Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Santa Catalina School

Private | K-12 | 490 students

We are best known for balanced approach to education.

 
 

Living in Monterey

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $397,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,320.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2011

We chose Catalina for their class size -teacher ratio, a diverse population, and a strong, balanced academic curriculum. We wanted a strong math/science program with a strong arts program. We wanted a Catholic education. Our family is multi ethnic & the diversity of the school's population & curriculum is AMAZING and exactly what we wanted in order to raise a self confident global child. Catalina is a spiritual, academic oasis. Our child has a strong sense of American history and patriotism through the curriculum presented on a regular basis. In Kindergarten our child new the story of George Washington, Rosa Parks, learned about the Japanese culture. There is a COMPASS program, that is dynamite, with focus on leadership and service. (Ask about it...) The administration, faculty & support staff know our child's name and can relay stories of their interaction. When we do not understand/agree with a decisions made w/ our child the school listens and works with us. Catalina is a Blessing for this middle income multi -ethnic Catholic family. We do not receive financial assistance, it is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

i'm currently a sophomore here and it's a pretty good school. the academics are great and the overall community is nice too. the campus is gorgeous. the reason why im rating this only 3 stars is because i feel like that unless you are a sports star, a genius, or a art pro then you really lack support. a lot of my friends are one of the above mentioned and they really love it but i'm more of an average joe (jane?) when it comes to sports and arts. even acadamically if you don't have a 3.8 or higher i'd say you'd be considered average at catalina. as another user mentioned, financial aid did decline. compared to last year, my tuition was raised by a couple of hundred dollars. which is a lot. if money really isn't an issue for you, then i'd definitely say go, but if it is an issue then look around for some other alternative schools.


Posted April 20, 2011

Although financial aid is sometimes offered, it "mysteriously" declines with each successive year! Also, the best way to ensure getting financial aid support for their hefty price tag is to fulfill a minority requirement or to excel in a sport; if your child is simply a good, hard-working student who wants a fair chance, don't count on assistance from either the administration or the ever-dwindling financial aid. Bottomline: there are a number of excellent private schools on the Monterey Peninsula and, from what I've experienced, Catalina has dropped to below the bottom of that list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

I was fortunate enough to attend Santa Catalina during my high school years. The academics are impeccable, and perhaps more importantly, there is a steadfast focus on character and one's place in the community as a whole. The school offers many AP classes, and if a girl has an interest in a subject the school doesn't currently offer, the school will hire an instructor in that subject. That's not something you can find in many high schools! I ended up with a scholarship to an Ivy League university, and my college courses were not particularly challenging for me after the wonderful academic foundation that Catalina gave me. My daughters will attend Catalina when they're old enough - I wouldn't send them anywhere else!


Posted July 28, 2010

i have a child in the upper school. The school has excellent academics, sports and performing arts. The teaching staff is incredible and really challenge the girls to achieve. The reason I only rate this as a three star is because although I think the school is really great, I don't think it is worth the price tag. There are some key areas which seem to be lacking: college counseling and preparation and interpersonal relationships with teachers/staff. The school really gives the impression that they are there to mold the girls but in reality, the staff is disconnected to the needs of the student body and this leaves a gap which is hard for parents to fill when their child is living away from home. I would choose a local private school or even a strong public school if one is available. Although if money is no object, go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

Although the cost of tuition is very high, the school does offer significant financial aid - so be sure to include that in your analysis. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

My son has only attended one year at Catalina and I'm thrilled with his progress. What I love about Catalina is the attention to every aspect of the child. Starting with a strong academic curriculum, then including an expansive offering of optional activities and lessons and providing a safe and nurturing environment for the development of character and community, this school has surpassed every one of my very high expectations. I recommend this school for all families who can make it work financially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It gave me such a well versed and well rounded foundation to really explore what life is really about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2009

Fabulous teachers and administration. A great education is available for any student who wants to learn, the teachers want your child to learn and succeed. Gifted children thrive in this environment as well since there are many advanced classes available. Great music, arts, and sports. Fantastic, no nonsense discipline of inappropriate behavior as well. Great environment for students to develop into well rounded young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

Exceptional school due to the quality and devotion of its teachers, administrators and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

My daughter attends SC. Over the years we have moved her 4 different times trying to find the right fit. Well! We found it at SC. I can't say enough good things about the strong academics and the environment of a caring community within the school. The faculty is top notch and honestly care about your childs entire being. We commute 30 miles to get to this school and it is worth every penny in gas. This school empowers children with self assurance, assertiveness and nurtures within them a giving and caring heart. The curriculum is challenging, and I feel my daughter is learning at a higher level than her friends at other private and public schools in the area. Last, my daughter loves this school so much she often wishes there were classes on the weekends.....but, we all need a break!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2007

My son has been at the school since Kindergarten. The teachers and the school share common interests in developing the child on the inside and out. The atmosphere at SCS is like no other. The students and staff are warm and genuine. Can't ask for more in a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

My daughter has attended this school since 6th grade, and commutes over 50 miles in order to attend. It was her choice, and she wouldn't attend anywhere else. The teachers are excellent, the curriculum thorough and traditional, the environment wholesome and safe, and the girls share a sense of tradition and belonging. Compared to other private schools, it is not very wired in terms of having programs such as ParentConnect, etc. It has very good athletic and arts programs and fabulous facilities. College guidance is not as extensive as many private schools provide, but does not seem to hinder placement in select schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

My daughter has attended this school since kindergarden and loves it. She made all her friends at this school and the teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 93%
Hispanic 4%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation UCLA
UC Berkely
UC Santa Barbara
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Italian
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sr. Claire Barone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS
  • NCGS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Monterey
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Our all-girls Upper School had 252 girls enrolled in 2010-11, including 117 boarding and 135 day students. The average Upper School class size is 12 with an 8:1 student-teacher ratio. Our co-ed Lower School had 274 students enrolled in 2010-11, 60 percent of them girls.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UCLA
UC Berkely
UC Santa Barbara
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Mark Thomas Drive
Monterey, CA 93940
Website: Click here
Phone: (831) 655-9300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bay View Academy
Monterey, CA


Bay View Academy
Monterey, CA


Webb Home School
Monterey, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT