Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Monterey Park, CA
Students enrolled: 986
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brightwood Elementary School 2

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
This school does not have a solid music, sports, or foreign language programs. The Gifted and Talented program is totally misleading and deceiving. Asian parents are terrified that the new Common Core has been forced upon their children and does not work! The Alhambra Unified School District is one of the mediocre districts in California. Considering California ranks #45 in the nation, the Alhambra Unified School District does not compare to San Jose, Irvine, San Marino, and even Walnut school districts. There are so many Minimum Days and Teacher Work Days where it's impossible to gain any momentum. There is no consistency. The Alhambra Education Fund raises only $350,000 a year as compared to Palos Verdes at $2.0 million and San Marino at $2.0 million. Yes, at Brightwood they ask for school supplies and have fund raisers. Public school education is no longer free. You have no other alternatives because you are not wealthy or in the upper middle class. Therefore, you must send your child or children to this day care center.

Brightwood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
They just want to go home with their paycheck. Once the bell rings, it's time to go home! If you want me to stay, union rules apply.


Brightwood Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
They will pass you and will not repeat you. Everyone knows you can slack and get away with it.

Brightwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
If you support the administration, the administration will support you. If you are not in the PTA inner circle, you will not get favors.

Brightwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Hispanic and Special Education students received greater attention and funding in order retain U.S. Government funding.


Brightwood Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
My teachers are just good. No fair, especially in the upper grades, but they get the materials in our brains.

Brightwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
The school is unbelievable, teacher are extremely involved in the students. The faculties is also unbelievable, I was almost about to move the area but I don't think I will find a school like this anywhere else. My daughter is in second grade and she love this school.

Brightwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
The faculty, staff and parents at Brightwood are all fantastic. High level of parental involvement and everyone's goal is provide the students with a safe and pleasant environment in which to learn and strive for academic excellence while having fun. We are very fortunate to be at this school.


Brightwood Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
I personally think the school can use a little reform in the area of testing and the emphasis by teachers on STAR testing in general. I'm of the philosophy that parent involvement in their children's education is critical. I don't mind checking homework, but Brightwood takes this concept too far and gives children homework during vacations and holidays, if not homework then reading assignments, and if not reading assignments then projects. Or better yet, all of the above!! I'm not a parent who will stand by and allow my kids to suffer in silence. So enough is enough... find a way to teach effectively without drowning the students in schoolwork because... (guess what?) quantity is NOT quality!! If this school can improve it's academics without leaving emotional or stress scars on a child, then the rave reviews are well deserved.

Brightwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
My son just finished 8th grade and attended since K. Excellent school with academics at the top of the list.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brightwood Elementary School
1701 Brightwood Street, Monterey Park, CA  91754
(626) 570-6200
Last modified Brightwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brightwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top