Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bella Vista Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Monterey Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $409,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2010

I am a parent with my 3rd child now in his last year at BVE. My other two (now in High School) attended BVE and it was the best experience of public elementary school my children could have experienced. With my 3rd child, we experienced only one 'sketchy' year and it truly was the teacher, not the school. I just had to keep on top of it, to make sure the year remained positive. The Principal's ONLY focus is running the school. This can be perceived as a positive thing, but a little more connection with the parent community would be great. She literally looks right through you in the event you meet with her to touch on a concern. She began with her term here with the 'If you don't like it, let me get the door for you' attitude. It has since subsided, but only a bit. GREAT teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I give BVE an A-. Pros: 'dedicated' content knowledgable teachers; K-5; friendly staff; safety/security; strong leadership; new ELO afterschool program; GATE. BVE has had 4 or 5 principles in the past 5 years and exceeded or placed honarable on state testing (API). Therefore, for a school to go through so many administrators in a short timeslot, in my opinion, speaks loudly that BVE has a rock solid foundation and incredible potential. Cons: Safety/Security is a top priority at BVE and improves with each incoming manager, but I am dissapointed to see no permanant solution to address the 'possible' accident prone intersection behind BVE on Markland/Via which has no stop signs or assighned crossing guards. We, (city, parents, BVE) should be held accountable and liable if an accident were to take place. Second, increase parent involvement. Last, 'flexible' evening meeting times for working parents and continue to address traffic patterns around BVE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

Both my daughters attended BVE. My eldest daughter did wonderfully at this school. If your child is a gate child then you are in great luck but if you have a special needs child forget it! Teachers individually are good but have no idea how to work as a team. This is why there is no consistency and no raising of test scores. The support staff is condenscending and rude to adults and students. I find this to be unacceptable. I do see the current principal working hard to make this school better. I wish her much success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Bella Vista has great potential. Thier Academics are great as for other extracurricular programs they don't offer many. They are learning from the problems in the past and working forward to correcting them. They don't have any Parent involvement and thats not good for we need more of that. There is no motivation from any where, so like with everything its a routine, parents drop of thier child/ children and go on with every day life. We as parents need to know whats going on and need to be told or made aware matters involving our children & school so we can help change them together & not have 'them' change things for us. We as parents are the first roll models. This is a new year and a new Principal & I see alot of good things coming & hope for the better of our child/ children and school. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

Parents at this school are not involved. Teachers were great. GATE program available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

Parents at this school are not involved. Teachers were great. GATE program available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

Awesome school, great teachers, fun activities, good after school program, I miss this school after our move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

My daughter has just entered kindergarden at Bella Vista. I have to say that I am impressed by the level of structure in her curriculumn. The work that she brings home is challenging, and each week her teacher turns it up a notch. I am glad that I enrolled her at Bella Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

Both of my children have been attending this elementary school for the last four years. It was a challenge coming from Moreno Valley, only because of the large amount of students attending here. The teachers academic teachings are excellent. The administrative staff is professional and courteous. Belle Vista has a new principal and he has been doing an excellent job. However, I would like to see more of the teachers working together in a more team effort in assisting the principal. Overall, I give this school five star rating of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

I am very happy with this school. My son has attended 3rd and now 4th grade at BV. He had to deal with some uncomfortable issues when he started there, but he made it through with confidence. The reason he did, is because of his teacher Ms. Takanimi. She is the best teacher I have ever encountered for any of my 3 children. She is patient, stern, and manages to give each child the attention needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

Bella Vista is a wonderful school. My three children attended from K-4th and now I have a grandson that also attends BVE. Parent envolvement is low! Teachers are great role models for our children and most of them get involved with PTA to make our school a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2003

All the children in my family (9 children) have attended BVE we have been very happy. The teaching staff is strong and very committed. There have been several turnovers of principals but the staff still remains strong. Myself as well as my children love our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2003

My daughter attended this school from 1st to 4th grade. Her experience there was great. I was very happy with the staff and the every single teacher she had. I think that there are great teacher resources in this school which go unmentioned. The enviorment is safe and positive at Bella Vista and it's a shame that more parents don't get involved. The only negative thing I have to say about this school is the parent involvement or rather the lack there of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2003

My child attended Bella Vista from the 2nd to the 4th Grade. In the 2nd Grade, my son was still young and accepting of authority. However, things changed in the 3rd Grade. I was looking for a strong teacher who was also fexible with his behavior in and out of class, the school was quite willing to work with me in finding the right teachers. There were times that I may not have agreed with the way things were handled in the school, but overall with as many students as were enrolled, the staff was fair. After all, that's all that we can expect. My son had excellent teachers while he was there and if I had to do it again. I would send him to this public school again.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

725

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

725

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Females39%
Males23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate38%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state35%

Math

All Students36%
Females45%
Males26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)31%
Parent education - college graduate38%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students25%
Females21%
Males30%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability26%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only32%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)17%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state8%

Math

All Students50%
Females43%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females69%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%

Math

All Students49%
Females47%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females54%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students34%
Females38%
Males30%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)28%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state26%

Science

All Students64%
Females69%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 87% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 11%
White 2% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stephanie Hardaway
Fax number
  • (323) 887-3077

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2410 Findlay Avenue
Monterey Park, CA 91754
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 721-4335

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Meher Montessori School
Monterey Park, CA



Saint Thomas Aquinas
Monterey Park, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT