Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Meher Montessori School

Private | K-7 | 71 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Monterey Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $409,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2010

This is an excellent school. My three kids currently attend here. The teachers are great, with many years of experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

Amazing School! My daughters both attended and left reading two grade levels above their own. The vocabulary building, social tasks, and family like atmosphere are priceless. Well worth the investment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

This School is totally awesome. My child attends school here and is very happy. Any time I've had a problem or concern the staff is right there to help. Not only has he gained great social skills, but his academics have flourished as well. I love this unique Montessori School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

Meher Montessori is AWESOME! My child is three years old and is able to express his feelings, needs, and desires clearly through conversation. The development is sometimes shocking to me, it seems like he is growing too fast. He loves to picture read with books and has a desire to pick up the words. He is always counting objects wherever we might be. The people at Meher are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Not a good school. Needs to teach kids to read. Lacks state accountability b/c it is a private school. A waste of time and money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

Meher Montessori School is a great school. The atmosphere there is like family. I love the Montessori method and how the children have freedom of their own, it teaches them to be independent and not have to rely on the teacher for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

I like the primary class in this school. The class that Mrs. Thomas teach, it has children from 2.5 to 6 year old. At first you find this strange but then it all makes sense, especially when you see the young ones looking up to the older ones. And the big ones helping the young ones. And Mrs. Thomas makes it perfect. My son and I had the pleasure of spending his kindergarten year with her. What he learned is beyond words.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

MEHER is a great traditional montessori school. the teachers are very good and well experinced . the 3-6 years old teacher is this amazing lady who has been teaching for 35+ years.it's a small school, and if you like the old fashioned montessori, this school is for you.I advice you to observe the class room you need to put your child in before enrolling. it will give you an idea of how the day goes by,if you know nothing about montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

My son has attended Meher Montessori for the past four years and he's in the 3rd grade now. Overall, I am happy with my son's academic progress. Great strides have been made in reading comprehension, vocabulary, and mathematics. In addition, I've found the school to be very flexible with my schedule by enabling the parent to select from a variety of different after school programs. Such as piano, ballet, music, computer training, and others. Of course, the school does have some issues. One issue that I've found to be troubling is a habit the school has for accepting some students that could use more parenting and require more attention than necessary. This extra attention steals time from the class and thereby reduces focus and progress. I wish this would be handled more effectively by the school administrators and parents. I anticipate good results on the upcoming California Standard exam.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 65% 3%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 11%
White 3% 26%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Adela Munoz
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2009 South Garfield Avenue
Monterey Park, CA 91754
Phone: (323) 724-0683

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Saint Thomas Aquinas
Monterey Park, CA


Repetto Elementary School
Monterey Park, CA



Hillcrest Elementary School
Monterey Park, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT