Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
11-12
Public district
Moorpark, CA
Students enrolled: 121
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The High School At Moorpark College 4

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
This year has been an amazing experience for my student and I. I can't believe how he has grown. Although I was skeptical at first, this turned out to be a great family decision. I would recommend this school for students who want a positive school experience and parents who want something better for their student. Look more into this for your student.

The High School At Moorpark College
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are caring. They have high expectations. My son had a hard time at first meeting deadlines and turning in work, but his teachers did not let up.


The High School At Moorpark College
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
At the end of the year the amount of work with the college finals was crazy. The teachers need to spread the homework out. During the beginning and middle of the year the homework was reasonable.

The High School At Moorpark College
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
Students come from all over. Students look different. Everyone is accepted. The friends that my son has made are wonderful. They care about the WORLD!

The High School At Moorpark College
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
My student has learned to agree to disagree when we have conversations. I KNOW this was taught and LEARNED while he was going to school. We have had great conversations.


The High School At Moorpark College 5

Posted April 04, 2015
- a parent
It seems like the parent above has some personal issues. You cannot please everyone, but my son goes to this school and absolutely loves it. He is in his senior year and is very happy with both of his senior teachers. He has learned so much from both teachers and during dinner, cannot wait to talk about it. This school is definitely different than the average school and my son is a talker. He loves the four corners in his English class and the Socratic Seminars. This school gives the students a chance to use their voice. My son has improved his writing and communication skills, since he has been attending this school. I am a parent that is beyond pleased. The office staff and principal are helpful as well. It annoys me that certain parents take for granted teachers and staff that actually care, in comparison to the other schools. My son never got the individualized attention and care he gets now at this school. I would highly recommend this school to parents out there. The workload can be a bit much, but it is meaningful so it is worth it.

The High School At Moorpark College 2

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
I am very disappointed in this school. The principal is controlling and does not know how to provide constructive feedback to students. This is the last year for one of the senior teaches, so he misses a lot of school. The other senior teacher plays favorites and is unorganized. She loses students work quite often but only makes some of the students redo it and turn it in. The other students she just accepts their word for it (favorites versus non-favorites). Even the office manager has an attitude. Our family had high hopes for this school, but it has turned out to be quite disappointing.
1 person found this helpful

The High School At Moorpark College 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
It sounds like there is a very disgruntled parent out there, that has it in for this school. My high schooler was very happy here. The teachers were caring and very competent. Like any school, the kids get out of it what they put into it. It's too bad that people are allowed to post disparaging reviews about people anonymously.


The High School At Moorpark College 2

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
There was 1 great teacher, 1 pretty good one, and 2 who were terrible- 1 of which has a toxic effect on the kids under his influence. The leadership allows too many 'bad eggs' in the form of teachers AND students. We knew up front that like other schools, this one has a drug problem- but here it's taking place in the parking lot 50' from the classrooms & nobody pretends to police it. A dedicated student can succeed academically at almost any environment they're in, as long as they have the desire & good study habits- so it can be done here, too. But this is predominantly a 'just get it over with' type of school & the staff is not there to turn anybody around. Senior year is a joke academically, so if that's what your student needs, this is perfect- no challenge involved at that point, but probably good for a kid who works part time. Notice the completely polarized reviews posted here & realize that there's no middle ground, so choose carefully. As you read, think about the rave reviews and ask yourself if they fit the profile of the person claiming to write them, or if it's a teacher/administrator pretending to write the reviews as students & parents- the language doesn't fit.
3 people found this helpful

The High School At Moorpark College 1

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
The best way to encapsulate the 2 years at HSMC is that the principal told the Sr. Class that graduation was not at them. This is really just one last time the staff can make a student event about them and not students. The ego of these people is overwhelming. So glad it's over with this school. I would not recommended this program. There has to be a much better alternative out there with people who really care about there students going on to college.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The High School At Moorpark College
7075 Campus Road, Moorpark, CA  93021
(805) 378-1444
Last modified The High School At Moorpark College is a Public school that serves grades 11-12
The High School At Moorpark College Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top