Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The High School At Moorpark College
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 06, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Powell is a great teacher. She is totally committed to her students and is enthusiastic to teach them how to be critical thinkers.

The High School At Moorpark College 5

Posted March 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter loves the program at HS@MC. She did not "fit in" at our local high school and was looking for a smaller, more intimate classroom setting. This school delivers a quality program and nurturing environment. All the kids hang out together which is a refreshing change. It can be challenging at times but frankly that is how students learn. The teachers are great and always available to help and guide the students if they ask. Added bonus is that the kids take college classes and get college credit for free while in high school! Great program!


The High School At Moorpark College
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
At the beginning of the school year, the workload was much too high for our family. To their credit, this school cut back the amount of assignments immediately upon receiving clear and specific feedback regarding the impact their high workload was having.

The High School At Moorpark College 4

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
This year has been an amazing experience for my student and I. I can't believe how he has grown. Although I was skeptical at first, this turned out to be a great family decision. I would recommend this school for students who want a positive school experience and parents who want something better for their student. Look more into this for your student.

The High School At Moorpark College
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are caring. They have high expectations. My son had a hard time at first meeting deadlines and turning in work, but his teachers did not let up.


The High School At Moorpark College
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
At the end of the year the amount of work with the college finals was crazy. The teachers need to spread the homework out. During the beginning and middle of the year the homework was reasonable.

The High School At Moorpark College
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
Students come from all over. Students look different. Everyone is accepted. The friends that my son has made are wonderful. They care about the WORLD!

The High School At Moorpark College
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
My student has learned to agree to disagree when we have conversations. I KNOW this was taught and LEARNED while he was going to school. We have had great conversations.


The High School At Moorpark College 5

Posted April 04, 2015
- a parent
It seems like the parent above has some personal issues. You cannot please everyone, but my son goes to this school and absolutely loves it. He is in his senior year and is very happy with both of his senior teachers. He has learned so much from both teachers and during dinner, cannot wait to talk about it. This school is definitely different than the average school and my son is a talker. He loves the four corners in his English class and the Socratic Seminars. This school gives the students a chance to use their voice. My son has improved his writing and communication skills, since he has been attending this school. I am a parent that is beyond pleased. The office staff and principal are helpful as well. It annoys me that certain parents take for granted teachers and staff that actually care, in comparison to the other schools. My son never got the individualized attention and care he gets now at this school. I would highly recommend this school to parents out there. The workload can be a bit much, but it is meaningful so it is worth it.

The High School At Moorpark College 2

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
I am very disappointed in this school. The principal is controlling and does not know how to provide constructive feedback to students. This is the last year for one of the senior teaches, so he misses a lot of school. The other senior teacher plays favorites and is unorganized. She loses students work quite often but only makes some of the students redo it and turn it in. The other students she just accepts their word for it (favorites versus non-favorites). Even the office manager has an attitude. Our family had high hopes for this school, but it has turned out to be quite disappointing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The High School At Moorpark College
7075 Campus Road, Moorpark, CA  93021-1605
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (805) 378-1444
Last modified The High School At Moorpark College is a Public school that serves grades 11-12
Top