of the school since I want to be an involved parent. He took the time to meet with me, address my questions/concerns regarding Middle School and the transition and even introduced me to the school counselor. I was very impressed and I can't wait for my son to start at Santa Fe in the Fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

My child attends this school and it is horrible. The kids are always rude, and unkind. The learning environment is not well due to the kids behaviors. I rather my son never go to this school. Staff is not all helpful as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

My 6th grade grandson wanted to join the basketball team and he had to try out for it. He did not make it even though he played with a team last year with the recreation department at the YMCA. A child's self-esteem and confidence are affected when they are turned down based on their performance at this young age. They will be afraid to "try out" again for fear of rejection and embarassment. The school office said that if they let everyone that wanted to join they would have a team of 50 players. So what! That would be 50 more children, maybe ,staying out of trouble by keeping busy and building up their self-esteem and confidence. Parents, high school and college students can volunteer to assist the coach when there are that many on a team. The students who aren't as talented can train and practice to develop their skills. They do not all have to be on the starting team; just be a part of a team and wear the shirt. Why not let middle school children join a sports team at this young age and guide them towards a rewarding school experience?


Posted November 24, 2008

I graduated from Santa Fe school back in the late 70's. Now I have my oldest daughter going here and I have a 10 year old in Monroe school who will follow her sister to Santa Fe. Recently my family went through a divorce, and the staff at Santa Fe has been very understanding in regards to my daughter now having two homes and her being on overload. Things now are settling down for us. Thank you Santa Fe staff for your kindness and patience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Santa Fe has always been touted as the bad school but the Principal and Asst have rised above and brought the school to a new level. The scores have gone up, the activities, field trips and sports have gotten better every year. Though some of the staff will not have ANY parent contact, some will go out of thier way. Most have a web site that is up to date with homework and assignments. I am very happy with the education my children have recieved at SF.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

i loved the school very much very fun energetic i was in the school orchestra sadly a very small one but the teacher there taught me disipline acceptance and most of all to enjoy my volin the english teacher ms.labau make me into a better english learner cough cough that that i wasnt good in the first place. The people and staff there is top notch wish i was in 8th grade again
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 11, 2006

Several of the teachers at this school do not seem to care about the students in general. Several of the teachers deal with the children in very belittling ways, Iwould say to anyone if you have an option do not chose this school. There is no follow though with counslers and teachers in reguards to helping the children, and complaints about teachers. Also it seems like there is no comunication between the two. This is the worst school I have ever delt with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

Great school with a great staff. I graduated here in 1976 and both of my children have attended this school. They currently have a great band program. The principal, his staff and PTA are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I believe that this school is the best middle school you can find in the Monrovia School District. My sister and I have graduated from here, and we didn't want to leave this school because it was challenging, fun, and the atmosphere is, for the most part, energetic. My sister and I were also in the Santa Fe Cougars band. There we learned discipline, how to work with others to achieve a similar goal, and also how to have fun while acting appropriately in public. The band, as well as the sports field, is a great place to meet new friends and work together to do something great. Another thing that I like about this school is that there is always a surplus of parental involvement. There are so many parents who want to be a part of their child's school life who come together to make their child's experience all the better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2006

I spoke to the assistant regarding my concerns with long lunch lines and not enough time to eat. Instead she was more concerned about me not living in the school district. She brushed me off, and never got back to me. I was inquiring about lockers for the children. I left several messages. They never returned my call. Overall i am very disappointed...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Santa Fe offers the students outstanding extracurricular opportunities to get involved. The Leadership program, gives the students the ability to take charge of their school. The school atmosphere has improved greatly with the addition of grass in front and between classes, and the rose bushes in front.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

I love Santa Fe. The only thing it needs according to my daughter is a drama club. C'mon Leadership grant that dream for Santa Fe. I beleive it would be a wonderful asset to Santa Fe Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2004

I have been a parent at Santa Fe Middle School for 5 years. My youngest child is an incoming 8th grader at the school. This school is wonderful. The staff is a cohesive unit that provides a challenging curriculum in a nurturing environment. The elective classes - band, advanced band, cooking, computers, Spanish - are first rate and taught by remarkable teachers. The AVID program is first rate and the students have won the County Write Off for 5 years running. The administration is first-rate, and the PTA is very active. I can't think of a better place for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2004

The principal, Mr. Letourneau, is fantastic. He gets things done and is very well respected. There a lot of incredible teachers, to name only a few: Mrs. Labou! Mr. Ellis - terrific band teacher. Mrs. Fields! Mr. Hamill! Mr. Wagner! Mrs. Sparks! Santa Fe is the best Middle School in Monrovia!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

Santa Fe Middle school is one of the greatest schools I've ever seen. Mr. Wagner is one of the greatest science teachers at this school along with english/journalism teacher, Ms. McEntire. Although this school has many good qualities, the extra curicular activities stink. But I am sure that this great school can bounce back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2003

My daughter is involved in a great club called AVID which encourages kids to get organized in the school work and get prepared for college. Last year they visited 3 local colleges on field trips. They also provide tutors for the students other classes. This school also had a great band with a wonderful teacher who instructs them. Go Cougars!!!


Posted June 20, 2003

Great school! Wonderful opportunities for students and for parent involvement. Very caring staff.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

797

Change from
2012 to 2013

-43

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

797

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-43

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
29%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females56%
Males43%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students33%
Females37%
Males29%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disability12%
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only34%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)30%
Parent education - college graduate49%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females56%
Males57%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females54%
Males61%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students57%
Females71%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females70%
Males55%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students18%
Females25%
Males15%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino17%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability22%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only19%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate9%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)22%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students60%
Females63%
Males57%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students74%
Females79%
Males70%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 70%
White 13%
Black 8%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
English language learners 10%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

148 West Duarte Road
Monrovia, CA 91016
Phone: (626) 471-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT