Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Montara, CA
Students enrolled: 397

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Farallone View Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful community school! Nestled on the outskirts of tiny Montara, the school is surrounded by protected land and has a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean from the playground. The teachers are engaged, intelligent, communicative and creative. It struggles with the same issues that all California public schools do. Not enough funds to be all that it could be, but the PTO is so involved that they make up for so much. Check out Ocean's Week, Continent Day, Shakespeare Plays, Jog A thon, etc. Love our school!

Farallone View Elementary School 1

Posted February 20, 2013
- a community member
Not impressed. Suffered for years at this school while they gimped along with no principal and an "onsight facilitator." While it was the district to blame for cutbacks, who runs a school with no principal? Great parent involvement, though. They basically run the school and have for years.


Farallone View Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
I have a son entering 4th grade and daughter entering 1st grade. They absolutely LOVE FV and have thus far had a positive academic and social experience. Despite the financial struggles this school district has faced, this community of parents and teachers have really stepped up to the plate and maintained a quality education.

Farallone View Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school, beautiful location overlooking the Pacific Ocean, in the shadow of Montara Mountain, surrounded by open space and farms. My children have been very fortunate to attend this community school with their friends and neighbors. Children with diverse backgrounds and abilities learn together and play together. Experienced and caring teachers provide challenging, individualized education. The principal oversees the school, with a Site Director handling day to day operations - a new model this year that is working. Parent donations and many dedicated volunteers provide academic and enrichment programs, including hands-on science classes, PE, music, art, school garden, and special events like Oceans Week, Continent Day, literature clubs and so much more. In this era of cuts and neglect, Farallone View flourishes and thrives.

Farallone View Elementary School 4

Posted March 12, 2012
- a parent
I have had children at FV for the past 6 years, and feel so grateful to have such a wonderful community school in our neighborhood. The teachers here are excellent and fully committed. My oldest child is very bright and his teachers have kept him challenged. The parents from all parts of our community are involved, and through donations of both time and money make sure we have enrichment activities like lit clubs, art, music, oceans week, a talent show, and gardening (HEAL), hip hop dance. The assistant superintendent is acting part-time principal and provides great guidance and leadership. Our site director is on campus everyday to provide consistency and day to day oversight. Finally, we have the benefit of the Cabrillo Education Foundation raising money for an endowment to support all of the schools in the district into perpetuity. Next year and for every year to come, we and the other schools in the district will be the direct beneficiary of that fantastic work. I give the school four stars only because it is forced to do a lot with so little money from the state. When CA gets their act together and fully funds our schools again there will be no stopping FV.


Farallone View Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2012
- a parent
What a fantastic school. Both my children have gone through this school, and we would do it again in a heartbeat. Teachers: Excellent & committed staff-totally inclusive of parents. Most teachers have project based learning intermingled with traditional teaching methods.Topics I've seen & experienced are ocean & environmental based themes, theatrical performance (Shakespeare, plays), and others. Principal: We have a part time principal to manage the teaching staff, and a Site director to manage the day to day of students and staff. This is a new format for the school, put in just this year-it seems to be moving in the right direction.PTO:Parents are heavily involved in the school.Weekly communication blasts go out, google discussion groups, facebook have been set up to get the word out on events.The PTO funds the majority of the Enrichment activities at the school, providing the following programs for all K-5 students: weekly music, weekly science (FOSS), monthly Art-in-Action, Gardening (HEAL) for 2-3, Librarian,Classroom Aides for all 4-5 classes, Clerical support for Teachers, plus a host of community events (Oceans Week,Holiday Bazaar,Jogathon,Talent Show,Auction, Art Show).

Farallone View Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
I AM A PARENT OF 3 CHILDREN ALL OF THEM ARE ATTENDING OR HAVE ATTENDED F.V! I LOVE IT! THE TEACHERS ARE GREAT! BECAUSE OF THE DISTRICT CUTS WE DONT HAVE A PRINCIPLE ANYMORE BUT THE HEAD OF THE SCHOOL DISTRICT TAKES TIME OUT OF HER DAY TO COME TO THE SCHOOL AND ACT AS PRINCIPLE AND I FIND THAT AWESOME! THEY HAVE WONDERFUL THINGS LIKE OCEANS WEEK AND CONTINENT DAY! SOME OF THE KIDS ARE BULLYS BUT DONT LET A FEW BAD APPLES RUIN THE BUNCH! ALL IN ALL I LOVE THE SCHOOL!!!!!

Farallone View Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
As a former teacher, I am appalled by the low quality of this school. Parents should be able to talk to the principal at anytime about my concerns. I couldn't even tell you what she looks like. Why? She doesn't even office at this school! It has taken several visits and phone calls and I still haven't talked to this principal. You can talk to other people, but there is no leadership and the students know it. The behavior problems are severe and the discipline policy is non-existent. Please consider the "positive" reviews. They are several years old and obviously much has changed in that amount of time. Budget cuts, staffing changes, etc.


Farallone View Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
Great community, parent involvement, solid leadership and teachers. Excellent communication with all staff. We fully endorse Farallone View!

Farallone View Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2010
- a parent
Though in a beautiful location, this school suffers tremendously from a lack of parent participation due to half the population being bussed in, so the parents do not help. Academics are taught at the lowest common denominator due to high illiteracy and low language comprehension rates. Student behavior is frightening, there are virtually no science or art classes (maybe once in a great while) Disney movies and other videos used a lot in classrooms and for indoor lunches. Ridiculous. The teachers are all wonderful, they are just working in impossible conditions. In my experience, it is a depressing place for a child to spend the day.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Farallone View Elementary School
250 Laconte And Kanoff, Montara, CA  94037
(650) 712-7170
Last modified Farallone View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Farallone View Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top